You are not logged in.

#1 2004-07-01 11:54:10

Leigh

packages rpm arch deb etc...

I'm still fairly new to linux but have learned alot in the past year starting with mandrake, then debian and now arch. After trying out arch and needing to learn to make my own packages that wern't listed in the arch package list I started thinking, which usully gets me in trouble. I'm pretty good with programming on cad systems but that's not very comparable to linux. Anyway I read alot about the differences between rpm based distros verses arch or debian and how the differences in file structures between the different flavors of linux makes rpms very unreliable depending on which distro they were made for.  This is what I was thinking.....

From what I do know is that a certain package has dependencies no matter what distro it is packaged for and, unless I'm mistaken, those dependencies are usually the same set of dependencies regardless of the distro.  The main difference is the directory structure between distros that make packages from one distro not work on a different distro, which complicates or crupts the tracking of those dependencies and packages.

Why couldn't there be a new system created that could take a rpm package or .deb package and break it down and convert it to work for this new system? Considering that in general, Linux is still Linux regardless whether it's redhat, suse, mandrake, debian, arch, etc...