You are not logged in.

#1 2004-06-23 01:05:08

lmellen
Member
From: Fairport, NY
Registered: 2004-06-11
Posts: 120

starting fluxbox-newbie question

:? I currently have kde running on my system. I installed fluxbox using pacman. 
     How do I start fluxbox? I couldn't even find it, so I su to root, type fluxbox, and get
     an error message saying that another window system is already running! (kde)
    A  typical newbie question, but I don't know how to start fluxbox. I think I want to
    replace kde with fluxbox, so should I just uninstall kde?? 
                                                       Thanks -- Larry

Offline

#2 2004-06-23 01:10:50

scottro
Member
From: NYC
Registered: 2002-10-11
Posts: 454
Website

Re: starting fluxbox-newbie question

I am assuming that you boot up in text mode.  If that's the case, see if you have a file called
.xinitrc.  I'm typing this from FreeBSD, so don't quite remember the default Arch .xinitrc (and note the dot before it).  One of the lines in there, commented out with a # sign says
exec fluxbox.

Comment the kde line, whatever it is, and uncomment fluxbox. Then, when you type startx, fluxbox should start.

Offline

#3 2004-06-23 01:48:58

lmellen
Member
From: Fairport, NY
Registered: 2004-06-11
Posts: 120

Re: starting fluxbox-newbie question

:?  scottro -- This is .xinitrc.

#!/bin/sh

#
# ~/.xinitrc
#
# Executed by startx (run your window manager from here)
#

exec wmaker
# exec startkde
# exec icewm
# exec blackbox
exec fluxbox

The only thing I uncommented was" exec fluxbox". I'm still getting kde at start up.
I have kdm listed in a start up daemon in rc.conf. is this the problem?

                     thanks for the reply -- Larry

Offline

#4 2004-06-23 02:43:57

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: starting fluxbox-newbie question

lmellen wrote:

:?  scottro -- This is .xinitrc.

#!/bin/sh

#
# ~/.xinitrc
#
# Executed by startx (run your window manager from here)
#

exec wmaker
# exec startkde
# exec icewm
# exec blackbox
exec fluxbox

The only thing I uncommented was" exec fluxbox". I'm still getting kde at start up.
I have kdm listed in a start up daemon in rc.conf. is this the problem?

                     thanks for the reply -- Larry

if you comment out exec wmaker and then put a ! in front of the kdm daemon you should boot to a console at which point you login then type startx. you may also have to change your init level but i dunno i haven't used a graphical login manager for a very long time.


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#5 2004-06-23 02:49:11

scottro
Member
From: NYC
Registered: 2002-10-11
Posts: 454
Website

Re: starting fluxbox-newbie question

As Sarah said, comment out wmaker.

Also, as she said put a bang (!) in front of kdm.

I too have not used a graphic startup in a long time, but usually, you will have to edit
/etc/inittab.  See what the default is.

I have a faq for linux newcomers that covers this, though just for RH and Slack and so it's a bit dated but check out

http://home.nyc.rr.com/computertaijutsu … .html#text

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB