You are not logged in.

#1 2008-09-11 13:06:44

Phrodo_00
Member
From: Seattle, WA
Registered: 2006-04-09
Posts: 342
Website

xmonad and gnome

Hi, I'm trying to use xmonad as window manager. I used the config in Basic Desktop Integration, but I get

 Error detected while loading xmonad configuration file: /home/phrodo_00/.xmonad/xmonad.hs

xmonad.hs:2:7:
    Could not find module `XMonad.Config.Gnome':
      it is not a module in the current program, or in any known package.

Please check the file for errors.

it seems that it doesn't come with the package... any sugestions?

BTW... I do have xmonad-contrib installed...

Last edited by Phrodo_00 (2008-09-11 13:07:35)

Offline

#2 2008-09-11 15:33:46

X/ax
Member
From: Oost vlaanderen, Belgium
Registered: 2008-01-13
Posts: 275
Website

Re: xmonad and gnome

Well, I have following packages installed:

[cpf@galactica .xmonad]% y -Ss xmonad
community/xmonad 0.8-1 [installed]
    A lightweight X11 tiled window manager written in Haskell
community/xmonad-contrib 0.8-1 [installed]

And in my xmonad.hs I have iport XMonad.Config.Gnome.

[cpf@galactica .xmonad]% ghci xmonad.hs
GHCi, version 6.8.2: http://www.haskell.org/ghc/  :? for help
Loading package base ... linking ... done.
Ok, modules loaded: Main.

Kind of means all modules are there properly.
Perhaps you should post your xmonad.hs?


My coding blog (or an attempt at it)
Archer start page (or an attempt at it)

Offline

#3 2008-09-11 16:10:12

Phrodo_00
Member
From: Seattle, WA
Registered: 2006-04-09
Posts: 342
Website

Re: xmonad and gnome

here it is:

import XMonad
import XMonad.Config.Gnome
 
main = xmonad gnomeConfig

Somehow, I fixed it...

Last edited by Phrodo_00 (2008-09-11 16:17:32)

Offline

#4 2008-09-11 17:18:40

X/ax
Member
From: Oost vlaanderen, Belgium
Registered: 2008-01-13
Posts: 275
Website

Re: xmonad and gnome

That happens, great it's fixed though smile


My coding blog (or an attempt at it)
Archer start page (or an attempt at it)

Offline

#5 2008-10-11 11:16:24

caminoix
Member
From: cracow, poland
Registered: 2005-07-12
Posts: 162
Website

Re: xmonad and gnome

Phrodo_00 wrote:

Somehow, I fixed it...

could you please try to explain how you fixed it or at least can you remember what you did?
i have a similar problem and can't understand why it doesn't work

Offline

#6 2008-10-11 12:10:06

moljac024
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2008-01-29
Posts: 2,676

Re: xmonad and gnome

Haskell is real bitchy about indentation so you have to watch out for that.


The day Microsoft makes a product that doesn't suck, is the day they make a vacuum cleaner.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
But if they tell you that I've lost my mind, maybe it's not gone just a little hard to find...

Offline

#7 2008-10-11 14:10:24

caminoix
Member
From: cracow, poland
Registered: 2005-07-12
Posts: 162
Website

Re: xmonad and gnome

heh, i know a little haskell and knew about indentation but your answer made me re-read what i wrote very carefully and i realised that i've spelled "Xmonad" instead of "XMonad". now everything works fine smile thanks! smile

Offline

#8 2008-10-20 21:17:13

olga
Member
Registered: 2008-10-20
Posts: 10

Re: xmonad and gnome

Hi. I'm afraid I have the exact same problem. This is my xmonad.hs:

import XMonad
import XMonad.Config.Gnome

main = xmonad gnomeConfig

And yet I get this error:

Error detected while loading xmonad configuration file: /home/olga/.xmonad/xmonad.hs

xmonad.hs:2:7:
    Could not find module `XMonad.Config.Gnome':
      it is not a module in the current program, or in any known package.

Please check the file for errors.

I can't install xmonad-contrib. I can only install xmonadcontrib.

Apt-get says libghc6-xmonad-contrib-dev replaces that package, so I installed it instead. Still no-go.

What am I to do? I'd be very grateful for any help! ^^

Last edited by olga (2008-10-20 21:19:15)

Offline

#9 2008-10-20 22:49:13

SamC
Member
From: Calgary
Registered: 2008-05-13
Posts: 611
Website

Re: xmonad and gnome

olga: Are you sure you're using arch? apt-get is for debian-based systems, as far as I know.

Offline

#10 2008-12-30 00:49:05

Intrepid
Member
Registered: 2008-06-11
Posts: 254

Re: xmonad and gnome

I have the same EXACT problem as Olga here, but I am using arch and have xmonad & xmonad-contrib installed.  It cannot even import only XMonad!  It's like it's not detected.  Does anyone have a workaround?


Intrepid (adj.): Resolutely courageous; fearless.

Offline

#11 2009-01-11 21:23:53

caminoix
Member
From: cracow, poland
Registered: 2005-07-12
Posts: 162
Website

Re: xmonad and gnome

i don't know if this will help but see if you have /usr/lib/ghc-6.8.2/site-local/xmonad-contrib-0.8 in your $PATH. if not, you can try adding

PATH=$PATH:/usr/lib/ghc-6.8.2/site-local/xmonad-contrib-0.8

to your ~/.bashrc.

i haven't used xmonad for some time (switched to awesome) but recently found this line in my .bashrc. i guess i must have needed it if it's there, even if i can't remember it.

Offline

#12 2009-01-12 04:57:28

vogt
Member
From: Toronto, Canada
Registered: 2006-11-25
Posts: 389

Re: xmonad and gnome

ghc has a database of install libraries.

It does not depend on your path; the required binaries are in the regular /usr/bin ....

You can query that database by way of the ghc-pkg command;
if you reinstall ghc, you have to re-run all your: /usr/share/haskell/xmonad-contrib/register.sh : and if its a different version of ghc, you most likely have to recompile xmonad.

I don't know how debian manages ghc libraries, but I would expect it to be similar.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB