You are not logged in.

#1 2008-11-20 18:07:35

Bear Chow

Desktop for games

I'm new to Arch but not linux.  I don't play games myself and don't really know what's out there.  I have a spare computer my kids ages 6-15 have been playing a knoppix game live cd on for the last week.  I decided to go ahead and put together a gaming desktop for them.  I can't identify the games in the repository.  I know they're there but I don't recognize any of the package names.

Could someone please recommend a few games to start with and try to avoid any resource hogs as the computer is a few years old 1.5gz with 1g mem and a 64mb nvidia 440mx card. 

6 year old be nice to have some logic building.

10 year old tux racer I think is the name

12 year old I think there is something like civilization that looks interesting.

15 year old oh yea its the DOOM type game.

Thanks I searched for a similar thread but was unsuccessful, and when I do a google search I only get modern shoot em up 3D hits or MMO's.  There will be no internet connection on this computer.

#2 2008-11-20 19:57:37

finferflu
Forum Fellow
Website

Re: Desktop for games

I would suggest you to head to The Linux Game Tome and have a look there.

For a shooter game, my personal recommendation is tremulous (in the community repo).

Have you Syued today?
Free music for free people! | Earthlings

"Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away." -- A. de Saint-Exupery

#3 2008-11-20 20:03:18

cybermage

logic building - huh, I'd say there are many games of this type, but all as a part of some Desktop Environment (KDE or Gnome) - it's something like those Knoppix games.

old Tux Racer - you mean Extreme Tux Racer ? Try packages tuxracer and etracer

civilization - There is FreeCiv (package freeciv) or Java-based (if I remember right) game FreeCol (probably http://www.freecol.org/ or google it)