You are not logged in.

#1 2004-07-08 20:42:41

cjdj
Member
From: Perth, Western Australia
Registered: 2004-05-07
Posts: 121

Default xfree86 settings

When I install KDE and then run it, without creating an /etc/X11/XF86Config file I get nice fonts, nice resolution and everything.  In fact, everything is pretty much perfect except my scroll wheel on my mouse doesnt work.

In order to fix the scrollwheel thing, I need to edit the XF86Config file and add a few lines.  But I dont have a XF86Config file.  When I use the one created by hwd my resolution is stuck at 1024x768 and the fonts look like crap.  If I create one with XF86config, I have a similar problem, resolution is never right, and the again the fonts look like crap. 

How can I grab a copy of the 'default' config that doesnt seem to exist and put it in a XF86Config file so that I can edit it and make my scroll bar work?

Offline

#2 2004-07-08 21:09:44

Net@Worm
Member
From: Moscow, Russia
Registered: 2004-05-02
Posts: 214

Re: Default xfree86 settings

Section "InputDevice"
# Identifier and driver
    Identifier  "Mouse0"
    Driver      "mouse"
    Option "Protocol"    "IMPS/2"
    Option "Device"      "/dev/input/mice"
    Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
EndSection

Offline

#3 2004-07-08 21:37:28

cjdj
Member
From: Perth, Western Australia
Registered: 2004-05-07
Posts: 121

Re: Default xfree86 settings

Thanks, but thats not really what I meant.  I already knew thats what I need to put in the XF86Config file.  The thing is, I dont already have one.  When I start up KDE without a config file it comes up in 1600x1200 resolution and the fonts are nice and such.

If I create a XF86Config file either with hwd or with xf86config, then when I start KDE it is at 1024x768 and the fonts are plain and ugly.

snapshot1.png

This image shows an application when I do not have an /etc/X11/XF86Config file.   It is in 1600x1200 resolution and looks quite good.

snapshot2.png

This image is of the same application, but this time I have created an /etc/X11/XF86Config file.  It is in 1024*768 resolution so the physical size of the fonts is about the same, but looks quite bad.

Since KDE seems to do a pretty good job of picking resolution and font stuff without me creating a config file, I would like to use those settings.  But since I need to edit the file to make my mouse work properly, I would like to create one that is the same as what KDE seems to use when it doesnt actually have one.

I'm still not sure I'm conveying what I mean.  But basically, if you look at the images above, the first one in the high resolution looks much better than the second one in low resolution, and I cant seem to get an XF86Config file to use the high resolution, I can only seem to get that if I dont even have an XF86Config file.

Is it using some other default XF86Config file somewhere else in the system?[/code]

Offline

#4 2004-07-08 22:14:36

lytez
Member
Registered: 2003-11-28
Posts: 16
Website

Re: Default xfree86 settings

Try using imwheel it is a daemon that runs in the background while X is running.


.: lytez :.

Offline

#5 2004-07-09 00:07:36

slackhack
Member
Registered: 2004-06-30
Posts: 738

Re: Default xfree86 settings

why not just add the 1600x1200 resolution to the XF86Config file when you are configuring your mouse wheel?

Offline

#6 2004-07-09 05:10:59

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: Default xfree86 settings

there is no reason not to have as good a set of displayed fonts etc with a made up config file. you just have to know what to enter. the real question is how you can even enter x without a config file at all. i have NEVER beenable to do that in any distro.


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#7 2004-07-09 06:24:13

dpb
Member
From: Cyperspace?
Registered: 2004-04-11
Posts: 231

Re: Default xfree86 settings

sarah31 wrote:

the real question is how you can even enter x without a config file at all. i have NEVER beenable to do that in any distro.

XFree86 4.4 and x.org guesses the config stuff if there isn't a config file.

Offline

#8 2004-07-09 06:51:59

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,263

Re: Default xfree86 settings

if you have problem with fonts
try this DisplaySize X Y in monitor section
X= width in millimeters
Y=height in millimeters and all should be alright
i recommend you to use a XF86config because
where should X find custom fonts,input devices etc.?
should look like this and all my font problems are gone
Section "Monitor"
    Identifier   "Monitor0"
    DisplaySize  305 230

Offline

#9 2004-07-09 09:51:30

Leigh
Member
From: USA
Registered: 2004-06-25
Posts: 533

Re: Default xfree86 settings

I had some really messed up fonts and played around with my xf86config-4 file alot. I don't know if this will help you but here's a copy of my xf86config-4 file. I would only use it as a reference since my system is probably alot different than yours and I changed alot of things
in it and it may not be politically correct smile  I'm also using dual monitors with two graphics
cards and I use a 800 by 600 resolution with large monitors.

Section "Module"


    Load        "dbe"      # Double buffer extension
    Load        "v4l" # Video for Linux
    Load    "ddc"
    Load                                   "GLcore"
    Load                                      "dri"
    Load    "extmod"
    Load    "glx"
    Load    "record"
    Load    "bitmap"
    Load    "vbe"
    Load    "int10"


    SubSection  "extmod"
      #Option    "omit xfree86-dga"   # don't initialise the DGA extension
    EndSubSection

    Load        "type1"
    Load        "speedo"
    Load        "freetype"

EndSection


Section "Files"

    RgbPath    "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
   

# The module search path.  The default path is shown here.

    ModulePath "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules"

    FontPath "unix/:7100"
    FontPath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/TrueType/"
    FontPath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/freefont/"
    FontPath     "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/local"
    FontPath     "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/misc"
    FontPath     "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath     "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath     "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Speedo"
    FontPath     "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Type1"
    FontPath     "/usr/local/share/fonts"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts"
    FontPath     "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts"
    FontPath     "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/cyrillic"
    FontPath     "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/TTF"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"

EndSection


Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier    "Default Keyboard"
    Driver        "keyboard"
    Option        "CoreKeyboard"
                    Option        "XkbRules"    "xfree86"
    Option        "XkbModel"    "pc104"
    Option        "XkbLayout"    "us"
                    Option "XkbOptions" ""
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier    "Default Mouse"
    Driver        "mouse"
    Option        "CorePointer"
    Option        "Device"        "/dev/input/mice"
    Option        "Protocol"        "IMPS/2"
    Option        "Emulate3Buttons"    "true"
    Option        "ZAxisMapping"        "4 5"
EndSection


Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "monitor1"
    VendorName "NEC"
    ModelName "NEC MultiSync FE1250"
    HorizSync 31.0-110.0
    VertRefresh 50.0-160.0

    # Sony Vaio C1(X,XS,VE,VN)?
    # 1024x480 @ 85.6 Hz, 48 kHz hsync
    ModeLine "1024x480"    65.00 1024 1032 1176 1344   480  488  494  563 -hsync -vsync

    # TV fullscreen mode or DVD fullscreen output.
    # 768x576 @ 79 Hz, 50 kHz hsync
    ModeLine "768x576"     50.00  768  832  846 1000   576  590  595  630

    # 768x576 @ 100 Hz, 61.6 kHz hsync
    ModeLine "768x576"     63.07  768  800  960 1024   576  578  590  616
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "monitor2"
        HorizSync 30.0-86.0
        VertRefresh 50.0-150.0
    # Sony Vaio C1(X,XS,VE,VN)?
    # 1024x480 @ 85.6 Hz, 48 kHz hsync
    ModeLine "1024x480"    65.00 1024 1032 1176 1344   480  488  494  563 -hsync -vsync

    # TV fullscreen mode or DVD fullscreen output.
    # 768x576 @ 79 Hz, 50 kHz hsync
    ModeLine "768x576"     50.00  768  832  846 1000   576  590  595  630

    # 768x576 @ 100 Hz, 61.6 kHz hsync
    ModeLine "768x576"     63.07  768  800  960 1024   576  578  590  616
EndSection

# **********************************************************************
# Graphics device section
# **********************************************************************

# Any number of graphics device sections may be present

# Standard VGA Device:

Section "Device"
    Identifier "device1"
    VendorName "nVidia Corporation"
    BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce3 (generic)"
    Driver "nvidia"
    Screen 0
    BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
    Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier "device2"
    VendorName "nVidia Corporation"
    BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce2 DDR (generic)"
    Driver "nvidia"
    Screen 0
    BusID "PCI:2:9:0"
    Option "DPMS"
EndSection


Section "Screen"
    Identifier "screen1"
    Device "device1"
    Monitor "monitor1"
    DefaultColorDepth 24

    Subsection "Display"
        Depth 8
        Virtual 800 600
    EndSubsection

    Subsection "Display"
        Depth 15
        Virtual 800 600
    EndSubsection

    Subsection "Display"
        Depth 16
        Virtual 800 600
    EndSubsection

    Subsection "Display"
        Depth 24
        Virtual 800 600
    EndSubsection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier "screen2"
    Device "device2"
    Monitor "monitor2"
    DefaultColorDepth 24

    Subsection "Display"
        Depth 8
        Virtual 800 600
    EndSubsection

    Subsection "Display"
        Depth 15
        Virtual 800 600
    EndSubsection

    Subsection "Display"
        Depth 16
        Virtual 800 600
    EndSubsection

    Subsection "Display"
        Depth 24
        Virtual 800 600
    EndSubsection
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
#    Identifier    "DualHead"
#    Identifier    "Multi Head"
Identifier "layout1"
    Screen "screen1"
        Screen "screen2" LeftOf "screen1"
       #Option "Xinerama"
    InputDevice    "Default Keyboard"
    InputDevice    "Default Mouse"
EndSection

Section "DRI"
   Mode 0666
EndSection


If anyone see's anything I could improve with this file I'd love any advice or input on
improving it. setting up dual screens was a bear and even though everything works I still run
into opengl issues on the secondary gfprce2 screen.


-- archlinux 是一个极好的 linux

Offline

#10 2004-07-09 09:59:15

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,263

Re: Default xfree86 settings

@leigh
i would recommend you to disable
LOAD DRI and LOAD GLCORE that would explain your opengl errors
and the DRI section i would also disable
because you use nvidia drivers

and also i would recommend to use display size in monitor section
then all your fonts will be displayed the the same size on all monitors
see one post from me before

Offline

#11 2004-07-09 13:41:09

cjdj
Member
From: Perth, Western Australia
Registered: 2004-05-07
Posts: 121

Re: Default xfree86 settings

Excellent!  Thanks guys, I'm currently building a new XF86Config file based on what xf86config creates and what Leigh posted.   Also, I decided to look at the log file that xfree86 creates, and when I dont use a config file it actually logs what it is guessing.  So with that information I should be able to get my high-resolution modes to work.

[/quote]

Offline

#12 2004-07-09 15:44:46

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: Default xfree86 settings

I didn't know x.org and xfree 4.4 guessed at configs.

What happens if you create a config file that has just the mouse options in it and nothing else? will it guess at all the other options?

just curious...


Dusty

Offline

#13 2004-07-09 17:29:06

slackhack
Member
Registered: 2004-06-30
Posts: 738

Re: Default xfree86 settings

i didn't know that either, but now it explains why when i was playing around with removing/installing xfree/xorg and back again, the gui would launch even when i hadn't moved the XF86Config/xorg.conf file from one to the other yet. that was really freaking me out! tongue

Offline

#14 2004-07-09 17:30:47

cjdj
Member
From: Perth, Western Australia
Registered: 2004-05-07
Posts: 121

Re: Default xfree86 settings

Dusty wrote:

What happens if you create a config file that has just the mouse options in it and nothing else? will it guess at all the other options?

Actually that was one of the first things I tried, and it doesnt work.  sad

Offline

#15 2004-07-09 20:56:53

xerxes2
Member
From: Malmoe, Sweden
Registered: 2004-04-23
Posts: 1,249
Website

Re: Default xfree86 settings

I know that xorg is looking for xfrees conf file if it not finds it's own but I didn't know that you can start x without a conf at all.
Are you sure of that?


arch + gentoo + initng + python = enlisy

Offline

#16 2004-07-09 21:58:29

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: Default xfree86 settings

xerxes2 wrote:

I know that xorg is looking for xfrees conf file if it not finds it's own but I didn't know that you can start x without a conf at all.
Are you sure of that?

why would you ask without trying it?

Offline

#17 2004-07-10 18:51:04

xerxes2
Member
From: Malmoe, Sweden
Registered: 2004-04-23
Posts: 1,249
Website

Re: Default xfree86 settings

maybe because I'm a Wimp.
ok, I tried.
xorg starts up with standard conf. us keyboard and the mouse wheel doesn't work.  big_smile
The funny thing is that xorg doesn't start when there is syntax errors in the conf file.


arch + gentoo + initng + python = enlisy

Offline

#18 2004-07-10 19:22:27

Leigh
Member
From: USA
Registered: 2004-06-25
Posts: 533

Re: Default xfree86 settings

tpowa wrote:

@leigh
i would recommend you to disable
LOAD DRI and LOAD GLCORE that would explain your opengl errors
and the DRI section i would also disable
because you use nvidia drivers

and also i would recommend to use display size in monitor section
then all your fonts will be displayed the the same size on all monitors
see one post from me before

I did what you suggested but I still have opengl problems on the secondary monitor. If I try
to run anything that uses opengl on that monitor my system locks up. Also xine bombs out
if I try to play a dvd on the secondary monitor, but Mplayer works fine on both monitors. I
like xine much better. Xine trys to play but ends up with an error saying too many dropped
frames and not enough memory. If i use xine on the primary i have no problems. I tried all
the solutions on the xine faq page for tweaking xine settings. I don't think it's xine but
somthing wrong with how my system is set up. My secondary monitor uses a Gforce2
pci card.


-- archlinux 是一个极好的 linux

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB