You are not logged in.

#2701 2010-12-08 17:36:00

Revolt
Member
From: Portugal
Registered: 2009-06-11
Posts: 71
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Just discovered my issue isn't actually related to suspension. If I change to a tty and then back to xorg it will also stop responding with a black screen after the 2nd time.

Offline

#2702 2010-12-08 18:23:30

LeCrayonVert
Member
Registered: 2010-09-01
Posts: 133

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Have you disabled KMS ? (it needs to be disabled with the proprietary driver)


I believe in a world I can and do understand. A rational universe, explained through rational means.

Offline

#2703 2010-12-08 22:24:11

Revolt
Member
From: Portugal
Registered: 2009-06-11
Posts: 71
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Yes I had disabled it (nomodeset=0 both at modprobe and boot line).

Offline

#2704 2010-12-09 07:47:10

snack
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2009-01-13
Posts: 672

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Revolt wrote:

Yes I had disabled it (nomodeset=0 both at modprobe and boot line).

AFAIK, on the bootline you have  to add only "nomodeset".

Offline

#2705 2010-12-09 19:37:07

Revolt
Member
From: Portugal
Registered: 2009-06-11
Posts: 71
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Well, point is I had it disabled. Just installed 2.6.37rc5 and using the open source drivers and I must say the powersave is on par with the official drivers (atleast for me).
Some compiz animations are quite sluggish but most work rather fine. Loving the development on that end big_smile

Offline

#2706 2010-12-09 21:50:15

LeCrayonVert
Member
Registered: 2010-09-01
Posts: 133

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Revolt wrote:

Well, point is I had it disabled. Just installed 2.6.37rc5 and using the open source drivers and I must say the powersave is on par with the official drivers (atleast for me).
Some compiz animations are quite sluggish but most work rather fine. Loving the development on that end big_smile

That's interesting...you mean the powersave is better with 2.6.37 than before ? I mean is http://www.phoronix.com/forums/showpost … tcount=167 fixed ?


I believe in a world I can and do understand. A rational universe, explained through rational means.

Offline

#2707 2010-12-09 23:30:25

Revolt
Member
From: Portugal
Registered: 2009-06-11
Posts: 71
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

My measurements were made in regard to battery life not fan speed. Though I didn't notice anything out of the ordinary on that end.

I can't say if 2.6.37 is any better than 2.6.36 regarding battery life since I jumped directly over to the 2.6.37RC5 from 2.6.35 (where I started having the same problems I had with catalyst+2.6.36) but it certainly doesn't hurt!

Some posts at phoronix claim that the 2.6.37 has improved in-kernel powersaving for KMS radeon. Here's the whole thread (notice the thread starter had the same problem as me)  http://www.phoronix.com/forums/showthread.php?t=27308

Offline

#2708 2010-12-10 17:47:30

Vighi
Member
Registered: 2008-08-16
Posts: 16

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Just wondering if anyone else has experienced what is happening to me right now.

When I start ACCC I instantly get logged out. Same thing happens when i try to run VLC. Anyone who knows what can cause this? Running the latest Catalyst and utils from AUR.

Offline

#2709 2010-12-10 18:31:12

dcc24
Member
Registered: 2009-10-31
Posts: 723

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Everybody seems to have suspend/hibernation problems. Both of those work fine for me, but I still have to following extremely annoying problem. Does anyone have ANY ideas, at all?

dcc24 wrote:

Hi guys. After a long long time, I'm back to using catalyst due to massive heating problems with the radeon driver. I'm using catalyst-utils-10.11-1 and xorg-server-1.9.2-2. The problem is, whenever I try to view a fullscreen flash video, the entire display gets corrupted. 99% of the screen becomes black, there is only a 5 - 10px high corrupted (though visible) area on the very top section of the screen. The system is still responsive though, I can - without any visual help - open up a terminal and execute commands. Even killing X (with "sudo killall X") doesn't help, tty's are corrupted as well. Only a hard reboot fixes it.

Any idea what might be wrong?


It is better to keep your mouth shut and be thought a fool than to open it and remove all doubt. (Mark Twain)

My AUR packages

Offline

#2710 2010-12-13 17:22:42

Radioactiveman
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2010-05-13
Posts: 376

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

10.12 released: Download

No changelog yet.

Offline

#2711 2010-12-13 17:51:46

Apollo Costa
Member
From: German
Registered: 2010-01-27
Posts: 27

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

No support for the HD68XX Series.... fail ATI !!


The build with the PKGBUILD from AUR works fine.

Last edited by Apollo Costa (2010-12-13 17:52:45)

Offline

#2712 2010-12-13 22:45:47

Vi0L0
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2009-06-24
Posts: 1,305
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

AUR and [catalyst] repo were updated to 10.12

It's another boring release ;P

Quoting phoronix:

a few fixes, and perhaps the only interesting change worth noting are improvements to the GLX_EXT_texture_from_pixmap extension. With the GLX_EXT_texture_from_pixmap improvements, the GNOME 3.0 desktop experience may be better with Mutter, among other compositing window managers.

The fixes include Qt textures being white in some cases, a X segmentation fault, fixes for Unigine Heaven, and other minor work.

Something that 10.12 preview had:
- adjust power settings to increase battery life


catalyst 10.12 preview Windows release got:
- support for opengl 4.1
- (ofcourse) support for radeons series 6xxx

I'm wondering why AMD didn't add those important features into linux release... <sigh>
Tomorrow is the day of radeons 69xx premiere - thank you AMD for your great linux support! yeeeey ;P

Offline

#2713 2010-12-14 03:17:34

ChaosTheory
Member
Registered: 2010-12-04
Posts: 2

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

**Copied from original post, wasn't getting any responses**

I am a fairly new Linux user and have tried a few distros and will probably stick with Arch, as I like the whole clean slate concept. I had it up and running with everything working for the most part. A few minor nuisances, but nothing major. Technically I still have it, as that setup is still on a separate hard drive. Anyway, After running it a while and learning more and more about Linux and Arch I decided to reinstall. I decided I would install the Catalyst (fglrx) proprietary drivers as was able to successfully do so from the terminal from the AUR using makepkg, before installing a WM. Installed KDE and lauched X only to get a single terminal window (similar to running startx before KDE was installed but only one window. I tried rebooting and ended up the same way, so I rebooted into safe mode where I got the normal KDE interface I was expecting. After rebooting back into normal mode everything looked ok as the little dialog showed hard drives mounting, etc. but once KDE starts loading I get weird flashing colors on the monitor, the other one is fine. When absolutley nothing is going on it shows right, but opening a window, hovering over a toolbar icon, a window open with something going on in it, or basically anything that causes the display to change (with the exception of moving the mouse) causes funny colors to display. I have a dual screen setup, and before making any changes to anything (running only

$ sudo aticonfig -initial=dual-head
$ sudo aticonfig -v

the color error was only on one screen, the second screen (which was extended, NOT clone) was fine. After running catalyst control and setting it up as a dual display and rebooting it does it on both.
Any suggestions?

Since this I have uninstalled catalyst and reinstalled using

$ yaourt -Sy catalyst catalyst-utils

with the same results. Initial startup is crazy color on one screen, second screen is fine, but unable to do much on the second screen as I can't drag any windows to it. Tried setting it up as Xinerama and that gave me nothing (booted to black screen, almost couldn't get it fixed). Set it up as multiple and both screens are crazy colored. All the effects work, but the colors are nuts! Any help is greatly appreciated.

Offline

#2714 2010-12-15 00:14:21

Mazur
Member
Registered: 2009-06-10
Posts: 103
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Hi, I just step by to ask what is the state of Open Source driver right now for ATI HD5600x? I have currently NVIDIA 8600GT but I would like to come back to ATI card because of some gaming things. Is 2d at least currently supported? Maybe KMS or 3d?

Offline

#2715 2010-12-15 00:21:43

thestinger
Trusted User (TU)
From: Toronto, Canada
Registered: 2010-01-23
Posts: 478

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Mazur wrote:

Hi, I just step by to ask what is the state of Open Source driver right now for ATI HD5600x? I have currently NVIDIA 8600GT but I would like to come back to ATI card because of some gaming things. Is 2d at least currently supported? Maybe KMS or 3d?

Check here: http://www.x.org/wiki/RadeonFeature (5xxx are evergreen).

Offline

#2716 2010-12-16 00:16:32

metzengerstein
Member
Registered: 2010-06-04
Posts: 39

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Mazur wrote:

Hi, I just step by to ask what is the state of Open Source driver right now for ATI HD5600x? I have currently NVIDIA 8600GT but I would like to come back to ATI card because of some gaming things. Is 2d at least currently supported? Maybe KMS or 3d?

I also switched from 8600gt to 5670.
Beside the disabled acceleration (http://lists.x.org/archives/xorg-driver … 16250.html), lacking xv (https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?pid=831782)
and some other problems (https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=108303, https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=108303),
it works really fine... wink

Offline

#2717 2010-12-19 12:40:52

Arathis
Member
Registered: 2009-12-28
Posts: 26

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Does anyone else have quite high temperatures?
I have over 60°C on idle and when running even simple games (braid, revenge of the titans, even xmoto) it rises up to over 93°C which causes the whole machine to shut down.
These are CPU temperatures though I can't manage to retrieve GPU temperatures. And it's a laptop (Acer TravelMate 5730G with a Mobility Radeon HD 3650).
I even jacked it up with some clothpins for better cooling.

I have this problem for some time now with various Catalyst versions. I only remember that with Ubuntu I haven't had such high values, but haven't figured out what Ubuntu does differently.

cpufreq and pm-utils are running and the fan runs faster when temperatures rise.

btw: is this a good place to question this or should I maybe open a new thread anyways? Haven't found satisfying solutions via forum search, wiki or google.

Offline

#2718 2010-12-19 12:50:39

DarksideEE7
Member
From: Arkansas, United States
Registered: 2009-06-06
Posts: 356

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Anyone having trouble getting xvba to work?   U have never been successful.   I Even compiled the latest.  Empower just gives an error 11 and fails to play

Offline

#2719 2010-12-19 12:55:12

dcc24
Member
Registered: 2009-10-31
Posts: 723

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

@Arathis: You can get the GPU temperature using "aticonfig --od-gettemperature"


It is better to keep your mouth shut and be thought a fool than to open it and remove all doubt. (Mark Twain)

My AUR packages

Offline

#2720 2010-12-19 13:07:29

Arathis
Member
Registered: 2009-12-28
Posts: 26

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

@dcc24: I'm getting this then: ERROR - Get temperature failed for the Default Adapter - ATI Mobility Radeon HD 3650

Offline

#2721 2010-12-19 13:13:16

dcc24
Member
Registered: 2009-10-31
Posts: 723

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Arathis wrote:

@dcc24: I'm getting this then: ERROR - Get temperature failed for the Default Adapter - ATI Mobility Radeon HD 3650

That is usually caused by an improperly compiled fglrx kernel module or a corrupt ati db.

Try deleting and rebuilding amdpcsdb  (see the "installation" part of the wiki article).


It is better to keep your mouth shut and be thought a fool than to open it and remove all doubt. (Mark Twain)

My AUR packages

Offline

#2722 2010-12-19 13:56:56

Arathis
Member
Registered: 2009-12-28
Posts: 26

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

I'm using the [catalyst] repo and uninstalled catalyst, catalyst-utils, lib32-catalyst-utils, deleted amdpcsdb, rebooted and reinstalled everything and afterwards opened amdcccle. Still the same error.

And while being without a DE my cpu-temp still was high at 75°C hmm I had laptop-mode-tools uninstalled before reboot though for testing reasons, so not a very significant statement.

Offline

#2723 2010-12-20 01:39:23

stlifey
Member
Registered: 2010-08-07
Posts: 7

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Arathis wrote:

I'm using the [catalyst] repo and uninstalled catalyst, catalyst-utils, lib32-catalyst-utils, deleted amdpcsdb, rebooted and reinstalled everything and afterwards opened amdcccle. Still the same error.

And while being without a DE my cpu-temp still was high at 75°C hmm I had laptop-mode-tools uninstalled before reboot though for testing reasons, so not a very significant statement.

In my notebook have the same issue
sudo aticonfig --odgt
ERROR - Get temperature failed for the Default Adapter - ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4500 Series

Offline

#2724 2010-12-20 08:12:07

CmdKewin
Member
Registered: 2010-09-01
Posts: 6

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

stlifey wrote:
Arathis wrote:

I'm using the [catalyst] repo and uninstalled catalyst, catalyst-utils, lib32-catalyst-utils, deleted amdpcsdb, rebooted and reinstalled everything and afterwards opened amdcccle. Still the same error.

And while being without a DE my cpu-temp still was high at 75°C hmm I had laptop-mode-tools uninstalled before reboot though for testing reasons, so not a very significant statement.

In my notebook have the same issue
sudo aticonfig --odgt
ERROR - Get temperature failed for the Default Adapter - ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4500 Series

From my knowledge, the temperature sensors are simply not available on Mobility Radeon cards, not even on windows. No definitive literature, just practical experience.
The only way I've found to actually get the GPU temperature was through the acpi -V command:

(.conkyrc)

GPU: ${alignr}${exec acpi -V | grep -i "Thermal 5: ok" | cut -c16-19}${iconv_start UTF-8 ISO_8859-1}°${iconv_stop}C

Offline

#2725 2010-12-20 08:15:52

dcc24
Member
Registered: 2009-10-31
Posts: 723

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

CmdKewin wrote:

From my knowledge, the temperature sensors are simply not available on Mobility Radeon cards, not even on windows. No definitive literature, just practical experience.

Not true. Here's the output from my Mobility Radeon HD4330:

$ aticonfig --od-gettemperature

Default Adapter - ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4300 Series
                  Sensor 0: Temperature - 62.00 C

It is better to keep your mouth shut and be thought a fool than to open it and remove all doubt. (Mark Twain)

My AUR packages

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB