You are not logged in.

#1 2008-10-23 15:40:16

Zetsumei

I'm new to Archlinux but not to linux in general.

I'm a new user to Arch but not linux and just got a few questions before I get started.  How easy or hard is the install for Arch?  Is it like the gentoo install or easier?  Also, is there an IRC or something incase I run into any problems installing it?  And lastly, just saying hi to everyone here.

#2 2008-10-23 15:56:54

syntaxerrormmm
Website

Re: I'm new to Archlinux but not to linux in general.

Hi Zetsumei,

welcome smile I just switched to Arch from Debian (and before Debian came Gentoo), so I should definitely say that the installation is fairly simpler than Gentoo's one. If you already installed Gentoo once, you should be familiar with the steps (at least with partitioning). A good way to start is the Official Installation Guide, which is shorter than Gentoo's one.

Wiki is also a good place to inform on problems with Arch, I suggest you give it a read before starting. I found necessary to read also the Package Management guide and the Pacman guide.

If you really come from Gentoo, you don't need any particular skills, other than the ones you already have to install Gentoo smile

Regards and good luck with Arch,

syntaxerrormmm - Homepage

#3 2008-10-23 16:50:11

Ghost1227
Forum Fellow
Website

Also, we do have an IRC channel... #archlinux@freenode.net

.:[My Blog] || [My GitHub]:.

#4 2008-10-23 16:59:49

skottish
Forum Fellow

Welcome to the forums Zetsumei.

I came from weeny-GUI land and using nothing but the Office Guide I got through it without any real problems. To a Gentoo user Arch's installer should be pretty simple. I would have either of the installation guides handy just for reference.

#5 2008-10-23 17:47:36

Zetsumei

I've made it up to the last stages of Gentoo's install but screwed up something and it wouldn't boot.  But I do know some of this I just wanted to know if it was anything like Gentoo's install.