You are not logged in.

#1 2004-07-08 16:15:44

iotc247
Member
From: Florida
Registered: 2004-05-31
Posts: 177
Website

kde 3.3

Anyone tried the kde 3.3 beta 1? Have you made packages for it? Are they in incoming. Or do you have pkgbuilds for it? Does it work nicely.. Whats new about it..

Offline

#2 2004-07-08 16:19:19

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: kde 3.3

JGC (don't know his real name) usually has repos of beta software like this you can contact him via irc (usually). you could always just go to the kde homepage and find out the changes. or you could make your own set of packages. 3.3 will not likely be available to arch users through official repos until the code is stable. you won't find this kind of stuff in incoming either as it is not usually kosher to put such things there.


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#3 2004-07-12 21:46:45

JGC
Developer
Registered: 2003-12-03
Posts: 1,660

Re: kde 3.3

Hmm, someone was calling for beta software? tongue

[kde33]
Server = ftp://schoolbak.dyndns.org/pub/archlinux/kde33

Some files have moved from kdebase to kdelibs, so it's advised to remove KDE and reinstall it. If you manage to do it without, please post it. The repository isn't complete yet, my XP 1700+ buildmachine with 768MB is still crunching on kdetoys, kdesdk, kdebindings and kdeedu.

Offline

#4 2004-07-12 22:27:34

iotc247
Member
From: Florida
Registered: 2004-05-31
Posts: 177
Website

Re: kde 3.3

next time i boot to linux ill try.. Havent been on linux much.. Started a clan for a windows only game.

Offline

#5 2004-07-24 16:21:04

JGC
Developer
Registered: 2003-12-03
Posts: 1,660

Re: kde 3.3

Damn, I started compiling in a screen with the libidn installed on the chroot, but I never uploaded it.

I didn't have much time lately, I have spare time tomorrow. Tomorrow I will maintain gnome 2.7 and also put the right kdenetwork package in the repository.

Offline

#6 2004-07-24 19:29:20

JGC
Developer
Registered: 2003-12-03
Posts: 1,660

Re: kde 3.3

If I have time for that, yes.

Offline

#7 2004-07-24 21:30:25

mxcl
Member
From: MK; UK
Registered: 2004-05-26
Posts: 39
Website

Re: kde 3.3

I compiled my own. For me it looks better, seems faster (but I think this is because stock Arch kde packages are compiled with debug), and is very stable.

There are many little improvements that are making my life online a treat. Very much recommended.

Offline

#8 2004-08-08 17:32:34

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,262

Re: kde 3.3

hi JGC
3.3 rc1 is out
Is it possible that you update your kde 3.3 packages to 3.3 rc1?
would be nice
thanks in advance

Offline

#9 2004-08-08 21:27:13

JGC
Developer
Registered: 2003-12-03
Posts: 1,660

Re: kde 3.3

building KDE 3.3.0 RC1 now, it will come out as 3.3.0-1j1, looks like a stable version, but it's the RC. I can't help it if KDE fucks up their versions before they go final.

My ISP has some trouble keeping my connection up it seems, so I have to restart builds everytime sad

Offline

#10 2004-08-10 02:12:24

cmf
Member
Registered: 2003-10-18
Posts: 86

Re: kde 3.3

I'm also preparing for a 3.3 release, i'l get access to the src pkg's about a week early if it's the same as previous KDE releases (which it is).

I'll try and keep you all posted on how that goes....

/me

Offline

#11 2004-08-10 08:51:12

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,262

Re: kde 3.3

now rc 2 available
ftp://ftp.kde.org/pub/kde/unstable/3.3.0rc2/src
wow that goes fast

Offline

#12 2004-08-10 21:18:27

JGC
Developer
Registered: 2003-12-03
Posts: 1,660

Re: kde 3.3

Hmm, nice... sigh

RC1 is done building now, I'll upload it. cmf can take a look at my PKGBUILDs to build final.

KDE is taking too much time for me, everytime a package is updated, I have to compile for about an hour on it, or even worse than that.

There are some changes in KDE:

- musicbrainz needs to get updated to 2.1.x
- trm has to be replaced by tunepimp
- a kernelheader needs fixing for kdemultimedia (URL is in kdemultimedia PKGBUILD)
- libidn is a dependency now
- kde.profile is updated
- All KDE packages are namcapped and should no longer contain dependency problems.

cmf: please take a look at these PKGBUILDs, I've taken out many mistakes from them.

Offline

#13 2004-08-11 00:24:48

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,366
Website

Re: kde 3.3

cmf wrote:

I'm also preparing for a 3.3 release, i'l get access to the src pkg's about a week early if it's the same as previous KDE releases (which it is).

I'll try and keep you all posted on how that goes....

/me

http://developer.kde.org/development-ve … -plan.html

you should get access very soon :-)


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#14 2004-08-11 00:59:35

cmf
Member
Registered: 2003-10-18
Posts: 86

Re: kde 3.3

JGC wrote:

cmf: please take a look at these PKGBUILDs, I've taken out many mistakes from them.

are the changes documented so i can see if the mistakes were mine or ones i missed from before my time?

I'm collecting a list of issues which there were with 3.2.3 and new deps and what not, if anyone can think of any other just add.

+ libGL.a & nvidia drivers.......... (big issue).
+ juk issues (trm (now tunepimp) & musicbrainz related).
+ kwifimanager (will try building with wifi apps installed).
+ kopete-jabber stuff good ol' rawler and JGC discussed above.
+ xscreensaver stuff.
+ issue with knotify not working properly in kde 3.2.3 (rawler discovered this one a while ago, as yet i don't know what's up..... any ideas?)
+ compiling with disable-debug? (can't quite remember if this is         done already?) to reduce bin size and improve speed?
+ add eject as a dep to kdelibs/base and not just a build-dep.
+ Lastly, make sure i get it built ASAP so i can test it and others test it  (possibly upload to JGC's repo if it's ok?) this needs to work, i want this to be 'my 3rd time lucky' wink

EDIT:

+ KSvg not being built properly? not displaying svg's properly? need to look into ksvg deps....

Offline

#15 2004-08-11 06:18:22

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,262

Re: kde 3.3

for libGL.la have a look at this:
http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php? … t=libgl+la

Offline

#16 2004-08-11 09:12:30

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,262

Re: kde 3.3

now installed rc1
thanks for the work JGC
did you get sound out of your boxes?
perhaps this is fixed in rc2
sound died but it's not tragic xmms works fine so far

runs solid no hangs or crashes with the rest

EDIT:
kopete crashs no chance to start it

EDIT2:
would be nice if you would change the /opt/kde/share/config/Xservers
:1 local reserve /usr/X11R6/bin/X :1 vt8
see wish:
http://bugs.archlinux.org/index.php?do=details&id=668
that enables multi sessions

Offline

#17 2004-08-11 10:55:14

cmf
Member
Registered: 2003-10-18
Posts: 86

Re: kde 3.3

the libGL.la is easy peasy....

i may add the vt stuff, i wan't that functionality aswell, just need to speak it over a little more....

any others?

Offline

#18 2004-08-11 11:21:15

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,262

Re: kde 3.3

summary:
libGL problem solved
juk starts but cannot play a file because of sound died
kopete is working after removing old kopeterc file
screensavers seem to be kde only right now
fileshareset utility doesn't work and it's set to setuid root

looking forward to rc2
i give feedback if i discover other bugs
EDIT:
from kde board
Re: RC *2*?
by Scott Wheeler on Wednesday 11/Aug/2004, @06:19

There were some significant issues that we realized between the time that the tarballs were produced and when an announcement would have been done. There was a problem with selection in KHTML, LiveConnect in Flash and on most systems audio didn't work at all. As such it was decided to not announce it, but wait for RC2.

Offline

#19 2004-08-11 18:13:08

cmf
Member
Registered: 2003-10-18
Posts: 86

Re: kde 3.3

I'm not talking issues with RC1, specifically KDE bugs (text selection), more issues with my Arch KDE 3.2.3 pkg's.

I now have access to the pre-release server also, so it's just time before i start building... smile

Offline

#20 2004-08-11 18:34:22

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,262

Re: kde 3.3

the fileshareset bug was also in 3.2.3
and now in 3.3rc1 it's the same

kde 3.3 will be great
i'm prepared for rc2 :-)

Offline

#21 2004-08-12 11:18:10

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,262

Re: kde 3.3

now compiled kd 3.3rc2 from source
JGC or CMF
how did you get kdemultimedia to compile
i get this error:
make[4]: Entering directory `/home/tobias/kdemultimedia/src/kdemultimedia-3.3.0/mpeglib/lib/input'
/bin/sh ../../../libtool --silent --mode=compile --tag=CXX g++ -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I. -I../../.. -I/opt/kde/include -I/opt/qt/include -I/usr/X11R6/include   -DQT_THREAD_SUPPORT  -D_REENTRANT  -Wnon-virtual-dtor -Wno-long-long -Wundef -ansi -D_XOPEN_SOURCE=500 -D_BSD_SOURCE -Wcast-align -Wconversion -Wchar-subscripts -Wall -W -Wpointer-arith -Wwrite-strings -O2 -march=i686 -O2 -pipe -Wformat-security -Wmissing-format-attribute -fno-exceptions -fno-check-new -fno-common -DQT_CLEAN_NAMESPACE -DQT_NO_ASCII_CAST -DQT_NO_STL -DQT_NO_COMPAT -DQT_NO_TRANSLATION -fpermissive -c -o cdromAccess.lo cdromAccess.cpp
In file included from /usr/include/linux/cdrom.h:14,
                 from cdromAccess_Linux.cpp:17,
                 from cdromAccess.cpp:33:
/usr/include/asm/byteorder.h:38: error: `__u64' does not name a type
In file included from /usr/include/linux/byteorder/little_endian.h:11,
                 from /usr/include/asm/byteorder.h:65,
                 from /usr/include/linux/cdrom.h:14,
                 from cdromAccess_Linux.cpp:17,
                 from cdromAccess.cpp:33:
/usr/include/linux/byteorder/swab.h:199: error: `__u64' does not name a type
/usr/include/linux/byteorder/swab.h:209: error: `__u64' does not name a type
/usr/include/linux/byteorder/swab.h:213: error: variable or field `__swab64s' declared void
/usr/include/linux/byteorder/swab.h:213: error: `__swab64s' declared as an `inline' variable
/usr/include/linux/byteorder/swab.h:213: error: `__u64' was not declared in this scope
/usr/include/linux/byteorder/swab.h:213: error: `addr' was not declared in this scope
/usr/include/linux/byteorder/swab.h:214: error: expected `,' or `;' before '{' token
make[4]: *** [cdromAccess.lo] Fehler 1
make[4]: Leaving directory `/home/tobias/kdemultimedia/src/kdemultimedia-3.3.0/mpeglib/lib/input'
make[3]: *** [all-recursive] Fehler 1
make[3]: Leaving directory `/home/tobias/kdemultimedia/src/kdemultimedia-3.3.0/mpeglib/lib'
make[2]: *** [all-recursive] Fehler 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/tobias/kdemultimedia/src/kdemultimedia-3.3.0/mpeglib'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Fehler 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/tobias/kdemultimedia/src/kdemultimedia-3.3.0'
make: *** [all] Fehler 2
==> ERROR: Build Failed.  Aborting...

Offline

#22 2004-08-12 11:24:33

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,262

Re: kde 3.3

tata found the solution from gentoo ebuild
added --disable-strict --disable-warnings to PKGBUILD
now it works

Offline

#23 2004-08-12 13:31:41

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,366
Website

Re: kde 3.3

tpowa wrote:

tata found the solution from gentoo ebuild
added --disable-strict --disable-warnings to PKGBUILD
now it works

--disable-warnings is not recomended

--disable-strict is dangerous sometimes

but for a rc, it's ok smile


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#24 2004-08-12 13:37:44

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,262

Re: kde 3.3

sorry without that it doesn't work at all
see post above
now i get sound again out of amarok & co

JGC did it work with rc1 wihtout the parameters?
i think it's a glibc 2.3.3 bug because the files belong to glibc 2.3.3

i found out in kdebugtracker that this is not a kdemultimedia bug
this bug may happens in kde 3.1 and 3.2 too

Offline

#25 2004-08-12 14:03:37

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,366
Website

Re: kde 3.3

tpowa wrote:

sorry without that it doesn't work at all
see post above
now i get sound again out of amarok & co

JGC did it work with rc1 wihtout the parameters?
i think it's a glibc 2.3.3 bug because the files belong to glibc 2.3.3

i found out in kdebugtracker that this is not a kdemultimedia bug
this bug may happens in kde 3.1 and 3.2 too

yes, i read the post, no problem with that - only the 3.3 pkgs should be tried first without and if this is not working, then ok, then i agree to build it even with --disable-strict as long as strict does not build (kde devs must be aware of this trouble)


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB