You are not logged in.

#1 2008-11-10 17:34:57

nemodex
Member
Registered: 2007-11-13
Posts: 10

console-kit-dae

Hi  smile
I don't know, if there is the right place but ...
I have a arch linux, that it used by a small ftp server!!
I typed pstree -p and i had a this proccess:
console-kit-dae

What is it??

Thanks
Andrea

Offline

#2 2008-11-11 04:02:27

ssjlegendx
Member
Registered: 2008-01-01
Posts: 94
Website

Re: console-kit-dae

The full name of what you're seeing is console-kit-daemon; I have a large number of console-kit-daemon threads running on my system at this very moment.

The official website might give you a slight insight into what ConsoleKit is. The only package in the "official" repos that requires consolekit is gdm. (Of course, that doesn't mean that you will only have it installed if you use GDM.) Some additional information can be found here and here.

In words primarily taken from pages linked above: ConsoleKit essentially keeps track of a system's users and user sessions. It can allow for (or at least help with, I suppose) "fast user switching" via GDM.

Perhaps someone else on these forums can offer a fuller explanation.


#!/vim/rocks

Offline

#3 2008-12-02 20:25:54

bjesus
Member
Registered: 2007-04-06
Posts: 46

Re: console-kit-dae

Well, it seems that HAL now depend on consolekit....

so... What is it? I've got about ~30 instances of it running as root... dosen't seem right...

Offline

#4 2008-12-02 23:44:28

SamC
Member
From: Calgary
Registered: 2008-05-13
Posts: 611
Website

Re: console-kit-dae

@bjesus: No it doesn't. I've got hal, but no console-kit.

Offline

#5 2008-12-03 06:25:11

u_no_hu
Member
Registered: 2008-06-15
Posts: 453

Re: console-kit-dae

HAL in testing seems to depend on consolekit.

From the docs : http://people.freedesktop.org/~mccann/d … leKit.html

ConsoleKit is a framework for keeping track of the various users, sessions, and seats present on a system. It provides a mechanism for software to react to changes of any of these items or of any of the metadata associated with them.

After reading the docs, for a single user system i cant find much use of this. Is it useful in a single user system? . After seeing 30+ threads of console kit running i have reverted back to hal in extra.

Will it be possible to make it an optional dependency?


Don't be a HELP VAMPIRE. Please search before you ask.

Subscribe to The Arch Daily News.

Offline

#6 2008-12-03 14:16:55

SamC
Member
From: Calgary
Registered: 2008-05-13
Posts: 611
Website

Re: console-kit-dae

u_no_hu: Ah, I see it does. Thanks for the information.

Offline

#7 2009-01-03 09:32:10

TheGrudge
Member
Registered: 2006-06-15
Posts: 206
Website

Re: console-kit-dae

I understand what the daemon does, but why do I have over 100 processes of it running after 1 hour? Is this necessary / normal?


digiKam developer - www.digikam.org

Offline

#8 2009-01-21 23:22:21

darose
Member
Registered: 2004-04-13
Posts: 122

Re: console-kit-dae

And if it's not needed, is there any way to disable it?

Offline

#9 2009-01-22 00:55:21

alex_anthony
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2007-09-25
Posts: 344

Re: console-kit-dae

They're not all processes, they're threads.
Search the forums for gnome 2.24 and there's some talk about it (or just search consolekit)

edit:
http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=57491
There's one thread for every possible console apparently

Last edited by alex_anthony (2009-01-22 00:57:47)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB