You are not logged in.

#4776 2013-02-12 13:09:21

snufkin
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2008-11-08
Posts: 71

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Huh? I upgraded to 3.7.6 yesterday, and this morning I booted into fallback graphics. Downgraded to 3.7.5 again and everything works fine again.

Could it be that I'm using the regular hd234k from the repo (i.e. not -hook)?

Last edited by snufkin (2013-02-12 13:09:57)

Offline

#4777 2013-02-12 13:40:41

siavashserver
Member
From: Tehran, Iran
Registered: 2011-02-11
Posts: 73

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

snufkin wrote:

Huh? I upgraded to 3.7.6 yesterday, and this morning I booted into fallback graphics. Downgraded to 3.7.5 again and everything works fine again.

Could it be that I'm using the regular hd234k from the repo (i.e. not -hook)?

You need to install both catalyst-utils and catalyst-hook packages in order to automatically regenerate the required kernel module on each kernel update, and make sure to install and update linux-headers before updating your kernel to build fglrx module for your kernel successfully. Simply install these packages :

pacman -S catalyst-hook catalyst-utils
pacman -S acpid
systemctl enable atieventsd

And to regenerate the module (In case something went wrong) :

mkinitcpio -p linux

And on every Catalyst driver update :

rm /etc/ati/amdpcsdb

Check https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/AMD_Catalyst for more details.

Offline

#4778 2013-02-12 14:15:02

omeringen
Member
Registered: 2012-05-28
Posts: 109

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Okay i opened a detailed topic about my issue : https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=157971

Offline

#4779 2013-02-12 15:35:18

Vi0L0
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2009-06-24
Posts: 1,305
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

ok, just get back basement, lets play, first thing to note for s0l1dsnak3123 & saronno: check out if installing acpid helped :>?

Offline

#4780 2013-02-12 15:55:18

saronno
Member
Registered: 2009-10-02
Posts: 116

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

I tried. No results.
I checked the logs .... same old story. sad

Anyway, thanks for the help.

The only little change was that the gears in glxgears doesn't appear right away when you
launch the app but only after you click on the window. But they are still stuck.
Same thing for logs and other app needing 3d rendering.
No compositor, no transparency ... nothing.

What about openGL?

Last edited by saronno (2013-02-12 15:56:28)

Offline

#4781 2013-02-12 16:02:52

s0l1dsnak3123
Member
From: Scotland
Registered: 2008-06-26
Posts: 62
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

I ran

pacman -S catalyst-hook catalyst-utils
pacman -S acpid
systemctl enable atieventsd
mkinitcpio -p linux
rm /etc/ati/amdpcsdb

And I still get that backtrace: https://gist.github.com/4770881

uname -r: 3.7.6-1-ARCH
pacman -Q catalyst-hook: 13.2-1
pacman -Q catalyst-utils: 13.1-1
pacman -Q acpid: 2.0.17-4

Offline

#4782 2013-02-12 16:15:53

andy_v
Member
From: Estonia
Registered: 2012-04-27
Posts: 31

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

It seems you've installed catalyst-utils from the 'community' repo, but catalyst-hook from Vi0l0's [catalyst] repo. community repo has the latest stable version of catalyst (ie 13.1), whereas [catalyst] now hosts the beta versions of the driver (ie 13.2 beta). The two don't seem to mix well.

Edit:
Make sure that Vi0l0's repo is above all other repos in /etc/pacman.conf. That might be the reason why 'pacman -S catalyst-utils' downloads from 'community' instead of Vi0l0's repository.

Last edited by andy_v (2013-02-12 16:26:35)

Offline

#4783 2013-02-12 16:32:54

Pranavg1890
Member
From: Nagpur,India
Registered: 2012-09-07
Posts: 111

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Hi can someone tell which driver I should use? My card is PowerColor Ati HD7750. I just installed the catalyst binaries from the official repos. But they don't work well with my card. If i use open source , I have no 3d acceleration which means I can't use KDE with Desktop Effects, Gnome Shell(almost unusable with latest open source driver as of now), Cinnamon etc.(2d acceleration works fine on open source driver).Can someone tell me the version of Catalyst which works perfectly with my card.
(The opensource driver seems to be working fine now. Earlier i was left with fbdev or vesa as the only drivers with which I could run my X server. and both of them very slow.).. Please Help.


Using Openbox + Tint2 + Idesk

Offline

#4784 2013-02-12 16:38:36

s0l1dsnak3123
Member
From: Scotland
Registered: 2008-06-26
Posts: 62
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

andy_v: you're a genius. thank you guys!

Offline

#4785 2013-02-12 17:20:48

Vi0L0
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2009-06-24
Posts: 1,305
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Vi0L0 wrote:
omeringen wrote:

//edit : switched to the open source and again to the catalyst. It's fine and this is the second time it works. I'll possibly break like it did before if i do some changes to the desktop effects settings.

Wondering if this bug of working/not working legacy after reboot could be fixed by reverting a patch mentioned by Martin Gräßlin here
I will try to compile such a package later.

Looks like things get better for omeringen, though before it get better i've prepared kdebase-workspace package (wishfully named as kdebase-workspace-catalyst-legacy-fix tongue) which is reverting changes mentioned here and there by Martin Gräßlin. Maybe it will help somebody.
Here's PKGBUILD: http://catalyst.wirephire.com/pkgs/kdeb … src.tar.gz
and x86_64 package: http://catalyst.wirephire.com/pkgs/kdeb … pkg.tar.xz

Pranavg1890 wrote:

Can someone tell me the version of Catalyst which works perfectly with my card.

I'm afraid there's no such thing sad
On my 7850 catalyst 13.1 worked pretty well, now i'm using 13.2 beta 3 which is also fine, maybe check it out? (it's on catalyst-test@AUR or [catalyst] repo)
If not maybe use [catalyst-12.8] & [xorg112] repo

Last edited by Vi0L0 (2013-02-12 17:37:45)

Offline

#4786 2013-02-12 18:26:20

Archimaredes
Member
Registered: 2013-01-23
Posts: 50

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

@Vi0L0, turns out the GPG key problem was Pacman using old packages, I cleared them from its cache, redownloaded, and it was fine.

I have a new problem though. On Catalyst 13.2 beta 3, as soon as I get into KDM at startup, I can't get back to the terminals with Ctrl + Alt + F1 / F2 / whatever; the screen just goes blank. I can go back to X with Ctrl + Alt + F7 afterwards. I rolled back to Catalyst 13.1 and it works fine. Any ideas? I would like to use 13.2 beta3 because of the 3D performance improvements (especially in TF2), but occasionally I do need to go back to textmode...

Offline

#4787 2013-02-12 21:03:49

Vi0L0
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2009-06-24
Posts: 1,305
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

I've made some changes on AUR and repos...

AUR:
added: amdapp-aparapi, amdapp-sdk, amdapp-codexl (x86_64 only)

[catalyst]:
added: amdapp-aparapi, amdapp-sdk, amdapp-codexl (x86_64 only)
removed: amdstream

[catalyst-stable]:
updated: catalyst
added: amdapp-aparapi, amdapp-sdk, amdapp-codexl (x86_64 only)
removed: amdstream

note: amdapp-sdk 2.8 is replacing amdstream 2.7, but I didn't put replace into PKGBUILD (intentionally), please update it manually
note2: amdapp-sdk on repos depends on amdapp-aparapi and is providing aparapiUtil and samples,
  on AUR by default it doesn't - please set _aparapi=y on top of PKGBUILD if you want otherwise

[catalyst-hd234k]:
updated: catalyst, catalyst-lts


Archimaredes wrote:

@Vi0L0, turns out the GPG key problem was Pacman using old packages, I cleared them from its cache, redownloaded, and it was fine.

Good, thanks
Edit:

Archimaredes wrote:

I have a new problem though. On Catalyst 13.2 beta 3, as soon as I get into KDM at startup, I can't get back to the terminals with Ctrl + Alt + F1 / F2 / whatever; the screen just goes blank. I can go back to X with Ctrl + Alt + F7 afterwards. I rolled back to Catalyst 13.1 and it works fine. Any ideas? I would like to use 13.2 beta3 because of the 3D performance improvements (especially in TF2), but occasionally I do need to go back to textmode...

Mine tty isn't black but vertically "splitted" into two same screens, readable until line isn't too wide... definitely something's wrong with it, though i don't use tty
edit2: it now did became black after i removed vga=794 from kernel boot line

Last edited by Vi0L0 (2013-02-12 21:19:59)

Offline

#4788 2013-02-12 22:16:26

Archimaredes
Member
Registered: 2013-01-23
Posts: 50

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Vi0L0 wrote:

Mine tty isn't black but vertically "splitted" into two same screens, readable until line isn't too wide... definitely something's wrong with it, though i don't use tty
edit2: it now did became black after i removed vga=794 from kernel boot line

Do you think I should file a bug report here? The bug report form only lists Catalyst versions up to 13.1 - I assume it automatically lists up to the latest stable release - and not 13.2. I can't find a separate bugzilla for betas.

Offline

#4789 2013-02-13 04:37:13

saronno
Member
Registered: 2009-10-02
Posts: 116

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Problem solved !
It's all about xinerama and xrandr12 .... you have to disable xinerama and xrandr12

aticonfig --initial
aticonfig --set-pcs-str="DDX,EnableRandR12,FALSE"

reboot ... check that xinerama is off ... if not disable it (reboot)
now with ati control center->display manager->multi-display->multidisplay desktop with display(s) 2

reboot again ... set up your display layout whatever you desire ... and you have done.

One big desktop and acceleration without problem big_smile

Vi0L0, I think this had to be in the wiki.
A lot of people have dual monitor set up out there and
they will use xinerama losing acceleration, composition etc.

And if they try to use xrandr without knowing that they have to disable xrandr12
they wil get nowhere.

Last edited by saronno (2013-02-13 04:39:58)

Offline

#4790 2013-02-13 08:34:57

Vi0L0
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2009-06-24
Posts: 1,305
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Archimaredes wrote:
Vi0L0 wrote:

Mine tty isn't black but vertically "splitted" into two same screens, readable until line isn't too wide... definitely something's wrong with it, though i don't use tty
edit2: it now did became black after i removed vga=794 from kernel boot line

Do you think I should file a bug report here?

Sure, feel free. There are already bug reports for 13.2 beta 3 versioned as 13.1 there.
Let us know if you will do this (otherwise i will) and paste URL.

@saronno:
K, i will paste your fix there (when i'll find time, i also have to write something about amdapps there), thanks.

Offline

#4791 2013-02-13 15:45:16

Archimaredes
Member
Registered: 2013-01-23
Posts: 50

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Vi0L0 wrote:

Sure, feel free. There are already bug reports for 13.2 beta 3 versioned as 13.1 there.
Let us know if you will do this (otherwise i will) and paste URL.

http://ati.cchtml.com/show_bug.cgi?id=718

Done.

Offline

#4792 2013-02-13 16:08:39

Vi0L0
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2009-06-24
Posts: 1,305
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Nice! I will confirm it there.

Looks like i've found a workaroud for this issue though smile LOL, just a sec ago, seems to work for me.
I've though - if it's better with (my ancient) vga=794, so let's check with higher resolution...
hwinfo --framebuffer
gave me the list of supported res, i picked up the one from the very bottom, and copy-pasted it into kernel line of my syslinux bootloader, so it looked like vga=0x03d4, and bam - hi-res tty working nicelly when switching from X.
Check it out


edit:
xvba open patches:
just found a couple of patches written some time ago for open xvba, especially xvba-video-h264-level51.patch looks promissing:
https://build.opensuse.org/package/show … %3Amaxge73

Last edited by Vi0L0 (2013-02-14 07:39:20)

Offline

#4793 2013-02-14 21:56:18

mazgaoten
Member
Registered: 2013-01-06
Posts: 1

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

ov8hsST.jpg

Hardware or software? It's a 5830 Currently using xf86-video-Ati but same thing was happening on catalyst.

This is a replacement card for a 4890 that was doing something similar, turned out it had just up and died. Was using a 5870 on the in between and had no issues.

Have crawled the forums for a week and tried everything short of full system reinstall.

Not too concerned about a fix, more if the consensus is hardware or software.  Pretty sure I am going to grab a new card if it turns out to be hardware, instead of trying to rma an rma replacement

Offline

#4794 2013-02-15 09:08:15

Vi0L0
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2009-06-24
Posts: 1,305
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

@mazgaoten:
i had similar artifacts on my radeon 9550 with bios from 9600 which was permanently overclocked.
After about 3 years of using those artifacts came up, then in a days it became worse and worse until card was showing only blank screen.
Guess overheat ultimately led gpu to death (overheaten/damaged memory is showing different artifacts like bad/rainbowed textures).

On the other hand i've seen rainbowed glitches on X windows rendered by oss ati driver on KDE's kwin about 1,5-2 years ago on my hd4850 - but only on kwin, it was driver's fault then and was quickly fixed.

If you are seeing same artifacts on both oss ati and catalyst then i would say it's hardware fault.

Offline

#4795 2013-02-15 12:29:42

Archimaredes
Member
Registered: 2013-01-23
Posts: 50

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Vi0L0 wrote:

Looks like i've found a workaroud for this issue though smile LOL, just a sec ago, seems to work for me.
I've though - if it's better with (my ancient) vga=794, so let's check with higher resolution...
hwinfo --framebuffer
gave me the list of supported res, i picked up the one from the very bottom, and copy-pasted it into kernel line of my syslinux bootloader, so it looked like vga=0x03d4, and bam - hi-res tty working nicelly when switching from X.
Check it out

Well done, quite a nice workaround! big_smile

Not perfect though, as I can't get my native resolution, and the framebuffer seems REALLY slow. Not a big deal, though. As far as I can see, Catalyst's always had problems with framebuffer.

Offline

#4796 2013-02-15 15:09:45

CyberNhull
Member
Registered: 2013-01-27
Posts: 79

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Hello people. I have updated arch to catalyst-legacy 13.1-3, kernel to 3.7.7 and a lot of KDE packages to KDE 4.10.

The thing is i can't play games on playonlinux now since all i see its a flickering screen when i start them xD.
The only workaround i found was to go to Kwin and change the compositing type from OpenGL to Xrender on native which allows me to play games but its slow xD.

Is this related to catalyst-legacy, KDE 4.10 or both? Or maybe its a simply a bug on libGL? dunno xD any help would be apreciatted xD thanks in advance

Last edited by CyberNhull (2013-02-15 15:11:55)


If it does not kill you....It will make you smarter

Offline

#4797 2013-02-15 16:33:15

SantaSCSI
Member
Registered: 2009-12-04
Posts: 20

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Anyone around with an AMD HD7850? I tried several distros aprox 4 weeks ago in combi with my dual screened HD7850 which was generally a PITA. opensource drivers lack performance, AMD drivers deny me of using dual screen sad.

If no reaction I'm gonna try anyway this weekend. I hope to get this working but I'm prepping for a bughunt.

Offline

#4798 2013-02-15 17:40:11

killyou
Member
Registered: 2013-01-26
Posts: 15

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Does anyone know why every game is starting with black screen? I have to press alt+esc every time a game is loaded to see the screen. This happens with both Wine games and native linux games. I can't even play quakelive, because I can't see the screen (alt+esc is not working in this case. Does anyone have an idea what is going on?

I'm using Radeon HD5730 and catalyst 13-1-1 drivers from community.

Offline

#4799 2013-02-15 18:14:58

CyberNhull
Member
Registered: 2013-01-27
Posts: 79

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

killyou wrote:

Does anyone know why every game is starting with black screen? I have to press alt+esc every time a game is loaded to see the screen. This happens with both Wine games and native linux games. I can't even play quakelive, because I can't see the screen (alt+esc is not working in this case. Does anyone have an idea what is going on?

I'm using Radeon HD5730 and catalyst 13-1-1 drivers from community.

The answer it seems to be OpenGL ES 2.0...but i think that only affects legacy drivers...i have a similiar problem, simply i can see the screen but with a LOT of flickering xD


If it does not kill you....It will make you smarter

Offline

#4800 2013-02-16 11:18:11

Vi0L0
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2009-06-24
Posts: 1,305
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

CyberNhull wrote:
killyou wrote:

Does anyone know why every game is starting with black screen? I have to press alt+esc every time a game is loaded to see the screen. This happens with both Wine games and native linux games. I can't even play quakelive, because I can't see the screen (alt+esc is not working in this case. Does anyone have an idea what is going on?

I'm using Radeon HD5730 and catalyst 13-1-1 drivers from community.

The answer it seems to be OpenGL ES 2.0...but i think that only affects legacy drivers...i have a similiar problem, simply i can see the screen but with a LOT of flickering xD

Did you try to disable kwin compositing ie. with Alt + Shift + F12 ?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB