You are not logged in.

#1 2008-07-05 12:21:44

atomkarinca
Member
From: Somewhere but Not Here
Registered: 2008-07-03
Posts: 95
Website

Howto: Standalone Compiz Fusion as WM

(Sorry if this has been posted but I couldn't find a complete one so I will try to write one.)

I got this working quite easily actually. Since I couldn't find a way to get Openbox right-click menu to work with it, I went with lxpanel. It's a lightweight panel and has a menu. First of all you should install those packages:

pacman -S compiz-fusion lxpanel

Then create a new session:

nano /usr/share/xsessions/fusion.desktop

paste these:

[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
# This is the name you'll see for the session in gdm
Name=Fusion
# This is the comment
Comment=Compiz Fusion Standalone
# The command
Exec=/usr/local/bin/start-fusion.sh
Type=Application

then create the start-fusion.sh:

nano /usr/local/bin/start-fusion.sh

We will need a window manager (compiz fusion), a window decorator (emerald) and a panel (lxpanel) to start, so add these to start-fusion.sh:

#!/bin/bash
compiz ccp &
emerald &
lxpanel

save and make the file executable:

chmod +x /usr/local/bin/start-fusion.sh

Now you can log in with the Fusion session on the startup. You can configure your keyboard shortcuts with ccsm (Compiz Config Settings Manager).

PS: Since I'm not using anything related with desktop I haven't bothered with that. But for desktop icons you can use idesk.

Offline

#2 2008-07-05 13:58:59

peets
Member
From: Montreal
Registered: 2007-01-11
Posts: 936
Website

Re: Howto: Standalone Compiz Fusion as WM

Wouldn't the following in ~/.xinitrc be easier? (assuming no display manager)

compiz ccp &
emerald &
exec lxpanel

Offline

#3 2008-07-05 15:21:04

atomkarinca
Member
From: Somewhere but Not Here
Registered: 2008-07-03
Posts: 95
Website

Re: Howto: Standalone Compiz Fusion as WM

Thanks, I didn't know how to do that without a display manager.

Offline

#4 2008-07-05 21:54:58

Saphiro
Member
Registered: 2008-07-05
Posts: 4

Re: Howto: Standalone Compiz Fusion as WM

I tried it (Peets way; I don't use a display manager), but there seems to be something wrong with my emerald.
It doesn't show window titles. I can't use the command emerald --replace. I can't switch themes(or I can but I can't see them ofcourse).
Does anyone have any tips on solving this problem?

Offline

#5 2008-07-05 22:25:13

atomkarinca
Member
From: Somewhere but Not Here
Registered: 2008-07-03
Posts: 95
Website

Re: Howto: Standalone Compiz Fusion as WM

Saphiro wrote:

I can't use the command emerald --replace.

I guess just "emerald" would be enough because you're not replacing it with another decorator.

Offline

#6 2008-07-05 22:32:44

Saphiro
Member
Registered: 2008-07-05
Posts: 4

Re: Howto: Standalone Compiz Fusion as WM

atomkarinca wrote:
Saphiro wrote:

I can't use the command emerald --replace.

I guess just "emerald" would be enough because you're not replacing it with another decorator.

Gives this message :

emerald: Screen 0 on display ":0.0" already has a decoration manager; try using the --replace option to replace the current decoration manager.

Offline

#7 2008-07-06 06:06:59

atomkarinca
Member
From: Somewhere but Not Here
Registered: 2008-07-03
Posts: 95
Website

Re: Howto: Standalone Compiz Fusion as WM

Saphiro wrote:

emerald: Screen 0 on display ":0.0" already has a decoration manager; try using the --replace option to replace the current decoration manager.

Are you sure you're only using Compiz? Is there another window manager loading on startup?

Offline

#8 2008-07-06 08:04:49

u_no_hu
Member
Registered: 2008-06-15
Posts: 453

Re: Howto: Standalone Compiz Fusion as WM

try     exec compiz --replace ccp & emerald --replace
Dont know the reason...but its the only way it works for me properly ....


Don't be a HELP VAMPIRE. Please search before you ask.

Subscribe to The Arch Daily News.

Offline

#9 2008-07-06 10:01:57

Saphiro
Member
Registered: 2008-07-05
Posts: 4

Re: Howto: Standalone Compiz Fusion as WM

The only few lines that aren't commented in ~/.xinitrc are
exec compiz --replace ccp &
exec emerald --replace &
exec lxpanel

I tried it without the exec before compiz and emerald too, doesn't seem to work sad

EDIT
I just found out that the terminal gives this output:
compiz (core) - Warn: No GLXFB Config found for depth 32
compiz (core) - Info: Couldn't bind redirected window 0x*some hex adress* to texture.

Maybe that is of help.

Last edited by Saphiro (2008-07-06 10:40:13)

Offline

#10 2008-07-06 10:33:35

INCSlayer
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2007-09-06
Posts: 296
Website

Re: Howto: Standalone Compiz Fusion as WM

try replacing:
exec compiz --replace ccp &
exec emerald --replace &
with exec fusion-icon &
it works for me


dovie andi se tovya sagain

Offline

#11 2008-07-06 10:49:38

Saphiro
Member
Registered: 2008-07-05
Posts: 4

Re: Howto: Standalone Compiz Fusion as WM

Ah Thanks for the quick responses, but i just got it working adding these two lines to the Screen section in xorg.conf:

Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
Option "DisableGLXRootClipping" "True"


Now my Emerald works. yay!

Offline

#12 2008-07-06 11:05:30

moljac024
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2008-01-29
Posts: 2,676

Re: Howto: Standalone Compiz Fusion as WM

Guess what will happen when you have 2 exec lines ? The second one won't start until the first one finishes.


The day Microsoft makes a product that doesn't suck, is the day they make a vacuum cleaner.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
But if they tell you that I've lost my mind, maybe it's not gone just a little hard to find...

Offline

#13 2008-07-06 21:40:49

iBertus
Member
From: Greenville, NC
Registered: 2004-11-04
Posts: 2,228

Re: Howto: Standalone Compiz Fusion as WM

moljac024 wrote:

Guess what will happen when you have 2 exec lines ? The second one won't start until the first one finishes.

True. You should only put exec in front of the last item. This ensures that X will continue to run until that item finishes.

Offline

#14 2008-07-19 19:33:52

z0phi3l
Member
From: Waterbury CT
Registered: 2007-11-26
Posts: 278

Re: Howto: Standalone Compiz Fusion as WM

So this would work for say a new install with no other DE or WM installed?

How "involved" is the setup for lxpanel?



New PC needs Arch installed badly want to give this a shot

Offline

#15 2008-07-19 20:02:03

fwojciec
Member
Registered: 2007-05-20
Posts: 1,411

Re: Howto: Standalone Compiz Fusion as WM

z0phi3l wrote:

So this would work for say a new install with no other DE or WM installed?

How "involved" is the setup for lxpanel?



New PC needs Arch installed badly want to give this a shot

You shouldn't need any other WM/DE and it's not too involved to set up -- if you'd ever set up a minimal wm like openbox or one of the tilers then it should be a breeze.  You do have to manually set up functionalities like dbus support, some means of launching applications, a panel/tray, some way to mount/unmount drives and so on, of course.

Last edited by fwojciec (2008-07-19 20:06:31)

Offline

#16 2008-07-19 21:00:49

el mariachi
Member
Registered: 2007-11-30
Posts: 595

Re: Howto: Standalone Compiz Fusion as WM

lxpanel doesn't load here :s with

compiz ccp
emerald &
exec lxpanel &   (it also doesn't work without the &)

Last edited by el mariachi (2008-07-19 21:01:14)

Offline

#17 2008-07-19 21:06:29

fwojciec
Member
Registered: 2007-05-20
Posts: 1,411

Re: Howto: Standalone Compiz Fusion as WM

Something like this works for me:

start-fusion.sh

#!/bin/sh
# add more apps here if necessary
xfce4-panel&
fusion-icon

and this in ~/.xinitrc:

exec start-fusion.sh

It should also work with lxpanel instead of xfce4-panel.

Offline

#18 2008-07-20 00:24:43

Misfit138
Misfit Emeritus
From: USA
Registered: 2006-11-27
Posts: 4,189

Re: Howto: Standalone Compiz Fusion as WM

Who is compiling this info and adding it to the Compiz wiki page? Hm? wink

Offline

#19 2008-07-20 01:43:06

fwojciec
Member
Registered: 2007-05-20
Posts: 1,411

Re: Howto: Standalone Compiz Fusion as WM

Misfit138 wrote:

Who is compiling this info and adding it to the Compiz wiki page? Hm? wink

I added some basic info: http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Com … ndalone_WM

Offline

#20 2008-07-20 02:42:57

Misfit138
Misfit Emeritus
From: USA
Registered: 2006-11-27
Posts: 4,189

Re: Howto: Standalone Compiz Fusion as WM

fwojciec wrote:
Misfit138 wrote:

Who is compiling this info and adding it to the Compiz wiki page? Hm? wink

I added some basic info: http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Com … ndalone_WM

Thank you, fwojciec!

Offline

#21 2008-07-21 18:00:40

Dream_Team
Member
Registered: 2006-01-06
Posts: 34

Re: Howto: Standalone Compiz Fusion as WM

I've been using this for a while and compiz-deskmenu is a nice right click menu for it, check it's forum post in the compiz forums about how to use it


Fight our cause here . http://freesyko.co.nr

Offline

#22 2008-07-21 22:22:04

fwojciec
Member
Registered: 2007-05-20
Posts: 1,411

Re: Howto: Standalone Compiz Fusion as WM

Dream_Team wrote:

I've been using this for a while and compiz-deskmenu is a nice right click menu for it, check it's forum post in the compiz forums about how to use it

Thanks!  It's all looking more and more openbox-like smile

     compiz_menu.png  windows_menu.png

Last edited by fwojciec (2008-07-21 23:13:27)

Offline

#23 2008-07-21 22:55:34

moljac024
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2008-01-29
Posts: 2,676

Re: Howto: Standalone Compiz Fusion as WM

fwojciec wrote:
Dream_Team wrote:

I've been using this for a while and compiz-deskmenu is a nice right click menu for it, check it's forum post in the compiz forums about how to use it

Thanks!  It's all looking more and more openbox-like smile

     http://www.loka.pl/outgoing/compiz_menu.png

When you can middle click for something like the client-list-combined-menu in openbox, then you will have something wink


The day Microsoft makes a product that doesn't suck, is the day they make a vacuum cleaner.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
But if they tell you that I've lost my mind, maybe it's not gone just a little hard to find...

Offline

#24 2008-07-21 23:20:37

fwojciec
Member
Registered: 2007-05-20
Posts: 1,411

Re: Howto: Standalone Compiz Fusion as WM

@moljac024: See the updated post above -- that's the best I can do smile  There is a menu for switching viewports available as well.  I just don't like that there are non-removable icons in both these menus...

Offline

#25 2008-07-21 23:26:38

moljac024
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2008-01-29
Posts: 2,676

Re: Howto: Standalone Compiz Fusion as WM

Hmm, very nice! (Borat style)


The day Microsoft makes a product that doesn't suck, is the day they make a vacuum cleaner.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
But if they tell you that I've lost my mind, maybe it's not gone just a little hard to find...

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB