You are not logged in.

#1 2008-10-14 11:31:07

chochem
Member
From: Denmark
Registered: 2008-03-02
Posts: 176
Website

2.6.27 and gspcav

Supposedly the gspcav driver (for webcams) is somehow integrated into the kernel in .27. Upgrading asked me to remove the gspcav1 package and I did. Now when I boot I get an error from the gspcav module in my rc.conf and if I remove it and just insert the webcam, all that gets registered (dmesg) is a generic usb thingy:

usb 2-1: new full speed USB device using ohci_hcd and address 2
usb 2-1: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice

How do I start the module now? BTW I have MOD_AUTOLOAD="no" in the rc.conf and a complete list of the modules I use in the modules array, if that's important.

Offline

#2 2008-10-14 12:17:13

tigrmesh
IRC Op
From: Florida, US
Registered: 2007-12-11
Posts: 794

Re: 2.6.27 and gspcav

Try changing MOD_AUTOLOAD to "yes" temporarily to see what module gets loaded for it.

Offline

#3 2008-10-14 12:47:41

chochem
Member
From: Denmark
Registered: 2008-03-02
Posts: 176
Website

Re: 2.6.27 and gspcav

tigrmesh wrote:

Try changing MOD_AUTOLOAD to "yes" temporarily to see what module gets loaded for it.

Of course. I added gspca_main and gspca_zc3xx and it works. Well, it registers the webcam and adds device nodes (/dev/video0 and /dev/audio2). However, the output is just junk. VLC displays it as strange green noise when I point it to the device, Cheese gives me a 'tv test image' and Flash just shows a black screen.

Offline

#4 2008-10-14 13:08:06

Rydgel
Member
From: France
Registered: 2008-09-04
Posts: 163
Website

Re: 2.6.27 and gspcav

SAme problem here.

Offline

#5 2008-10-14 14:23:27

chochem
Member
From: Denmark
Registered: 2008-03-02
Posts: 176
Website

Re: 2.6.27 and gspcav

Rydgel wrote:

SAme problem here.

What is your webcam and your driver, Rydgel? Mine's a Logitech QuickCam Communicate STX (or something like that - threw away the box smile and  - apparently - uses the gspca_zc3xx driver. Googling for that name throws up a bunch of references to some unspecified problem or other (gspca_zc3xx oops - 2.6.27-rc1) but whatever it is, it should apparently have been fixed already...

Offline

#6 2008-10-14 14:51:22

chochem
Member
From: Denmark
Registered: 2008-03-02
Posts: 176
Website

Re: 2.6.27 and gspcav

Offline

#7 2008-10-14 17:11:22

quetzyg
Member
From: /home/quetzyg
Registered: 2006-08-03
Posts: 129

Re: 2.6.27 and gspcav

This issue has already been discussed here.


ZzZz...

Offline

#8 2008-10-14 17:14:57

chochem
Member
From: Denmark
Registered: 2008-03-02
Posts: 176
Website

Re: 2.6.27 and gspcav

ups... sorry, must not have searched properly.

Offline

#9 2008-10-14 18:36:53

blasse
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2008-04-24
Posts: 303

Re: 2.6.27 and gspcav


Proud ex-maintainer of firefox-pgo

Offline

#10 2008-10-15 04:20:10

Rhino
Member
Registered: 2007-12-17
Posts: 7
Website

Re: 2.6.27 and gspcav

I posted a solution here.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB