You are not logged in.

#1151 2009-04-14 09:56:46

lejonet
Member
Registered: 2008-10-27
Posts: 80

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

D-Locked wrote:
lejonet wrote:

Another thing, anyone that has to wake up their eeepc twice before it really wakes up  from suspend? I get no error messages or anything but when I wake it up the first time, it wakes up to console, the goes back into suspend, the second time it wakes up tho. Its nothing that is broken I think, but I just noticed that it was odd

I had this when using xfce4-power-manager & acpi-eeepc-generic (AUR). Turns out both intercepted Fn+F1 as suspend, so when you resumed from the first suspend, the second one took place. Fixed it by telling xfce4-power-manager not to do anything when the sleep button is pressed.

I have neither installed... I actually have no power manager installed, but I had before, could that be it? Cuz I have been using xfce4-power-manager but it disappeared somewhere amongst the upgrade to the newest xfce4. I guess ill reinstall it and tell it to do nothing tongue


Like I say everytime someone looks at me in a weird way "Hey, im a computer technician, I am allowed to open up everything I can and take a peek inside tongue"

Offline

#1152 2009-04-21 16:30:16

lovechii
Member
Registered: 2008-12-26
Posts: 4

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

Hi Blind

I have your Kernel in my eeePC 901.

I have a last eee-control, but de control of FBS don't work. Why ?

I don't have a daemon fbs. . .

Thanks

Last edited by lovechii (2009-04-21 17:05:44)

Offline

#1153 2009-04-21 16:37:49

Blind
Member
From: Desert mountain
Registered: 2005-02-06
Posts: 386

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

If you read through the last couple of post pages, I think there is an answer, if I remember.
I suppose that something is wrong with SMBus and Firmware Versions higher than a critical value of the Eee901.
Anyone correct me if I am wrong, please! I am not using eee-control.

Offline

#1154 2009-04-21 21:59:53

Wallblom
Member
Registered: 2009-04-21
Posts: 8

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

Good day to you all!
I am using the zeneee-kernel for the time beeing. Why havn´t I switched to a more up to date one?
Well the predicament is that zeneee is the only kernel where i can find the /proc/eee/fsb interface. I dont know how to get that for other kernels. I dont use the /fsb interface for over/underclocking, i use it save power by changing the file from "100 50 1" to "100 50 0".

Is there a way to do this from the /sys interface or can i get the /fsb interface to other kernels?

Offline

#1155 2009-04-21 22:22:50

lejonet
Member
Registered: 2008-10-27
Posts: 80

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

Wallblom wrote:

Good day to you all!
I am using the zeneee-kernel for the time beeing. Why havn´t I switched to a more up to date one?
Well the predicament is that zeneee is the only kernel where i can find the /proc/eee/fsb interface. I dont know how to get that for other kernels. I dont use the /fsb interface for over/underclocking, i use it save power by changing the file from "100 50 1" to "100 50 0".

Is there a way to do this from the /sys interface or can i get the /fsb interface to other kernels?

The /proc/eee/fsb interface is given to you by the eee module, so any kernel with that as a module/built-in should provid it.


Like I say everytime someone looks at me in a weird way "Hey, im a computer technician, I am allowed to open up everything I can and take a peek inside tongue"

Offline

#1156 2009-04-22 09:46:36

lovechii
Member
Registered: 2008-12-26
Posts: 4

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

Blind wrote:

If you read through the last couple of post pages, I think there is an answer, if I remember.
I suppose that something is wrong with SMBus and Firmware Versions higher than a critical value of the Eee901.
Anyone correct me if I am wrong, please! I am not using eee-control.

Thank you.

I use the last BIOS 1903. Whats is the last BIOS correct ?

But, I don't have a /proc/acpi/asus/... or /proc/eee/...

EDIT :
The firmware version is EPCB018@10

I actualize the newest eee-control and it isn't working too.

How can I modify FSB without eee-control ?

Last edited by lovechii (2009-04-22 10:07:38)

Offline

#1157 2009-04-22 10:23:52

bangoskank
Member
Registered: 2008-12-04
Posts: 18

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

lovechii wrote:

I use the last BIOS 1903. Whats is the last BIOS correct ?

The latest BIOS I've been able to get FSB adjustments working on is 1101, which has its own bugs; I seem to get white noise through my speakers with that BIOS.

Offline

#1158 2009-04-22 15:23:50

Blind
Member
From: Desert mountain
Registered: 2005-02-06
Posts: 386

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

Yeah, I updated to 1903 yesterday. The interface to modfiy the FSB is not there - any plans by Asus to bring that back?

Offline

#1159 2009-04-26 16:29:55

Wallblom
Member
Registered: 2009-04-21
Posts: 8

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

I would like to compile a module against Roberteks zeneee. Do i need the headers or sources, or both?

Offline

#1160 2009-04-26 19:05:36

D-Locked
Member
Registered: 2008-08-22
Posts: 33

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

Wallblom wrote:

I would like to compile a module against Roberteks zeneee. Do i need the headers or sources, or both?

You need to edit out this line in the PKGBUILD, then rebuild the package with makepkg.

[...]
  # remove the junk symlinks and firmware (as it is in kernel26)
  # rm $pkgdir/lib/modules/${_pkgver}eee/{build,source}
  rm -rf $pkgdir/lib/firmware
[...]

Offline

#1161 2009-04-26 21:04:12

Wallblom
Member
Registered: 2009-04-21
Posts: 8

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

D-Locked wrote:
Wallblom wrote:

I would like to compile a module against Roberteks zeneee. Do i need the headers or sources, or both?

You need to edit out this line in the PKGBUILD, then rebuild the package with makepkg.

[...]
  # remove the junk symlinks and firmware (as it is in kernel26)
  # rm $pkgdir/lib/modules/${_pkgver}eee/{build,source}
  rm -rf $pkgdir/lib/firmware
[...]

Oh, thank you, im not really accustomed to Archlinux just yet. smile

Offline

#1162 2009-04-26 21:30:53

bangoskank
Member
Registered: 2008-12-04
Posts: 18

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

Blind wrote:

Yeah, I updated to 1903 yesterday. The interface to modfiy the FSB is not there - any plans by Asus to bring that back?

No news on Asus' plans, but:

eee-control >= 0.9.0 include a method of modifying the FSB through Asus' SHE (Super Hybrid Engine). It achieves this by using a patched eeepc-laptop module, which is distributed with the eee-control source, or downloadable here. This module now provides the /sys/devices/platform/eeepc/she interface, which can be interacted with by passing the values '0', '1' or '2', which map to the following meanings (from eee-control's she.py):

0: "performance"
1: "normal"
2: "powersave"

i.e. "echo 0 > /sys/devices/platform/eeepc/she" would change to the "performance" setting.

To view the current setting, I've hacked up the following script:

#!/bin/sh

mapping=("performance" "normal" "powersave")
fsb=$((`cat /sys/devices/platform/eeepc/she` & 3))
echo ${mapping[$fsb]}

I've been successfully using this with kernel 2.6.29-ARCH and BIOS 1903 on an EeePC 901.

Offline

#1163 2009-04-26 22:12:34

filoktetes
Member
From: Skien, Norway
Registered: 2003-12-29
Posts: 286

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

amadlopes wrote:

2 - I'm using the xorg.conf from the wiki and i most use 901 connected with my lcd tv using the native resolution of the tv 1366x768. After the upgrade of xorg-server to 1.5.3-5 and then now to 1.6.0-3 the resolution went down to 1024x768.

...
Section "Device"
    Identifier  "Device1"
    Driver      "intel"
    VendorName  "Intel Corporation"
    BoardName   "Mobile 915GM/GMS/910GML Express Graphics Controller"
    BusID       "PCI:0:2:0"
    Option      "Monitor-VGA"  "Screen1"
    Option      "Monitor-LVDS" "Monitor1"
    Option      "Monitor-TV"   "TV"
    Option      "XAANoOffScreenPixmaps" "true"
    Option      "AccelMethod" "XAA"
EndSection

I have been googling and searching on forum but i can't find the solution.

Thanks

I know it's a while since you asked this, and you might have found the solution. A suggestion is to run the command xrandr to see if your monitors are still called VGA, LVDS and TV. I have experienced that upgrading has made them change name to VGA1, LVDS1 and TV1 lately. Then you have to change the options to "Monitor-VGA1" etc...

Offline

#1164 2009-04-27 16:00:08

Blind
Member
From: Desert mountain
Registered: 2005-02-06
Posts: 386

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

bangoskank wrote:
Blind wrote:

Yeah, I updated to 1903 yesterday. The interface to modfiy the FSB is not there - any plans by Asus to bring that back?

No news on Asus' plans, but:

eee-control >= 0.9.0 include a method of modifying the FSB through Asus' SHE (Super Hybrid Engine). It achieves this by using a patched eeepc-laptop module, which is distributed with the eee-control source, or downloadable here. This module now provides the /sys/devices/platform/eeepc/she interface, which can be interacted with by passing the values '0', '1' or '2', which map to the following meanings (from eee-control's she.py):

0: "performance"
1: "normal"
2: "powersave"

i.e. "echo 0 > /sys/devices/platform/eeepc/she" would change to the "performance" setting.

To view the current setting, I've hacked up the following script:

#!/bin/sh

mapping=("performance" "normal" "powersave")
fsb=$((`cat /sys/devices/platform/eeepc/she` & 3))
echo ${mapping[$fsb]}

I've been successfully using this with kernel 2.6.29-ARCH and BIOS 1903 on an EeePC 901.

Sounds interesting. Right now I am a bit weary though to include patched modules in kernel-eee901 - I may if there is demand.
Thank you for the information!

Offline

#1165 2009-04-27 16:03:30

big_gie
Member
Registered: 2005-01-19
Posts: 637

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

What's the advantage of "Super Hybrid Engine" and what does it do? I'm always sceptical about fancy names given to already existing "technology"...

Offline

#1166 2009-04-27 16:32:02

Wallblom
Member
Registered: 2009-04-21
Posts: 8

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

D-Locked wrote:
Wallblom wrote:

I would like to compile a module against Roberteks zeneee. Do i need the headers or sources, or both?

You need to edit out this line in the PKGBUILD, then rebuild the package with makepkg.

[...]
  # remove the junk symlinks and firmware (as it is in kernel26)
  # rm $pkgdir/lib/modules/${_pkgver}eee/{build,source}
  rm -rf $pkgdir/lib/firmware
[...]

I did as you told me and it did build without problems. I can now compile the rt73-module, and it installs correct. Or at least it says so. The thing is that there is no module avaiable after the install. The script tells me that i should unload any old modules and then run modprobe rt73. But that module is not there.

modprobe -l | grep rt
does not return anything relevant, just the rt2860 module. Hmm.:/

Offline

#1167 2009-04-28 20:19:28

Wallblom
Member
Registered: 2009-04-21
Posts: 8

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

Now i have tried to compile the same driver on the stock-kernel, and there is the same issue there.

Offline

#1168 2009-04-28 21:49:08

bangoskank
Member
Registered: 2008-12-04
Posts: 18

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

Wallblom wrote:

Now i have tried to compile the same driver on the stock-kernel, and there is the same issue there.

Can you try simply (after making, from the same directory and as root):

cp *.ko /lib/modules/`uname -r`/kernel/drivers/net/wireless
depmod

Last edited by bangoskank (2009-04-28 21:50:35)

Offline

#1169 2009-04-29 02:28:17

ashishp
Member
Registered: 2009-04-28
Posts: 14

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

Hello. I have just built a zen-kernel for eeepc 901. I have applied zen2 patches on top of 2.6.29 kernel (Kernel-2.6.29-zen2eee). Atl1e, rt2860sta etc built in and eee has been built as a loadable module. eee module works fine. Everything works for me so far, although I have not tested it in detail. Anybody interested in this kernel? If so, I can put it up for download.

Last edited by ashishp (2009-04-29 05:38:18)

Offline

#1170 2009-04-29 06:39:17

Wallblom
Member
Registered: 2009-04-21
Posts: 8

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

ashishp wrote:

Hello. I have just built a zen-kernel for eeepc 901. I have applied zen2 patches on top of 2.6.29 kernel (Kernel-2.6.29-zen2eee). Atl1e, rt2860sta etc built in and eee has been built as a loadable module. eee module works fine. Everything works for me so far, although I have not tested it in detail. Anybody interested in this kernel? If so, I can put it up for download.

I would be more than interested, it sounds like a very nice zen-upgrade:P
I use the 2.6.27-zen2eee right now.

Offline

#1171 2009-04-29 16:49:57

ashishp
Member
Registered: 2009-04-28
Posts: 14

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

Wallblom wrote:

I would be more than interested, it sounds like a very nice zen-upgrade:P
I use the 2.6.27-zen2eee right now.

Here you go:

Here is the precompiled package:

http://zen-kernel-eee-901-arch.googleco … pkg.tar.gz

And here, all sources and PKGBUILD:

http://zen-kernel-eee-901-arch.googleco … ces.tar.gz

Offline

#1172 2009-04-29 18:57:37

Wallblom
Member
Registered: 2009-04-21
Posts: 8

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

ashishp wrote:
Wallblom wrote:

I would be more than interested, it sounds like a very nice zen-upgrade:P
I use the 2.6.27-zen2eee right now.

Here you go:

Here is the precompiled package:

http://zen-kernel-eee-901-arch.googleco … pkg.tar.gz

And here, all sources and PKGBUILD:

http://zen-kernel-eee-901-arch.googleco … ces.tar.gz

Thank you very much! I´m trying it right now and it works wonderfully. tongue

EDIT: Which acpi-script-package are you using for this kernel? smile

Last edited by Wallblom (2009-04-29 19:53:57)

Offline

#1173 2009-04-30 01:55:03

ashishp
Member
Registered: 2009-04-28
Posts: 14

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

Wallblom wrote:

Thank you very much! I´m trying it right now and it works wonderfully. tongue

EDIT: Which acpi-script-package are you using for this kernel? smile

I have not tried any acpi for eee901 yet. The acpi scripts for eee generic should work fine. I will try and let you know.

Last edited by ashishp (2009-04-30 01:59:12)

Offline

#1174 2009-05-02 09:42:10

slappinjohn
Member
Registered: 2007-10-31
Posts: 48

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

Hi,

haven't been there for a while now. I tried to read through the last pages of this topic to get up to date and I'm wondering if there'll be anybody who could update the wiki-page with all the vanilla-kernel, eee-control and acpi-stuff. I'm still using the scripts robertek originally wrote/adopted with some personal changes and that's all what's documentated in the wiki, maybe it would be nice to have a second choice too.

Thx smile

Last edited by slappinjohn (2009-05-02 09:45:34)

Offline

#1175 2009-05-02 10:51:53

bangoskank
Member
Registered: 2008-12-04
Posts: 18

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

slappinjohn wrote:

Hi,

haven't been there for a while now. I tried to read through the last pages of this topic to get up to date and I'm wondering if there'll be anybody who could update the wiki-page with all the vanilla-kernel, eee-control and acpi-stuff. I'm still using the scripts robertek originally wrote/adopted with some personal changes and that's all what's documentated in the wiki, maybe it would be nice to have a second choice too.

Thx smile

I agree, slappinjohn; much of the information on the wiki is either scattered, outdated or just plain missing. There has been some discussion about this over at the wiki (here and here) but no real action has been taken.

I think it's likely that the model-specific pages could be melted down into one. Does any stock hardware not work on the stock kernel? There were only really two changes I had to make on my last install on the 901: installing a patched eeepc-laptop module (more on that later) and the eee-control daemon. As has been noted on the wiki discussion, it seems rational, then, that the stock kernel should be the first option, since it requires the least modification/effort.

As I believe I mentioned in an earlier post, the eee-control source includes a patched eeepc-laptop module which enables the /sys/devices/platform/eeepc/she interface for interacting with ASUS's method of FSB modification. On the 901, with a BIOS later than version 1101 I am unable to modify the FSB through any other means than the SHE method. The latest kernel git doesn't seem to include this patched version of the module, so I have taken the liberty of emailing the implementer of eee-control to ask about its origins. Does anyone have any ideas about how to package this module in the AUR? The kernel26 package includes its own eeepc-laptop module, so there are bound to be file conflicts. Aside from this, it will need to be recompiled for each update of the kernel. The eee-control Ubuntu package seems to use DKMS to get around this; is this a viable solution for us?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB