You are not logged in.

#76 2009-01-02 01:16:15

goll
Member
From: Croatia
Registered: 2007-10-29
Posts: 50

Re: 2008.12 archboot test iso/img files

ext4 is essentially ext3 evolved, so all ext3 options still apply, noatime included.

Offline

#77 2009-01-02 07:46:36

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: 2008.12 archboot test iso/img files

@ lonewolf:
the ftp routine is taken from standard installer, i don't modify this.
But your card worked fine in install environment?
I also have an ath5k and i don't need this madwifi stuff to get it working.

greetings
tpowa

Offline

#78 2009-01-02 13:36:27

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 4,214

Re: 2008.12 archboot test iso/img files

tpowa wrote:

@ lonewolf:
the ftp routine is taken from standard installer, i don't modify this.
But your card worked fine in install environment?
I also have an ath5k and i don't need this madwifi stuff to get it working.

greetings
tpowa

It worked fine in the install environment, but once booted it didn't.
I could bring the card up, but iwlist wlan0 scan reported scanning was not supported , and i could not get a dhcp address.
To make it fully functional i need the modules ath_hal, ath_pci and wlan .

It looks like for my chipset the athk5 module has only basic support, the other functionality is in the modules now provided by madwifi.
Madwifi website indicates that ath5k is  a work in process and in the future will completely replace madwifi .

about the ftp routine :
As the ftp install image only has the base packages, it does make sense that you can only select to install those.
The core image however, has devel and suport packages , and should have a wider selection for all sources.
How do you suggest we proceed ?
Feature request for the installer, adding a note to the install wiki, something else ?


Booting with apg Openrc, NOT systemd.
Automounting : not needed, i prefer pmount
Aur helpers : makepkg + my own local repo === rarely need them

Offline

#79 2009-01-02 14:31:31

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: 2008.12 archboot test iso/img files

I think SImo fixed this in latest ftp routine, have to check this, though.

Offline

#80 2009-01-04 07:41:18

dolby
Member
From: 1992
Registered: 2006-08-08
Posts: 1,581

Re: 2008.12 archboot test iso/img files

Just finished installing Archlinux on my new EEE PC 1000H.
Congratulations tpowa. This is the best ISO since i can remember (around 2 years).
With NO OTHER ISO during that time i was able to log into a system which had a correct time setting.

Just one question about the only annoyance. Neotuli closed http://bugs.archlinux.org/task/10752 as implemented. Your ISO still installs base by default, although the Changelog says you checked out the changes in git. What am i missing?

Last edited by dolby (2009-01-04 07:42:41)


There shouldn't be any reason to learn more editor types than emacs or vi -- mg (1)
[You learn that sarcasm does not often work well in international forums.  That is why we avoid it. -- ewaller (arch linux forum moderator)

Offline

#81 2009-01-04 15:03:48

Misfit138
Misfit Emeritus
From: USA
Registered: 2006-11-27
Posts: 4,170

Re: 2008.12 archboot test iso/img files

dolby wrote:

Just one question about the only annoyance. Neotuli closed http://bugs.archlinux.org/task/10752 as implemented. Your ISO still installs base by default, although the Changelog says you checked out the changes in git. What am i missing?

Agreed. The ability to choose each package is an eagerly sought after feature.

Offline

#82 2009-01-04 21:57:19

jelly
Trusted User (TU)
From: /dev/null
Registered: 2008-06-10
Posts: 711

Re: 2008.12 archboot test iso/img files

I am now installing the ISO, i really like the new options, everything just worked out fine ( installing the packages). I thought of ext4, and you don't need it for /boot so you can still use good old grub:)  Only problem i got when i am finished with configuration, the menu lags, but when in push the down key i see the install bootloader option. I don;t now if this is a virtualbox isue. I am sorry that i forget to take a screenshot:(

Last edited by jelly (2009-01-04 22:07:02)

Offline

#83 2009-01-05 15:37:38

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: 2008.12 archboot test iso/img files

the ftp routine now allows again to select packages from core, the next archboot images will include these changes.

Offline

#84 2009-01-05 15:38:40

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: 2008.12 archboot test iso/img files

jelly wrote:

I am now installing the ISO, i really like the new options, everything just worked out fine ( installing the packages). I thought of ext4, and you don't need it for /boot so you can still use good old grub:)  Only problem i got when i am finished with configuration, the menu lags, but when in push the down key i see the install bootloader option. I don;t now if this is a virtualbox isue. I am sorry that i forget to take a screenshot:(

I think this is an issue of the virtualbox size, i only test with qemu-kvm the menu size.

Offline

#85 2009-01-05 23:07:51

dolby
Member
From: 1992
Registered: 2006-08-08
Posts: 1,581

Re: 2008.12 archboot test iso/img files

tpowa wrote:

the ftp routine now allows again to select packages from core, the next archboot images will include these changes.

Thanks!


There shouldn't be any reason to learn more editor types than emacs or vi -- mg (1)
[You learn that sarcasm does not often work well in international forums.  That is why we avoid it. -- ewaller (arch linux forum moderator)

Offline

#86 2009-01-05 23:30:42

Misfit138
Misfit Emeritus
From: USA
Registered: 2006-11-27
Posts: 4,170

Re: 2008.12 archboot test iso/img files

dolby wrote:
tpowa wrote:

the ftp routine now allows again to select packages from core, the next archboot images will include these changes.

Thanks!

Beautiful.

Offline

#87 2009-01-09 16:34:24

oringo
Member
Registered: 2007-08-23
Posts: 21

Re: 2008.12 archboot test iso/img files

FaN_OnLy1 wrote:

Booting from usb gives me "Extlinux , boot error" on my Portégé M800-10C ;'(

I second that. I get "Boot error" too on a console screen. This is booting from a Dell lnspiron 700M. The same usb stick boots correctly on my desktop. There are no other error indications.

Offline

#88 2009-01-09 20:49:23

z0phi3l
Member
From: Waterbury CT
Registered: 2007-11-26
Posts: 278

Re: 2008.12 archboot test iso/img files

Has the ISO been updated with the latest kernel?

Got an HP 2133 needing Arch

Offline

#89 2009-01-10 03:14:59

Wintervenom
Member
From: /home/wintervenom
Registered: 2008-08-20
Posts: 1,011
Website

Re: 2008.12 archboot test iso/img files

default,noatime,nodiratime,user_xattr are mine.

EDIT:  Ah, crap, wrong page.  The page buttons ought to stand out more.  tongue

Last edited by Wintervenom (2009-01-10 03:16:09)


My [GitHub] and my [artwork].
Data is guaranteed to stay crunchy in milk.
Keep your _✍ hand strong.

Offline

#90 2009-01-11 05:46:24

sa
Member
From: boston ma
Registered: 2008-05-23
Posts: 127
Website

Re: 2008.12 archboot test iso/img files

FTP Install isn't working for me hmm
is anyone else experiencing this?

Offline

#91 2009-01-11 06:36:58

skottish
Forum Fellow
From: Here
Registered: 2006-06-16
Posts: 7,931

Re: 2008.12 archboot test iso/img files

sa wrote:

FTP Install isn't working for me hmm
is anyone else experiencing this?

You may want to elaborate a little on this.

Offline

#92 2009-01-12 05:57:26

Wintervenom
Member
From: /home/wintervenom
Registered: 2008-08-20
Posts: 1,011
Website

Re: 2008.12 archboot test iso/img files

Is there a non-torrent of 2008.12?


My [GitHub] and my [artwork].
Data is guaranteed to stay crunchy in milk.
Keep your _✍ hand strong.

Offline

#93 2009-01-14 21:57:39

Ranguvar
Member
From: Our collective subconscious
Registered: 2008-08-12
Posts: 2,515
Website

Re: 2008.12 archboot test iso/img files

Suggestion, perhaps root could have a /dev/urandom-generated password by default, unless one is specified at boot or with 'passwd'? It would be more secure than a static and easily found username and password by default. Thanks!

Offline

#94 2009-01-15 12:01:28

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: 2008.12 archboot test iso/img files

archboot images will never set a root pasword it ships with no password at all.

Offline

#95 2009-01-15 15:12:18

sa
Member
From: boston ma
Registered: 2008-05-23
Posts: 127
Website

Re: 2008.12 archboot test iso/img files

skottish wrote:
sa wrote:

FTP Install isn't working for me hmm
is anyone else experiencing this?

You may want to elaborate a little on this.

When I try to select packages, I get

[*] Error:    ^
[*] Expected  ^
[*] at        ^
[*] least     ^
[*] 7         ^
[*] tokens    ^
[*] for       ^

With this image, rm /tmp/.pkgcategory does not help, and I have a working net connection (ping -c 3 www.google.com returns results)

Last edited by sa (2009-01-15 15:14:22)

Offline

#96 2009-01-15 15:32:47

Misfit138
Misfit Emeritus
From: USA
Registered: 2006-11-27
Posts: 4,170

Re: 2008.12 archboot test iso/img files

sa wrote:
skottish wrote:
sa wrote:

FTP Install isn't working for me hmm
is anyone else experiencing this?

You may want to elaborate a little on this.

When I try to select packages, I get

[*] Error:    ^
[*] Expected  ^
[*] at        ^
[*] least     ^
[*] 7         ^
[*] tokens    ^
[*] for       ^

With this image, rm /tmp/.pkgcategory does not help, and I have a working net connection (ping -c 3 www.google.com returns results)

I get the same error.

Offline

#97 2009-01-15 16:01:51

Ranguvar
Member
From: Our collective subconscious
Registered: 2008-08-12
Posts: 2,515
Website

Re: 2008.12 archboot test iso/img files

I've gotten that error (and similar) many times, and with the normal ISO too. I just reboot and do it again, and it will usually work. There's a bug or something in the network code - for example, doing the network setup from the menu twice will b0rk everything (it will fail to finish setting up the network), and you must reboot. The error above is almost random, though.

Offline

#98 2009-01-16 00:29:28

FLCLFan
Member
Registered: 2008-07-21
Posts: 76
Website

Re: 2008.12 archboot test iso/img files

2008.12 is gone and past. I suggest we make it look better and update it for 2009.01 with kernel 2.6.28 smile

Offline

#99 2009-01-16 09:31:45

Roberth
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2007-01-12
Posts: 887

Re: 2008.12 archboot test iso/img files

2009.1 with kernel 2.6.28, grub with ext4 support and the possibly to use ext4 on boot partitions!


Use the Source, Luke!

Offline

#100 2009-01-16 14:51:03

ammon
Member
Registered: 2008-12-11
Posts: 413

Re: 2008.12 archboot test iso/img files

Kernel 2.6.28 is released on Christmas, and ext4 also. So there is nothing made in 2009 in this kernel, or iso.
It should be named 2008.12

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB