You are not logged in.

#1 2008-06-28 05:01:41

Syndacate
Website

Help getting X and XFCE working

Hey,

I'm new to archlinux, not particularly new to linux in general, but all the distros I've installed before were either servers and didn't need a GUI, or came with a GUI.

I followed the how-to for XFCE (looking to keep it lightweight, I don't have a very fast processor) and I keep getting a few errors.

This pops up every few minutes:
"INIT:  ID "x" respawning too fast:  disabled for 5 minutes"

If I type "startxfce4" or "startx" or "X" I get this msg:

"(EE) Failed to load module "type1" (module does not exist, 0)
(EE) Failed to load module "nv" (module does not exist, 0)
(EE) No drivers available.

Fatal server error:
no screens found"

When I did the X config it found the screen just fine, I can't figure out what's wrong.

The reason why I'm using "nv" is because they simply didn't have anything else in X config that matched my video card (for a driver) for an Nivida Geforce 7600GT.

That could be the problem but I'm not sure, any input is appreciated, I'd like to get some visuals here >.<

Wish I knew the *nix world better sad.

#2 2008-06-28 05:16:20

Berticus

Re: Help getting X and XFCE working

well you could:

pacman -S nvidia

And then in /etc/X11/xorg.conf, change the nv driver to nvidia.

Where are you attempting to load type1 module? The reason you're getting the respawning too fast error is because the drivers fail to load, and X shuts down. In runlevel 5, X attempts to respawn. I think if you figured out what type1 module you're trying to load and install nvidia drivers, you should be fine. Not quite sure why nv drivers aren't working... The only reason I could see is if you didn't do:

pacman -S xf86-video-nv

#3 2008-06-28 05:45:20

Syndacate
Website

Hrm

Okay, that did something, maybe I'm confused as to exactly what XFCE is...?