You are not logged in.

#1 2008-08-23 07:50:52

schimpfj
Member
From: Frankfurt, Germany
Registered: 2007-08-15
Posts: 53

[Solved] How to add missing module?

I have just installed a second build of Arch on my laptop (first: Arch686, second: Arch64). Once through the installation process I rebooted but upon startup it tells me missing bcm43xx module. The module was available during installation but did not get installed with my install. Not sure what I missed out during installation process... Anyway, is there a way to install the missing module without having to go through the install process again and where would I get it from?

BTW: 'modprobe -l | grep bc' does not list the module, hence I am sure its missing/not installed.

Last edited by schimpfj (2008-08-23 09:22:06)

Offline

#2 2008-08-23 08:57:12

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,835

Re: [Solved] How to add missing module?

bcm43xx has been replaced by b43 and b43legacy.

Offline

#3 2008-08-23 09:21:43

schimpfj
Member
From: Frankfurt, Germany
Registered: 2007-08-15
Posts: 53

Re: [Solved] How to add missing module?

Ooops. I have used an old parameter from my current installtion - although I do not use it (!bcm43xx). My mistake. b43 is loaded. Strange I still cannot see wlan0 when I do 'ifconfig', but should be able to sort this.

Thanks for your kind reminder!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB