You are not logged in.

#1 2008-10-22 01:18:44

banshee28

Help..kernel panic after upgrade to 2.6.27

I upgraded from the original "cd" kernel 2.6.25 and installed compiz. After a while i rebooted and it hangs on startup. I tried the "fallback" but it also hangs. I am new to linux (lol) so not sure what to do. I guess this is similar to a bsod roll

/init:  36 replace: not found
export: 36 bad variable name
kernel panic - not syncing: attempted to kill init!

here is a link to my post in the deskptop area : http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=57488

Arch64, AMD64, LXDE

#2 2008-10-22 04:27:09

Onwards

Re: Help..kernel panic after upgrade to 2.6.27

Your kernel cmd-line is badly formatted, please post it here. I know u can't boot into your system, but u can still see it from the grub-menu on system boot. When ur system is abt. to boot up, press 'e' to enter the grub-shell. Then 've a peek at ur kernel cmd-line and post it here.

Ok DISCARD what's quoted above. This problem isn't about badly formatted kernel cmd-line. Sorry for leading you astray (If I have, which i guess i have) !!:/

This problem was reported earlier as well (against 2.6.25) and was never resolved. It's about early-user-space (about klibc and friends). May be some real guru would jump in and help you out smile

Last edited by Onwards (2008-10-22 13:34:24)

#3 2008-10-22 10:33:47

dreamer_

I have the same issue, cmd-line:

root (hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinuz26 root=/dev/disk/by-uuid/[uuid] ro vga=773
initrd /kernel26.img

fallback line (also generates kernel panic):

root (hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinuz26 root=/dev/disk/by-uuid/[same uuid] ro
initrd /kernel26-fallback.img

can it be wrong uuid? how can I find the correct one?

| ← Ceci n'est pas une pipe.

#4 2008-10-23 02:36:03

banshee28

Onwards wrote: