You are not logged in.

#1 2008-09-15 17:02:48

LonelyStar

Tiling WM - what features do you use?I

Hi together,

I am kind of new to tiling WMs, and I like it! I use awesome.
I am wondering what features of your tiling WM you use in your daily work/play. Because I am generaly interested but also because I wondering if there are features I should try. I'll start:

- I have 9 workspaces and I accress them with Alt F1-F9, similiar to how I switch consoles.
- Of course, the automatic window arrangment. While on most workspaces I have one window in fullscreen, I really like the "fair" layouts from awesome.
- I can configure awesome so that I can close any application with Ctlr-x Ctrl-x. Since I am an emacs user, I am very used to this key combination.
- I use dmenu_path and dmenu for starting applications (do "dmenu_path | dmenu" to see what I mean).
- I can switch any window to floating. It than also has a fully working titlebar.

I am sure I forgot something ...

Greetings,
Nathan

EDIT: I want to add something, I am also interested in which layout you use and how you use them.
I personaly find the "Tiled" layout not very usefull.

Last edited by LonelyStar (2008-09-15 17:12:12)

#2 2008-09-17 01:05:49

pauldonnelly

Re: Tiling WM - what features do you use?I

I use StumpWM, which has window groups rather than multiple desktops.

1. I only use one group, though I may add another to clean up the window list sometime.
2. I use one window in fullscreen most of the time. Sometimes I split either vertically or horizontally for a while. No floating.
3. I've got heavily customized key bindings. M-a is the escape, so I press "M-a p" and then a letter key to start the programs that have key bindings. For 8 of those programs, I only ever want to run one instance at a time, so their launch keys are set to select a running instance if one exists, rather than starting a new one. I assign them a number above 9 after starting them to get them out of the way.