You are not logged in.

#1 2004-06-15 16:37:27

kaloyer
Member
From: Tucson, AZ, USA
Registered: 2004-06-15
Posts: 29
Website

GDM resolution/virtual screen too big

Well, I got GDM to load on bootup, but whenever it loads, it has the resolution too high and I get a virtual screen :shock: , it's starting to get on my nerves scrolling around the screen. I want the resolution to 1024x768 but it's way too high(hmm, my graphics card supports it though, damn x.org). Can anyone tell me how to do this?
NOTE: I already tried gdm.conf


He who opens the windows lets the bugs in...

Offline

#2 2004-06-15 17:24:21

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,771

Re: GDM resolution/virtual screen too big

Ctrl + Alt + "-" or "+" on keypad may help but its more likely a config thing

Mr Green


Mr Green

Offline

#3 2004-06-15 17:27:31

kaloyer
Member
From: Tucson, AZ, USA
Registered: 2004-06-15
Posts: 29
Website

Re: GDM resolution/virtual screen too big

already triead ctrl alt -, still doesn't do anything, i can't find the right config either


He who opens the windows lets the bugs in...

Offline

#4 2004-06-15 17:46:43

lanrat
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2003-10-28
Posts: 1,274

Re: GDM resolution/virtual screen too big

Try the X config - in xfree86 it's XF86Config in /etc/X11 but I don't remember its name in x.org - the format is the same though. You should have a screen config section inside - something like this:

Section "Screen"
        Identifier      "MonitorPhilips"
        Device          "NvidiaGeForce4MX440"
        Monitor         "Philips109MP"
        DefaultDepth    24
        Subsection      "Display"
            Depth       8
            Modes       "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubsection
        Subsection      "Display"
            Depth       16
            Modes       "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubsection
        Subsection      "Display"
            Depth       24
            Modes       "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubsection
EndSection

You can remove 1280x1024 and you should have 1024x768 (of course names at the begining of the section must be as in your config :-) just change the display subsections).

EDIT: it should probably be xorg.conf

Offline

#5 2004-06-15 19:41:06

kaloyer
Member
From: Tucson, AZ, USA
Registered: 2004-06-15
Posts: 29
Website

Re: GDM resolution/virtual screen too big

well, i couldn't find xorg.conf so i did

slocate xorg.conf

All it found was a man page that's no good. By the way, if anyone know the command for X.org config, please tell me, I loved xf86config, but it's all gone now


He who opens the windows lets the bugs in...

Offline

#6 2004-06-15 19:57:22

kaloyer
Member
From: Tucson, AZ, USA
Registered: 2004-06-15
Posts: 29
Website

Re: GDM resolution/virtual screen too big

WOAH, omg, that's wierd. My X.org uses XF86Config still, so I fixed my problem. Well, I had to reinstall X too because when I first installed I still had X running  roll . I'm such an idiot, thanks tho, because I still wouldn't have been able to fix it without you.  big_smile


He who opens the windows lets the bugs in...

Offline

#7 2004-06-15 20:38:47

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,771

Re: GDM resolution/virtual screen too big

np

Welcome to Arch

Mr Green  tongue


Mr Green

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB