You are not logged in.

#1 2008-08-14 08:51:38

Robertek
Member
From: Czech Republic
Registered: 2007-06-02
Posts: 165
Website

Arch on Asus EEE 901

I want to submit this new thread as a continue for old Asus EEE PC thread and targeted on 901 models and similar
http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=39375&p=1

I now let the admins handle that, maybe they mark this as duplicated, but please if so, create something similar. 1000 post thread is not so kind for newcomers and also if there became discuss on little bit different models.
The best will be to create special Archlinux forum subcategory for EEE (and similars), because of its popularity.

So I suggest continue here with discussing on EEE 901 model.

Regards, Robert.

Offline

#2 2008-08-14 09:16:20

Robertek
Member
From: Czech Republic
Registered: 2007-06-02
Posts: 165
Website

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

And for recapitulation.
I have get one piece of 901 yesterday and I could write what I get working.

Kernel: stock Arch 2.6.26.2

LAN: atl1e form AUR
placed in rc.conf and works w/o problems.

Wifi: eeert2860 from AUR
activate wifi in bios, start, insert module (if isnt autoloaded) and you should use wifi as "ra0" interface w/o problems.
what doesnt work is switch it off. If i do "echo 0 > /sys/class/platform/eeepc/wlan" and than echo 1. wifi doesnt initialize as it should.
I have tryed unloading modules, switching, etc, but nothing work.

Camera: modules in stock kernel. on/off with "echo 1 > /sys/class/platform/eeepc/camera" (and than echo 0 to switch off)
Works ok with "mplayer --fps 15 tv://"

Bluetooth: dont know the state of that because I didnt have time. But there is no swich in /sys/../eeepc directory

Xorg: works w/o no config out of the box. I have little bit update the old EEE 70x config and works ok. I will later share that. (but nothing fancy, just comment the line in monitor section with resolution, xorg finds that automaticly)

Fn + keys: install acpi-eee901 from AUR. Start acpid daemon. If you want osd, put somewher in your DM startupscript "asusosd &". Everything work, only wlan not because of the reason describet above.

Special (4) keys: doesnt work.


If I have written something wrong please correct me.

Offline

#3 2008-08-14 09:22:37

ighea
Member
From: Finland
Registered: 2007-10-20
Posts: 115

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

Instead of playing with AUR you can also grab this all-in-one kernel for Eee PC's
eee-kernel 2.6.26.2-2: http://www.ihku.biz/arch/edgy/eee-kerne … pkg.tar.gz

PKGBUILD: http://www.ihku.biz/arch/eee-kernel/


Installing Arch Linux On the Asus EEE PC
acpi-eee acpi-scripts and asusosd for Asus Eee PC (AUR)

Offline

#4 2008-08-14 12:48:18

Robertek
Member
From: Czech Republic
Registered: 2007-06-02
Posts: 165
Website

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

Tryed that and it is fine. Only think it lags hyperthreading support.  I will compile that when I will be home from work, I have there distcc server.

Is there the same problem with wifi switching?? (I will try that later)

Offline

#5 2008-08-14 21:24:24

ighea
Member
From: Finland
Registered: 2007-10-20
Posts: 115

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

Robertek wrote:

Tryed that and it is fine. Only think it lags hyperthreading support.  I will compile that when I will be home from work, I have there distcc server.

Is there the same problem with wifi switching?? (I will try that later)

I have split the eee-kernel into two different series, now we have eee-kernel, which is meant for 700-series, and eee-kernel901 packages including all drivers needed for "optimal" use.

eee-kernel901 now includes support for taking advantages of the hyperthreading.
both packages have the left over ath5k(does not yet support 70x's wlan chip) removed
eeepc_laptop driver builtin

To always get the latest upgrades you can use the following repository:

[edgy]
Server=http://www.ihku.biz/arch/edgy

and the packages for those who do not wan't use the repository or need them for fresh install:
901: http://www.ihku.biz/arch/edgy/eee-kerne … pkg.tar.gz
70x: http://www.ihku.biz/arch/edgy/eee-kerne … pkg.tar.gz


I think the wifi switching issue is still present. hmm


Installing Arch Linux On the Asus EEE PC
acpi-eee acpi-scripts and asusosd for Asus Eee PC (AUR)

Offline

#6 2008-08-15 01:22:03

JazzplayerL9
Member
Registered: 2006-03-31
Posts: 108

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

new kernel works great ighea, although I can't seem to use the repository and had to download the eee-kernel901 package manually.

EDIT:  there it goes...must've just been me.

Last edited by JazzplayerL9 (2008-08-15 01:49:16)

Offline

#7 2008-08-15 10:50:10

Robertek
Member
From: Czech Republic
Registered: 2007-06-02
Posts: 165
Website

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

There is other issue, I dont know if it wasnt discussed yet. When eee 901 is turned on with AC and than run on battery, there is a problem with C4 state and bigger consumption. (BIOS just use only C2 when on AC) When it is turned on w/o AC and you plug while running everything is fine.

I found that out yesterday when I was playing with kernel and finetuning the consumption.

When I start with AC and remove that while running: ~6.8W on battery
When start on battery: ~6.3W on battery (and I can plug in AC whenever I want an the consumption on battery is still low)

This was only a model situation, so you can have different consumption depends on usage.
This was: ethernet on, wlan off, camera off, minimum backlight, iddle

And I have some suggestions for your kernel config:

1) Use sparse memory. (it is not so experimental today)
2) Turn off irq-balance. (powertop sugests that)
3) We need only 2 cpu and not 8 smile (I know it is sane default)
4) Is there some reason to use "configure standart kernel features" ?

Offline

#8 2008-08-15 18:52:37

ighea
Member
From: Finland
Registered: 2007-10-20
Posts: 115

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

Robertek wrote:

There is other issue, I dont know if it wasnt discussed yet. When eee 901 is turned on with AC and than run on battery, there is a problem with C4 state and bigger consumption. (BIOS just use only C2 when on AC) When it is turned on w/o AC and you plug while running everything is fine.

I found that out yesterday when I was playing with kernel and finetuning the consumption.

When I start with AC and remove that while running: ~6.8W on battery
When start on battery: ~6.3W on battery (and I can plug in AC whenever I want an the consumption on battery is still low)

This was only a model situation, so you can have different consumption depends on usage.
This was: ethernet on, wlan off, camera off, minimum backlight, iddle

And I have some suggestions for your kernel config:

1) Use sparse memory. (it is not so experimental today)
2) Turn off irq-balance. (powertop sugests that)
3) We need only 2 cpu and not 8 smile (I know it is sane default)
4) Is there some reason to use "configure standart kernel features" ?

You had really good points there, changes have been made. smile


Installing Arch Linux On the Asus EEE PC
acpi-eee acpi-scripts and asusosd for Asus Eee PC (AUR)

Offline

#9 2008-08-15 20:27:21

Robertek
Member
From: Czech Republic
Registered: 2007-06-02
Posts: 165
Website

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

Superb, just upgraded:)

I will continue to seek for tweaks.

And you also can remove the madwifi dependency for 901 models.

Offline

#10 2008-08-17 09:53:26

Robertek
Member
From: Czech Republic
Registered: 2007-06-02
Posts: 165
Website

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

So I have little bit played with kernel.

Made a patch for the wifi driver (plus add some things found on internet)
http://robertek.brevnov.net/files/linux … -fix.patch

Upgraded kernelconfig and PKGBUILD
http://robertek.brevnov.net/files/linux … rnelconfig
http://robertek.brevnov.net/files/linux … 01/PKGBILD

And this files are same.
http://robertek.brevnov.net/files/linux … el.install
http://robertek.brevnov.net/files/linux … -fix.patch

Also the resulting package:
http://robertek.brevnov.net/files/linux … pkg.tar.gz

It is working fine for me.
I have enabled 4G highmem because of memory loss. I will download 1G lowmem patch and patch that later.

Offline

#11 2008-08-17 19:56:04

inf
Member
From: Vantaa, Finland
Registered: 2006-07-18
Posts: 102
Website

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

@ Robertek

Does suspend or hibernate work for you?

Offline

#12 2008-08-18 06:25:09

Robertek
Member
From: Czech Republic
Registered: 2007-06-02
Posts: 165
Website

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

Suspend to ram is no problem.
Do you have acpi-eee901 ?
Try to remove some modules before suspend, because they can conflict.

suspend to disk is not even included in the kernel. (because I dont think anyone use swap and suspend to ram is ok on 901)

Im working on zen-eee package and maybe I will compile tuxonice support that can suspend to partition. But Im not sure if it will be working.

Last edited by Robertek (2008-08-18 06:30:06)

Offline

#13 2008-08-19 22:25:14

Robertek
Member
From: Czech Republic
Registered: 2007-06-02
Posts: 165
Website

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

So after some tweaking I have nice resulets!!!! smile

I have prepared zen-sources based kernel for eeepc 901

based on 2.6.26-zen2 (will test 27-rc later)

package ready to install:http://robertek.brevnov.net/files/linux … pkg.tar.gz

and building essentials (the PKGBUILD still needs soome polishing in git part, but works, using prepared package is lot easyes because of GIT)
http://robertek.brevnov.net/files/linux … ee.tar.bz2

So what are the results:

1) everything working as common kernel-eee901
2) kernel tweaks patches that comming from zen (BFQ io-sheduler, CFS tunables, 1G-lowmem, ....)
3) tuxonice - suspend to file (dont have time to test this, will be fine if someone test that and write tutorial)
4) "eee" module for seting FSB on eee's!

I have tryed play with FSB settings and the results are ~10h runtime (acpi estimate) (5.2W) usable for all sort of low cpu usage. (fsb 50, low voltage, => ~400MHz) So let say 8-9h realy possible (someone should test it:) ).
I allways test this with devices such as wlan disabled.

fsb is set through /proc/eee/fsb and the format is "fsb divisor low/normall voltage"

I sugest add this to start scripts
echo 100 50 0 > /proc/eee/fsb
I have tested various running conditions and no problem running on low voltage (not overclocked)

fsb is no problem 50-110 (I havent tested more extreme values)
and divisor 50 (dont know what it is exactly do)

Notice: suspend resets fsb to default "100 50 1" so have to be reset after that

Offline

#14 2008-08-20 07:15:43

nibe
Member
Registered: 2008-08-20
Posts: 5

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

Hi everybody,
I just download and install zen-eee901-20080819-1-i686.pkg.tar.gz on my new Asus EEE900 after installing Arch Linux archlinux-2008.06-core-i686.img by USB.
When I start the box I see the following error:

Warning: unable to open an initial console.
Kernel panic - not syncing: No init found. Try passing init=option to kernel

Can anybody help me on this weird issue?

thanks a lot

Nibe

Offline

#15 2008-08-20 08:56:40

Robertek
Member
From: Czech Republic
Registered: 2007-06-02
Posts: 165
Website

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

nibe:
Did you use initrd (just use the one from generic kernel or kernel-eee901)??
Do you have /dev/console ?
Is another kernel booting??

Because I dont have any issues like this.

my initrd has: "base udev pata" and no modules

Offline

#16 2008-08-20 09:57:22

Robertek
Member
From: Czech Republic
Registered: 2007-06-02
Posts: 165
Website

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

So I have upgraded PKGBUILD and make git-diff  from 2.6.26-zen2 applyed to plain 2.6.26

the link mentioned above is the upgraded version.
for those who want git version PKGBUILD
[url][http://robertek.brevnov.net/files/linux … ar.bz2/url]

If you want to change config of your kernel uncomment "make menuconfig" in PKGBUILD or write that down in PKGBUILD after "make silentoldconfig"

Offline

#17 2008-08-20 10:20:12

nibe
Member
Registered: 2008-08-20
Posts: 5

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

Hi Robertek,
thank you for your reply.
Well I use the standard kernel from Arch ad it boots without problem, and with this kernel I have /dev/console
I just download your kernel and install it with pacman.
Then I add the following line to grub config file menu-lst:

title ArchEEEPc
root(hd0,0)
kernel /zeneee root=/dev/sda1 ro

I try to add initrd line with the default kernel  /kernel26.img, but it tells me that don't find some modules and then the following line:

kinit not found!
Kernel panic - not syncing: attempted to kill init!


thanks a lot for your support

nibe

Offline

#18 2008-08-20 14:02:39

Robertek
Member
From: Czech Republic
Registered: 2007-06-02
Posts: 165
Website

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

my /boot/grub/menu.lst

# (0) Arch Linux zen-eee
title  Arch Linux zen-eee
root   (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/zeneee root=/dev/disk/by-uuid/5eec54c6-3a2b-4101-9889-73e2b15f37f5 ro video=intelfb:mode=800x600-32@60 vga=788
initrd /boot/kernel26.img

/etc/mkinitcpio.conf

everything empty

HOOKS="base udev pata"

Offline

#19 2008-08-20 14:05:48

Robertek
Member
From: Czech Republic
Registered: 2007-06-02
Posts: 165
Website

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

There are no modules needed for boot, but udev to recognize ssd partitions. Try changing device /dev/sda1 to uuid stuff.

Offline

#20 2008-08-21 07:12:11

nibe
Member
Registered: 2008-08-20
Posts: 5

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

Hi Rebertek,
now it works thanks a lot!
I have some warining message about modules that system don't find, but probably because in mkinitcpio.conf file I have MODULES="pata_acpi ata_generic scsi_mod ahci ata_piix"
And in HOOKS=base undev autodetect pata scsi sata keymap filesystem"
DO you think I have to empty everythings  less thie: HOOKS="base udev pata"?

Last question: I have not installed yet your essential file ( http://robertek.brevnov.net/files/linux … e.tar.bz2), what does it do?
I have just donwloaded but I dunno how to compile and install it.

I really appreciated your help! Now my littel box roocks with Arch and Kd4.1

thanks again

nibe

Offline

#21 2008-08-21 18:49:10

Robertek
Member
From: Czech Republic
Registered: 2007-06-02
Posts: 165
Website

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

You are welcome:)

zen-eee.tar.bz2 is only for those who want to build the kernel himself. So you dont need that.

Offline

#22 2008-08-22 06:58:18

nibe
Member
Registered: 2008-08-20
Posts: 5

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

Hi Robertek,
I just working a day with my new little box, I have some little stupid problem.
With your kernel, my ethernet don't work, same the wireless, with the one from Arch Linux default installation it works. Should I install again atl package module? Indeed when I start your kernel it gives me some warning about unable to load modules.
I'm also playing with KDE4.1, it works fine, even if some time I have some strange issue on SSD HD which seems to work too much, do you have any good advice on xorg.conf and in general on using eeepc with better performance? Do you think it's ok following the wiki on installing arch on eeepc 701 even if mine is 900 model?
Sorry to hammer you with these qeustions smile hope not to disturb you too much, and thanks again m8

cheers

nibe

Offline

#23 2008-08-22 09:19:37

Robertek
Member
From: Czech Republic
Registered: 2007-06-02
Posts: 165
Website

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

So you have a model 900 or 901 because it is pretty different model!

My kernel is optimized mainly on 901 and I dont know if there is same wireless and lan as in 900. Also I have some optimalization for intel ATOM.

What wifi and lan driver you use? because I have included only atl1e and rt2860sta (I thing that 900 has atl2 and madwifi),
maybe there is better for you to use kernel-eee (70x version) that prepare IGHEA (few post above)

And with the xorg conf I suggest to use 70x version and remove the resolution line, xorg will find its resolution alone and works fine. For me it works fine even w/o xorg.conf (I did that only to change keyboard layout and slightly modify synaptics)

Offline

#24 2008-08-22 14:20:45

nibe
Member
Registered: 2008-08-20
Posts: 5

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

Hi Robertek,
yes sorry I have 900 not 901, the one with Celeron M CPU.
So I suppose your kernel is not correct, right?
Should I try the one written in the Wiki ArchLinux article for 70x?
Are probable the same a part the mount of RAM, the display, but for the rest it's the same.

Thanks a lot for yuor support

cheers

nibe

Offline

#25 2008-08-22 14:26:37

D-Locked
Member
Registered: 2008-08-22
Posts: 31

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

Hello.
I was wondering, did you guys choose ext2 or ext3 for the 901? According to
http://wiki.eeeuser.com/ssd_write_limit
ext3 wouldn't be too dangerous.

Also, do you think the 4 special keys located on the top-left will ever be supported?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB