You are not logged in.

#1 2008-10-15 20:37:16

finferflu
Forum Fellow
Website

Electronic beats

I'm a true beginner in the world of music production, and I would like to start off with experimenting some electronic beats, but I am unable to find out how to do it. All I could find so far was Hydrogen, but that is more like a real drumset (I tried applying some effects, but I don't see any change).

Now, you musicians, how do you produce electronic beats on Linux?

(Apologies if this thread sounds nonsensical to the experts)

Thanks for your time smile

Have you Syued today?
Free music for free people! | Earthlings

"Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away." -- A. de Saint-Exupery

#2 2008-10-15 22:09:29

finferflu
Forum Fellow
Website

Re: Electronic beats

Ah, I just found Hydrogen has drumkits, and that's a big step forward... I guess I should start messing with frequences and stuff now...

Any other suggestions are always welcome smile

Have you Syued today?
Free music for free people! | Earthlings

"Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away." -- A. de Saint-Exupery

#3 2008-10-15 22:38:58

peets
Website

I'd be interested in this as well.

I guess there's two ways to go:
1. Use audio samples + eq + effects
2. Use a virtual oscillator and make your own drum sound

Either way, the part that's still very mysterious to me is how to most easily arrange them in time. You know, the "beat" part.

#4 2008-10-15 22:41:16

haxit
Website

FruityLoops is really good.

Archi686 User | Old Screenshots | Old .Configs
Vi veri universum vivus vici.

#5 2008-10-15 23:12:35

coarseSand

And also Windows only, not sure about its Wine capability. Arduous may also be worth looking at, but I haven't dug into the program very much.

vim? EMACS? Pssh, I code in Scribus.

#6 2008-10-15 23:14:56

Wintervenom