You are not logged in.

#1 2008-09-19 16:14:52

andre.ramaciotti
Member
From: Brazil
Registered: 2007-04-06
Posts: 649

Archlinux and Intel X3100

I'm thinking about buying a notebook with this video card, an Intel X3100, and I'd like to know how good it is. I've heard Intel has nice OSS drivers, but I'm not sure about its hardware.

I don't use OpenGL a lot, but these are the things I'd like to work nicely:
- Blender
- Video playback

Games and compiz effects aren't necessary, but it would be nice if they work, too.


(lambda ())

Offline

#2 2008-09-19 16:24:23

moljac024
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2008-01-29
Posts: 2,676

Re: Archlinux and Intel X3100

You'll be fine with it. Seriously, it's a nice card. Even the older GMA 950 can do compiz and video playback (not sure about Blender though). So X3100 should be fine.

And yes, the drivers are nice.


The day Microsoft makes a product that doesn't suck, is the day they make a vacuum cleaner.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
But if they tell you that I've lost my mind, maybe it's not gone just a little hard to find...

Offline

#3 2008-09-19 16:35:12

andre.ramaciotti
Member
From: Brazil
Registered: 2007-04-06
Posts: 649

Re: Archlinux and Intel X3100

Well, if blender runs with my Nvidia TNT2 (only 32MB), I suppose it'll work nicely with this one. I just wanted to checkout, though.


(lambda ())

Offline

#4 2008-09-20 06:17:17

Dheart
Member
From: Sofia, Bulgaria
Registered: 2006-10-26
Posts: 956

Re: Archlinux and Intel X3100

Well I'm the owner of this card and it works wonderfull for video playback. It is a little bit slow for some games (I got 10-12 frames at etracer), and wine games in 32bit chroot some times cause hardlocks, but since you are not using that - you should be fine...


My victim you are meant to be
No, you cannot hide nor flee
You know what I'm looking for
Pleasure your torture, I will endure...

Offline

#5 2008-09-20 07:41:55

moljac024
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2008-01-29
Posts: 2,676

Re: Archlinux and Intel X3100

Oh, I forgot to say that you can run Heroes of Might and Magic V on these cards. Even the GMA950.


The day Microsoft makes a product that doesn't suck, is the day they make a vacuum cleaner.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
But if they tell you that I've lost my mind, maybe it's not gone just a little hard to find...

Offline

#6 2008-09-20 08:21:29

JeremyTheWicked
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2008-05-23
Posts: 193

Re: Archlinux and Intel X3100

This card interests me as well. Have you guys run any other games on that? E.g. Pro Evolution Soccer or something?


arch(3) adj amused because you think you understand something better than other people ;P

Offline

#7 2008-09-20 11:24:11

Dheart
Member
From: Sofia, Bulgaria
Registered: 2006-10-26
Posts: 956

Re: Archlinux and Intel X3100

Heroes III Defcon Uplink without problems.
WoW and Frozen Throne would cause hard lock unless I unload all other applications...


My victim you are meant to be
No, you cannot hide nor flee
You know what I'm looking for
Pleasure your torture, I will endure...

Offline

#8 2008-09-20 12:19:55

JeremyTheWicked
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2008-05-23
Posts: 193

Re: Archlinux and Intel X3100

Dheart wrote:

Heroes III Defcon Uplink without problems.
WoW and Frozen Throne would cause hard lock unless I unload all other applications...

That would be in Wine or on Windows?


arch(3) adj amused because you think you understand something better than other people ;P

Offline

#9 2008-09-20 12:27:28

INCSlayer
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2007-09-06
Posts: 296
Website

Re: Archlinux and Intel X3100

i have only experienced it in wine


In Life or Death no one Shall have what is Black Jack Lee's

windoze: "for people that can't spell windows"

Offline

#10 2008-09-20 12:37:40

JeremyTheWicked
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2008-05-23
Posts: 193

Re: Archlinux and Intel X3100

One thing that interests me a lot is Civilization IV (Wine or Windows - doesn't  matter). Could anybody confirm if you can run it on this card?


arch(3) adj amused because you think you understand something better than other people ;P

Offline

#11 2008-09-20 13:15:49

Dheart
Member
From: Sofia, Bulgaria
Registered: 2006-10-26
Posts: 956

Re: Archlinux and Intel X3100

JeremyTheWicked wrote:
Dheart wrote:

Heroes III Defcon Uplink without problems.
WoW and Frozen Throne would cause hard lock unless I unload all other applications...

That would be in Wine or on Windows?

In wine...

INCSlayer wrote:

i have only experienced it in wine

Do you mean that there are no hardlocks in windows with these games?

EDIT: Bad typo...

Last edited by Dheart (2008-09-20 20:28:49)


My victim you are meant to be
No, you cannot hide nor flee
You know what I'm looking for
Pleasure your torture, I will endure...

Offline

#12 2008-09-20 16:41:06

anrxc
Member
From: Croatia
Registered: 2008-03-22
Posts: 834
Website

Re: Archlinux and Intel X3100

Solid card, lousy drivers (performance lower then Windows driver). Tv-out support was finally fixed about a month ago, that should give you an estimate of how "quick" other parts of the driver will improve. When you also take in account other components like mesa, Xorg... bottom line, I would choose nvidia hardware and their "evil closed drivers" any day.


You need to install an RTFM interface.

Offline

#13 2008-09-20 17:06:02

moljac024
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2008-01-29
Posts: 2,676

Re: Archlinux and Intel X3100

Civ IV should run on this card on Windows. Wine is always a lottery, though wink


The day Microsoft makes a product that doesn't suck, is the day they make a vacuum cleaner.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
But if they tell you that I've lost my mind, maybe it's not gone just a little hard to find...

Offline

#14 2008-09-20 19:47:04

INCSlayer
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2007-09-06
Posts: 296
Website

Re: Archlinux and Intel X3100

Dheart wrote:
INCSlayer wrote:

i have only experienced it in wine

Do you mean that there are now hardlocks in windows with these games?

no i mean exactly what i said that in my personal experience i have only had hardlocks while playing Frozen throne and/or WoW while playing them in wine.
I have not had any hardlocks when  playing any games on windows (with the x3100 ofc).

i have also had hardlocks using phun on linux in combination with the x3100


In Life or Death no one Shall have what is Black Jack Lee's

windoze: "for people that can't spell windows"

Offline

#15 2008-09-20 19:54:32

andre.ramaciotti
Member
From: Brazil
Registered: 2007-04-06
Posts: 649

Re: Archlinux and Intel X3100

INCSlayer wrote:

i have also had hardlocks using phun on linux in combination with the x3100

Always or randomly?


(lambda ())

Offline

#16 2008-09-20 20:29:50

Dheart
Member
From: Sofia, Bulgaria
Registered: 2006-10-26
Posts: 956

Re: Archlinux and Intel X3100

INCSlayer wrote:
Dheart wrote:
INCSlayer wrote:

i have only experienced it in wine

Do you mean that there are now hardlocks in windows with these games?

no i mean exactly what i said that in my personal experience i have only had hardlocks while playing Frozen throne and/or WoW while playing them in wine.
I have not had any hardlocks when  playing any games on windows (with the x3100 ofc).

i have also had hardlocks using phun on linux in combination with the x3100

Sorry, I made a typo - now instead of no... Silly mistake...


My victim you are meant to be
No, you cannot hide nor flee
You know what I'm looking for
Pleasure your torture, I will endure...

Offline

#17 2008-09-20 23:02:58

FALK
Member
From: Denmark
Registered: 2008-03-24
Posts: 95

Re: Archlinux and Intel X3100

I've had a laptop with x3100 and one with nvs 140m, I prefer the x3100. Better 2d-performance, no need to rebuild for each kernel and much better battery life. Also a plus being able to control external screen via xrandr instead of nvidia-config.

Offline

#18 2008-09-21 07:00:14

INCSlayer
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2007-09-06
Posts: 296
Website

Re: Archlinux and Intel X3100

andre.ramaciotti wrote:
INCSlayer wrote:

i have also had hardlocks using phun on linux in combination with the x3100

Always or randomly?

always but the time before the hardlock varies it will come faster the more complex the simulation is.

to clarify i can ofcourse shut it(phun) of before a hardlock occurs without any consquence but otherwise it will hardlock

Last edited by INCSlayer (2008-09-21 07:02:49)


In Life or Death no one Shall have what is Black Jack Lee's

windoze: "for people that can't spell windows"

Offline

#19 2008-10-03 20:00:33

kaczor1984
Member
Registered: 2008-10-03
Posts: 4

Re: Archlinux and Intel X3100

Hello Archers,
Could anyone tell me why compositing doesn't seem to work on my X3100?
When i turn on compositing in KDE4 the screen gets white with visible only borders of windows (or rather their shadows).
Here is my xorg.conf:

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier      "NTT base config"
    Screen          0               "BaseScreen"        0       0
    Screen          1               "ExtendedScreen"    Below   "BaseScreen"
    InputDevice     "IntegratedKeyboard" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice     "Touchpad"      "CorePointer"
    InputDevice     "USB Mouse"     "SendCoreEvents"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
    Option     "AllowMouseOpenFail"  "true"
    Option     "AIGLX"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier          "BaseScreen"
    Device              "IntelX3100"
    Monitor             "LVDS"
    DefaultColorDepth   24
    SubSection "Display"
        ViewPort        0       0
        Virtual         2048    2048
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier          "ExtendedScreen"
    Device              "IntelX3100VGA"
    Monitor             "VGA"
    DefaultColorDepth   24
    SubSection "Display"
        ViewPort        0       800
    Virtual         2048    2048
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier          "IntelX3100"
    Driver              "intel"
    VendorName          "Intel Corporation"
    BoardName           "Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller"
    BusID               "PCI:0:2:0"

    Option     "DRI"                       "true"
    #Option     "ShowCache"                 # [<bool>]
    #Option     "XvMCSurfaces"             "6" # <i> 6 lub 7
    #Option     "PageFlip"
    Option     "AccelMethod"               "EXA"
    Option     "MigrationHeuristic"        "greedy"
    Option     "ExaNoComposite"            "false"
    #Option     "MonitorLayout"             "NONE,LFP+CRT"
    #Option     "DevicePrescence"           "true"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier          "IntelX3100VGA"
    Driver              "intel"
    VendorName          "Intel Corporation"
    BoardName           "Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller"
    BusID               "PCI:0:2:1"

    Option     "DRI"                       "true"
    Option     "AccelMethod"               "exa"
    Option     "MigrationHeuristic"        "greedy"
    Option     "ExaNoComposite"            "false"
EndSection

Section "DRI"
    Group       "video"
    Mode        0666
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    #DisplaySize        260     160     # mm
    Identifier          "LVDS"
    VendorName          "AUO"
    ModelName           "3314"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    #DisplaySize        320     240     # mm
    Identifier          "VGA"
    VendorName          "PTS"
    ModelName           "miro P17F98i"
    ### Comment all HorizSync and VertRefresh values to use DDC:
    HorizSync    30.0 - 98.0
    VertRefresh  50.0 - 160.0
    Option      "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Files"
    RgbPath     "/usr/share/X11/rgb"
    ModulePath  "/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
    FontPath    "/usr/share/fonts/misc:unscaled"
    FontPath    "/usr/share/fonts/misc"
    FontPath    "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath    "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi"
    FontPath    "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath    "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi"
    FontPath    "/usr/share/fonts/Type1"
    FontPath    "/usr/share/fonts/TTF"
EndSection

Section "Module"
    Load        "extmod"
    Load        "GLcore"
    Load        "record"
    Load        "dri"
    Load        "dbe"
    Load        "xtrap"
    Load        "glx"
    Load        "freetype"
    Load        "synaptics"

EndSection

Section "Extensions"
    Option      "Composite"     "Enable"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier  "Touchpad"
    Driver      "synaptics"
    Option      "Device"        "/dev/input/mouse2"
    Option      "Protocol"      "auto-dev"
    Option      "LeftEdge"      "1000"
    Option      "RightEdge"     "5850"
    Option      "TopEdge"       "330"
    Option      "BottomEdge"    "6050"
    Option      "FingerLow"     "25"
    Option      "FingerHigh"    "30"
    Option      "MaxTapTime"    "180"
    Option      "MaxTapMove"    "220"
    Option      "VertScrollDelta" "100"
    Option      "MinSpeed"      "0.06"
    Option      "MaxSpeed"      "0.12"
    Option      "AccelFactor"   "0.0010"
    Option      "SHMConfig"     "on"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier      "USB Mouse"
    Driver          "mouse"
    Option          "Device"            "/dev/input/mice"
    Option          "Protocol"          "ImPS/2"
    Option          "ZAxisMapping"      "4 5"
    Option          "Buttons"           "5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier      "IntegratedKeyboard"
    Driver          "kbd"
    Option          "XkbLayout"         "pl"
EndSection

Offline

#20 2008-12-06 10:31:15

honorguard
Member
Registered: 2008-10-15
Posts: 40

Re: Archlinux and Intel X3100

Hello,
I have this card and I have big problems with it. I'm not sure if it is a good card... In previous version of drivers I can't run compiz or accelerated kwin. Now kwin works, compiz I didn't tried. But drivers are really slowly against previous drivers and lot of native games what I played before don't work (exactly, Frets on Fire, Warzone 2100...) and in some games (what I play proffesional :-\) fell down fps from 40-50 to 20-30 (Urban Terror, War&Saw). I tried Ubuntu, Debian, Gentoo and Arch and I can't run every game over wine! everitime it's get freeze and I must restart x-server / computer, in every application what needs acceleration.

Why it works for other people?


IBM/Lenovo R61i
Intel core 2 duo 1024MB RAM 120GB HDD
Archlinux 64bit KDEmod 4
without Windows

Offline

#21 2008-12-06 23:59:55

linko
Member
From: Mississippi
Registered: 2008-12-06
Posts: 16

Re: Archlinux and Intel X3100

I've got this chip in my Thinkpad X61, and If I had a choice of this chip, over an Nvidia, I'd go Nvidia.  The Intel graphics drivers don't work near as well in Linux as they do in Windows.  I've never had problems with Nvidia chips in Linux.

Offline

#22 2008-12-25 13:34:56

honorguard
Member
Registered: 2008-10-15
Posts: 40

Re: Archlinux and Intel X3100

On my last computer I had Nvidia Geforce mx400 and I had a sleep problems, but better then problems with everything except sleeping...


IBM/Lenovo R61i
Intel core 2 duo 1024MB RAM 120GB HDD
Archlinux 64bit KDEmod 4
without Windows

Offline

#23 2008-12-25 13:49:19

andre.ramaciotti
Member
From: Brazil
Registered: 2007-04-06
Posts: 649

Re: Archlinux and Intel X3100

I'm really in doubt with it. There seems to be mixed opinions about intel's gpu and driver.

The other option would be nvidia, but I'm a little afraid of buying nvidia's hardware again, since they nomore support their legacy drivers and I can't fully use my old TNT2 anymore.


(lambda ())

Offline

#24 2008-12-28 13:52:37

stefanwilkens
Member
From: Enschede, the Netherlands
Registered: 2008-12-10
Posts: 624

Re: Archlinux and Intel X3100

x3100 issues currently:

Performance problems with teh latest intel drivers / xorg. Intel is making use of a new feature that hasn't been included with the kernel. It will be available with 2.6.28 which just hit [testing]. It should be in [core] fairly soon and bring performance back to the level it was.

Tearing. The intel xorg driver produces heavy tearing on the x3100. There are fixes for programs but the overall fix will have to come from intel.

Aside from those issues it's a great card with good support and good performance in composite mode. Video playback is smooth, gaming works well and the imfamous compiz runs smooth.

@kaczor1984: as root

xorg -configure

<- this recreates a new xorg.conf for you.

be sure to backup your old xorg.conf.

Last edited by stefanwilkens (2008-12-28 13:52:51)


Arch i686 on Phenom X4 | GTX760

Offline

#25 2009-01-03 20:15:42

honorguard
Member
Registered: 2008-10-15
Posts: 40

Re: Archlinux and Intel X3100

I have installed kernel 2.6.28 and latest drivers from repo and that error is still there... Not working wine, lot of games not running, or freezing, all falling fps. Hate intel...


IBM/Lenovo R61i
Intel core 2 duo 1024MB RAM 120GB HDD
Archlinux 64bit KDEmod 4
without Windows

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB