You are not logged in.

#1 2008-07-29 09:52:29

piccolotux
Member
Registered: 2008-04-22
Posts: 58

Openoffice 2 and kde4

Kde 4.1 is a good starting point to switch from kde3 but I do have a "major" issue: Openoffice looks ugly. Is there a way to improve the appearance of it?
Thanks

Offline

#2 2008-07-29 09:58:14

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,641

Re: Openoffice 2 and kde4

Sure. Run a gtk based desktop big_smile

Seriously: No way with OOo 2.4.x. Wait for OOo 3.2 or maybe even later. There's a huge set of pachtes trying to fix the look'n feel. But it's far from getting accepted upstream. Feel free to help coding for OOo wink

Offline

#3 2008-07-29 10:03:56

piccolotux
Member
Registered: 2008-04-22
Posts: 58

Re: Openoffice 2 and kde4

Well...I'm not a coder but I'm patient. Anyway the look of openoffice under kde4 is a real pain IMHO. Strange that nobody has a workaround or something. KDE4 has a stunning look and it's a shame that OO doesn't share neither a part of that beautifulness. neutral

Offline

#4 2008-07-29 10:06:36

Pierre
Developer
From: Bonn
Registered: 2004-07-05
Posts: 1,962
Website

Re: Openoffice 2 and kde4

Use qtcurve and the gtk-look of OO.

Offline

#5 2008-07-29 10:38:10

piccolotux
Member
Registered: 2008-04-22
Posts: 58

Re: Openoffice 2 and kde4

How can I choose the gtk-look of OO? Is there a variable?
Do I have to set Qtcurve from Appearance panel under kde4 or under gnome?

Offline

#6 2008-07-29 11:05:50

Zeist
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
Registered: 2008-07-04
Posts: 532

Re: Openoffice 2 and kde4

piccolotux wrote:

How can I choose the gtk-look of OO? Is there a variable?

export OOO_FORCE_DESKTOP=gnome

in /usr/bin/soffice
or in your ~/.bashrc

Last edited by Zeist (2008-07-29 11:06:32)


I haven't lost my mind; I have a tape back-up somewhere.
Twitter

Offline

#7 2008-07-29 11:55:56

piccolotux
Member
Registered: 2008-04-22
Posts: 58

Re: Openoffice 2 and kde4

Offline

#8 2008-07-31 20:55:34

beomuex
Member
Registered: 2008-07-28
Posts: 7

Re: Openoffice 2 and kde4

Has anyone tried this one?

http://www.kde-look.org/content/show.ph … tent=74689

If you're are using kdemod you have to correct the CMakeLists.txt because unfortunately the paths get no exported by kde itself.
Perhaps this does work with the kde from the [extra] repo.
I set /usr/lib/kde4 for the so package ; /usr/share/kde4/servicetypes/kcm_gk4,desktop for the start (?!) script.

I do not know where the icon path is, so i commented the INSTALL line out (#).

At the moment, there is a) no change in the systemsettings menue b) no change in gtk rendering.So nothing has changed :-( ...Has someone else gtk-kde4 running?

Last edited by beomuex (2011-04-09 23:21:35)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB