You are not logged in.

#1 2008-07-27 11:39:16

zeddD1abl0

Request for help

Hey all,

I'm still a noob to all the ins and outs of Arch and I need some help overall. I currently have 2 problems, both of which are annoying but not detrimental.

System:

Opteron 170 (Socket 939)
ASUS A8R32-MVP Motherboard
4GB RAM
HDDs
ATI X1600PRO

Problem 1:

I have an ATI video card. When I last re-installed (I'm a compulsive re-installer) catalyst 8.6.1 installed beautifully and I didn't have many issues with it. WoW doesn't work well through Wine, but I'll survive. The problem arises now that I've updated to catalyst 8.7.1. fglrx.ko will not insert any more. It's complaining about

Unknown symbol flush_tlb_page

This has happened before with a previous driver release (8.4.1), and the fix was a kernel patch. Do I have to apply this kernel patch and compile my own kernel? If so, what sort of improvements can I make to the kernel since I'm recompiling already? Also, I will not be changing to NVidia. Mainly a cash issue (the lack thereof).

Problem 2:

I think I may have stuffed up the daemon line in my rc.conf. My network is kinda sluggish and has issues. Pacman sometimes fails do it's package grab, the internet randomly stops working and I rarely get full speed on any download or torrent. Even torrents I know to be massively over-seeded (5000:1 S:L ratio + Vuze torrents, etc). I have attached my rc.conf and will post up other files you want to poke through, though I'm fairly sure the problem is in my rc.conf.

#
# /etc/rc.conf - Main Configuration for Arch Linux
#

# -----------------------------------------------------------------------
# LOCALIZATION
#
# LOCALE: available languages can be listed with the 'locale -a' command
# HARDWARECLOCK: set to "UTC" or "localtime"
# USEDIRECTISA: use direct I/O requests instead of /dev/rtc for hwclock
# TIMEZONE: timezones are found in /usr/share/zoneinfo
# KEYMAP: keymaps are found in /usr/share/kbd/keymaps