You are not logged in.

#1 2004-07-27 20:49:55

Dagreat1
Member
Registered: 2004-07-27
Posts: 16

Xorg confusion.

Distro: ArchLinux
Version: 0.6

I remember checking Xorg from the packages on the CD(Full ISO). But now I cant seem to locate Xorg. Is Xorg just the name change and I still have to make an Xf86Config file in order to setup my X-server?
If that's not the case, can I install Xorg using pacman(From the CD. No network as yet)

The primary problem is my Intel 82815 Graphics chipset. I get a 'No screen found' due to undetectability of a driver or a config file. Will any of Xorg or Xfree be able to cope with the card? And which one is preffered(Considering they're not the same thing, from the above para question)
Thank you.


We dont waste words, we paint pictures.

Offline

#2 2004-07-27 21:06:33

kakabaratruskia
Member
From: Santiago, Chile
Registered: 2003-08-24
Posts: 596

Re: Xorg confusion.

arch 0.6 does not have xorg, it just has xfree (4.3 I think). So you'll have to connect to internet, and then upgrade to "current" to have either xfree 4.4 or xorg. Anyway, I think wombat (arch 0.7) will come out soon, so might wait till that happens.


And where were all the sportsmen who always pulled you though?
They're all resting down in Cornwall
writing up their memoirs for a paper-back edition
of the Boy Scout Manual.

Offline

#3 2004-07-27 21:32:14

Dagreat1
Member
Registered: 2004-07-27
Posts: 16

Re: Xorg confusion.

Thanks kakabaratruskia.
$ XFree86 -version
brings up version 4.3.0
Using network to install Xorg is not possible at the moment due to ethernet card complexities. Is there any other way I can get to install it? Would burning it on a re-writable CD and compiling from source work? And foremost, should I be upgrading to Xorg? I have an Intel 82815 chipset. And startx returns, 'Fatal Server error: No screens found" even though I have the lowest configurations possible, selected. Such as a low vertical/horizontal sync range, low color depth's etc.
But still, to no avail.
Thank you for any input.


We dont waste words, we paint pictures.

Offline

#4 2004-07-27 21:57:24

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: Xorg confusion.

startx issue:

take a look at /var/log/XFree86.0.log

specifically, try

grep EE /var/log/XFree86.0.log

to look for some errors that might help you.

As for networking, you don't have to build from source if you burn on a CD, just download the file from, for example:

ftp://ftp.archlinux.org/current/xorg-11 … pkg.tar.gz

burn it on a CD, put the CD in your comp, mount the CDROM, and run

pacman -U xorg-11R6.7.0-1pkg.tar.gz

I suspect that the problem is in your X configuration, rather than in the server, however.

Dusty

Offline

#5 2004-07-27 22:26:27

Dagreat1
Member
Registered: 2004-07-27
Posts: 16

Re: Xorg confusion.

I would have posted the entire Xfree86.0.log file earlier but that was not possible due to an iisolated system which I am trying to configure. No network or floppy availibility.

The grep for Errors(EE) returns:
(EE) GARTInit: Unable to open /dev/agpgart (No such file or directory)
(EE) I810(0): AGP GART support is not availible. Make sure your kernel has
(EE)Screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration.

As I said, I have tried quite a few lower combinations of monitor/card combinations for the i810 815 chipset but doesnt work.I fret I'd have to upgrade to Xorg? I would be surprised if that's so, because 82815 is an old graphics chipset. P III.
Thanks for the reply, Dusty.


We dont waste words, we paint pictures.

Offline

#6 2004-07-27 22:38:50

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: Xorg confusion.

I would think those GART errors are quite important, but since this is onboard viedo, I'm thinking maybe it doesn't matter.

Do you have a custom kernel?

Have you searched google?

Hmm. This post indicates that perhaps thos AGP errors are relevant:
http://www.ussg.iu.edu/hypermail/linux/ … /1039.html

Dusty

Offline

#7 2004-07-27 23:22:34

ravster
Member
From: Queen's U, Kingston, Canada
Registered: 2004-05-02
Posts: 285
Website

Re: Xorg confusion.

Maybe it is one of the other options that could be in the screens section of the file. You could try using the hwd package for the XF86Config file. Of course, you would have to install the package on your comp first.
Maybe you could come on IRC or something and get your problem solved there. You could also try to show us your config file, at the very least the screens section.

Offline

#8 2004-07-28 00:02:23

kakabaratruskia
Member
From: Santiago, Chile
Registered: 2003-08-24
Posts: 596

Re: Xorg confusion.

An easy way to configure xfree is by "xf86cfg -textomode". You can try that, and create a new XF86Config, to see if it fixes something.


And where were all the sportsmen who always pulled you though?
They're all resting down in Cornwall
writing up their memoirs for a paper-back edition
of the Boy Scout Manual.

Offline

#9 2004-07-28 00:15:54

Dagreat1
Member
Registered: 2004-07-27
Posts: 16

Re: Xorg confusion.

kakabaratruskia, that is exactly how I was setting up sync rates and screen resolutions. Tried a whole bunch of them with the card, i810/815 chipset.
The Agp patches mentioned by Dusty seem a little confusing topic.
Currently thinking over what step to take next.

//EDIT

After immense Googling, I somehow managed to make it work.
I needed to modprobe intel-agp for the module to load. And added the module to /etc/rc.conf
Thanks everyone for the help.


We dont waste words, we paint pictures.

Offline

#10 2004-07-31 11:59:07

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,262

Re: Xorg confusion.

if you got agp gart errors
try loading the right module for your board
eg. modprobe intel-agp or upgrade to the latest kernel
there is agp compiled in and not longer a module
EDIT: sorry read you found the solution ;-)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB