You are not logged in.

#1 2008-09-29 01:29:27

JawsThemeSwimming428

Trouble installing gnomad2

Hello, I am somewhat new to using Arch full time on the desktop. I have played around with it for a few months here and there. I have my system almost setup but I am having trouble installing gnomad for my Creative Zen MP3 player. I am not sure how to go about this, I have never installed using makepkg. I read the wiki and tried to search for some helpful posts but am still having some trouble. Can someone give me a hand? How do I go about installing gnomad?

#2 2008-09-29 02:02:08

Misfit138
Misfit Emeritus

Re: Trouble installing gnomad2

It's in the AUR.
Here is a step-by-step quickstart.
If you have any trouble, post back here and we should be able to straighten you right out. wink
Once you've done it, you'll see how simple it is. wink

#3 2008-09-29 02:33:17

JawsThemeSwimming428

Thanks for the quick response. I read the guide and followed along... I downloaded the tarball from the AUR, extracted it with tar, went into the gnomad folder and ran makepkg -cs. I am not sure what is meant by build directory? Is it just a directory I create to hold gnomad? How do I go about creating one? Sorry, once again I am pretty inexperienced but if someone walks me through it once I should be fine. Also, the package I downloaded from AUR does not have a PKGBUILD file in it. Not sure why that is?

#4 2008-10-02 02:47:02

Misfit138
Misfit Emeritus

You're not following directions. tongue
Download the TARBALL. It DOES have a PKGBUILD inside, I just checked.
The build directory is any directory you wish to use, to build the package. Just copy the PKGBUILD to it.

#5 2008-10-03 03:10:51

JawsThemeSwimming428

I must be doing something very wrong... I downloaded the tar.gz from the AUR and extracted it and found no PKGBUILD in it. I will go back and re-read the how to and get see if I can figure it out.

#6 2008-10-03 05:06:56

dav7