You are not logged in.

#1 2008-08-12 19:49:16

TBomBM3879
Member
Registered: 2008-08-11
Posts: 25

Trying to install X-Plane 9 on Arch64

I downloaded the X Plane 9 DVD installer and tried to start it through the terminal. I got this output

bash-3.2# /home/tristan/Desktop/X-Plane-DVD-Installer-Linux
/home/tristan/Desktop/X-Plane-DVD-Installer-Linux: error while loading shared libraries: libGL.so.1: wrong ELF class: ELFCLASS64

Any ideas what's wrong or what I did wrong?

Offline

#2 2008-08-12 19:55:36

fwojciec
Member
Registered: 2007-05-20
Posts: 1,411

Re: Trying to install X-Plane 9 on Arch64

Well, it looks like it's a 32bit app and needs 32bit libraries (the error complains about the library being 64bit).  Try 32bit chroot maybe...

Offline

#3 2008-08-12 19:57:32

TBomBM3879
Member
Registered: 2008-08-11
Posts: 25

Re: Trying to install X-Plane 9 on Arch64

thats odd though, I went on the X-Plane forums and everyone said they got it running perfectly fine with 64 bit. I'll try it

Offline

#4 2008-08-12 19:58:55

skottish
Forum Fellow
From: Here
Registered: 2006-06-16
Posts: 7,933

Re: Trying to install X-Plane 9 on Arch64

If you're running an nVidia card, install lib32-nvidia-utils. If you're not running nVidia, install the corresponding lib32 library for your card. When done, try to run the program. It'll probably fail again. Just note what it's missing and install the corresponding lib32 library. If it's not in community, it will likely be in AUR.

--EDIT--

You'll definitely need lib32-openal also.

Last edited by skottish (2008-08-12 20:03:26)

Offline

#5 2008-08-12 20:35:09

TBomBM3879
Member
Registered: 2008-08-11
Posts: 25

Re: Trying to install X-Plane 9 on Arch64

I have an ATI card. lib32-ati-fglrx-util wasn't in the Pacman repos nor the AUR.

Last edited by TBomBM3879 (2008-08-12 20:36:34)

Offline

#6 2008-08-12 20:44:37

skottish
Forum Fellow
From: Here
Registered: 2006-06-16
Posts: 7,933

Re: Trying to install X-Plane 9 on Arch64

That's strange. That package seems to have fully vanished. I don't use ATI, but I do remember it being around. I was going to try to throw together a lib32 PKGBUILD, but I can't even locate the 32 bit version. Would lib32-catalyst-utils work for you?

Offline

#7 2008-08-12 20:54:37

TBomBM3879
Member
Registered: 2008-08-11
Posts: 25

Re: Trying to install X-Plane 9 on Arch64

I installed lib32-catalyst-utils, and got the same output as before. I am using the proprietary catalyst drivers so yes it would.

Offline

#8 2008-08-12 21:45:32

skottish
Forum Fellow
From: Here
Registered: 2006-06-16
Posts: 7,933

Re: Trying to install X-Plane 9 on Arch64

Confirm that libGL.so was installed. (On both examples the second line is the correct output):

[skottish@iasE ~]$ ls /opt/lib32/usr/lib/libGL.so
/opt/lib32/usr/lib/libGL.so

If it was, check that /etc/ld.so.conf was updated:

[skottish@iasE ~]$ cat /etc/ld.so.conf | grep -i /opt/lib32/usr/lib
/opt/lib32/usr/lib

If both are true, then as root:

ldconfig

If the second one wasn't true, add the line "/opt/lib32/usr/lib" to /etc/ld.so.conf and run ldconfig as root.

Last edited by skottish (2008-08-12 21:46:27)

Offline

#9 2008-08-12 22:26:58

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: Trying to install X-Plane 9 on Arch64

I'm fairly sure there's an x86_64 build of X-Plane

Run the -athlon version. (if it's there... i've seen it mentioned on websites at least)

I'm very interested in how this goes as I'll be getting X-Plane 9 shortly myself. Let us know what happens.

James

Offline

#10 2008-08-15 14:42:53

TBomBM3879
Member
Registered: 2008-08-11
Posts: 25

Re: Trying to install X-Plane 9 on Arch64

As far as I know, there is no x86_64 bit build of x-plane.

Since I have the ATI proprietary drivers, doesn't libGL conflict with catalyst-utils?

Last edited by TBomBM3879 (2008-08-15 14:43:27)

Offline

#11 2008-08-15 16:18:26

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: Trying to install X-Plane 9 on Arch64

I've seen a -athlon version of X-Plane mentioned before. Might that be x86_64?

Offline

#12 2008-08-16 01:19:30

TBomBM3879
Member
Registered: 2008-08-11
Posts: 25

Re: Trying to install X-Plane 9 on Arch64

Taken from Ben Supnik's X-Plane Scenery blog in November 2007

"Hard to say - X-Plane's development is limited by labor (that is, programmer time) more than anything else. So 64-bit is a win in that it deals with mem limits but it only benefits the fraction of users that have 64-bit CPUs AND 64-bit OSes.

Given Microsoft's policy of productizing the 32-bit vs 64-bit OS separately, and the whole batch of nice fast Intel core chips that are only 32-bit, I think it'll be a while before the PC games world starts going 64-bit crazy.

Going 64-bit isn't actually that hard for us from a programming standpoint - Joshua got the Linux version limping in 64-bit once without too much effort. It's really more of a support issue of having even more versions of the sim floating around (4 or 6 instead of 2 or 3), less test coverage, more strange cases, more support workload, etc. That all takes away from coding features too.

I am sure 64-bit will happen some day...but it's not high on my priority list. (Using more cores more completely is on my high priority list!)"

With X-Plane 9 they just added support for multi core CPUs, 64 bit may or may not happen in X-Plane 10 idk

In conclusion, there may just not be support for X-Plane on 64 bit linux, or maybe perhaps just 64 bit Arch Linux I'm not sure.

For now I'm just going to install the 32 bit version of Arch.

No problem

Last edited by TBomBM3879 (2008-08-16 01:23:12)

Offline

#13 2008-08-27 09:38:22

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: Trying to install X-Plane 9 on Arch64

Got my X-Plane discs this week.

Apparently it's possible to run the 32bit X-Plane under 64bit:
http://forums.x-plane.org/index.php?showtopic=30319

So I'm going to make it work tongue

The alternative is updating my 32bit install on this machine... and that's 2gb of packages -- no thanks!

James

Offline

#14 2008-08-27 10:46:30

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: Trying to install X-Plane 9 on Arch64

Ok, got this working here, just did some circuits in the Cirrus Jet

Pretty much just install a pile of lib32 packages, couldn't be easier smile

http://forums.x-plane.org/index.php?showtopic=33215

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB