You are not logged in.

#1 2008-07-15 09:31:56

helander

ProAudio questions

I am new to Arch and made a fresh install yesterday. My target is to populate my system with programs like qjackctl, qsynth, zynaddsubfx, etc.

What is the preferred way to populate the system with these programs?

Without explicitly adding any references to ProAudio, but only installed "yaourt" and using "yaourt -S qjackctl, qsynth, ..." I was able to have these built and installed via some AUR.

Should I instead explicitly introduce some proaudio reference into my system and have them installed in some other way?

Is proaudio only available as AUR (sources that gets built on my system) or are there a binary repo as well?

If the files I got did not come from the proaudio repo, but from some "standard" repo, what is the difference for these packages in these respective repos?

I would be very happy for any clarifications on this subject, so that my system will be "optimal" in the sense of having used the proper install method.

/Lars

#2 2008-07-15 15:52:48

btartsa

Re: ProAudio questions

Hi Helander and welcome.
1.Really the preferred way to "populate the system" is any way involving pacman. Avoid compiling from source whenever possible. Get familiar with ABS/makepkg so you can fix PKGBUILDS or update versions yourself if needed.
2.There are proaudio apps in the offical repos,AUR,custom user repos,and a independently maintained googlegode repo. What the state of these packages is depends on a number of things...you are going to have to do some work yourself (welcome to Arch!)
3.No. See #2
4.No. See  #2
5.Yes. See #1 and #2

"Optimal" is really system and goal specific. What I mean is optimal for someone trying to record an live symphony vs. someone making basement demo tapes is quite different.

Some links:

The somewhat outdated wiki (my "fault" to a degree):

http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Pro_Audio

An extremely long thread in the forums: