You are not logged in.

#1 2008-09-25 05:24:13

muunleit

[SOLVED] How to use LaTex?

Hey Archers

I would like to learn and use LaTex, but I can't figure out how I get something like pdf or anything else print- and e-mail-able out of the tex-file in arch.
Which programms do I need?

(I want to try to write by hand, so not to start with lyx)

regards
muunleit

Last edited by muunleit (2008-09-25 06:24:34)

"The mind can make a heaven out of hell or a hell out of heaven" -- John Milton

#2 2008-09-25 06:00:33

fwojciec

Re: [SOLVED] How to use LaTex?

Your question is a bit like "how to use html?"

Anyways, here is one good guide to get you started: http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/LaTeX
Have a look at the Absolute Beginners section for info on the commands used to compile tex documents.
And in case you haven't yet installed texlive, have a look here: http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Texlive

#3 2008-09-25 06:08:58

pseudonomous

dvipdf, dvips will convert dvi files to pdf, ps respectively, I would think these are in texlive-core. or texlive-bin. 

I personally would strongly recommend Kile or maybe Texmaker or at least emacs w/ auctex if you're going to be writing a lot of TeX documents.  Texmaker is probably more beginner friendly, I think it displays icons for common symbols ... it's not like lyx which generally hides the actual LaTeX code, I guess it's what you call a LaTeX IDE.  If you click the "sum" icon, it will spit out the proper code $\sum_{}^{}$ for writing a sum in sigma notation.  It also provides a menu and/or keyboard shortcut driven interface with the compiling program.  It also does syntax highlighting.