You are not logged in.

#1 2008-11-30 21:39:47

SomeGuyDude

[SOLVED] Openbox broken, Synaptics doesn't work, X lags to start

THE SOLUTIONS TO EACH PROBLEM:

1) The "Rbg is not a valid variable" error, so I commented that out, and at least now I don't get the "fatal error: no screens found" problem. Obvious.

2) Synaptics no longer works. My cursor on my touchpad is agonizingly slow and I have no tap or scroll zones. There's a new set of instructions in the Wiki page. Use those (the hotplugging still doesn't work for me).

3) My openbox config files DO NOT LOAD. I tried to use obconf to change some settings and got a "error occured while trying to save /root/.config/openbox/rc.xml" which makes little sense given that... it shouldn't be aiming for root. Also, I have no background, and conky doesn't autostart despite being in my folders. I now have to use "xinit" instead of "startx".

4) Also, X takes forever to load on startup. Usually it was one or two screen "refreshes" where it would go black, then lit-up black, but now it's four or five. I just sit there watching the screen start and stop over and over before it finally starts. Above.

5) I've lost my alt+F2 tool, so now I have to start everything with terminal windows because I can't edit my OB menu and a whole slew of applications are missing from it. Once again, this came thanks to the "xinit" command.

My "middleclick" function is still missing, but I can deal with that for now.

Last edited by SomeGuyDude (2008-12-01 01:13:32)

And in the midst of such perfection,
I can't help but feel diseased.

#2 2008-11-30 22:02:26

BKJ

Re: [SOLVED] Openbox broken, Synaptics doesn't work, X lags to start

Add me to the list of broken items:

1. Synaptics completely broken.
2. Evolution broken with this error:

evolution: error while loading shared libraries: libesd.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

[Update]