You are not logged in.

#1 2004-06-21 08:35:17

pooh sun tzu

Can't get grub or lilo to work

Hello there,
   I've spent the past 5 hours attempting to get either lilo or grub to work. Now, I'm not a linux newbie and am used to the DevFS format but I still get the words GRUB GRUB GRUB GRUB GRUB GRUB GRUB across my screen.

And before I get flamed, yes Pink Chick I've already read the documentation and wiki.

My setting is simple:

One primary hard drive:
- /boot partition - ext3 - 40m
- swap partition - swap - 264m
- / partition - reiserfs - approx 39g

I did them by hand to get the reiserfs choice instead of ext3, but that is the same layout it suggested in the automagic setup.

Using the 2.6 SCSI+IDE kernel included on the .6 iso. Thus, with such a basic and simple setup (a default one) you would think things would work. sad My grub configuration is the default file, because all of the information seemed to be correct as far as I know. No, I can't post it here because this isn't the other computer that I'm attempting Arch on.

Any thoughts? Would love to give arch a try, so long as this bit canbe fixed.

#2 2004-06-21 11:57:06

lanrat

Re: Can't get grub or lilo to work

I did a very similar partition setup yesterday for some machine and it worked quite well. Please post your menu.lst and hardisks setup (did you install arch to the first ide primary disk ?). What version of arch did you use for installation (0.6 base?).

EDIT: I just realized that you said you can't post your menu.lst :-) But how about using arch install cd to mount /boot in /mnt and chroot ? Did you also mount /boot on the ext3 partition during install (the part where it asks you about which partition is for swap and which for /)?

#3 2004-06-21 15:22:38

colnago

My solution for whenever this happens is to do this:

1) boot from knoppix
2) open a terminal and su
3) umount /dev/hda*   (just in case)
4) mount -o dev /mnt/hda1
5) nedit /mnt/hda1/etc/lilo.conf
6) fix up the config file and save it