You are not logged in.

#1 2008-12-10 20:13:09

MrAllan

[SOLVED] Cannot get wpa_supplicant to connect to WPA network

Hello everybody,

first of, thanks for the great wiki & forum. I am very new to linux (I've startet with Ubuntu last week) so configuring is something very new to me. Now, on topic:

I am using a Belkin Wireless G USB Network Adapter (F5D7050 / v.4003). The Ubuntu Wiki says that the zd1211rw driver is the correct one. But: if I don't have any encryption set

on my wireless network , I can simply connect using

# iwconfig
# ifconfig wlan0 up
# iwconfig wlan0 essid <myssid>
# dhcpcd wlan0

so it is working, I can browse the web, etc.

But if I re-enable WPA/WPA2 (a mixed network), I cannot connect, neither using the method described above, nor using this:

# ifconfig wlan0 up
# iwconfig wlan0 essid <myssid>
# wpa_supplicant -Dwext -iwlan0 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf

If I use the wpa_supplicant method, it gives me the following error:

Trying to associate with xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx (SSID='<myssid>' freq=2442 MHz)
CTRL-EVENT-DISCONNECTED - Disconnect event - remove keys
ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODEEXT]: No such file or directory
Associated with xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx
Authentication with xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx timed out.
CTRL-EVENT-DISCONNECTED - Disconnect event - remove keys
ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODEEXT]: No such file or directory

And it goes on and on like that, just reprinting these lines forever until I stop the session. I have also tried ndiswrapper, madwifi, prism54 (and zd1211rw, but it says it doesn't exist), without success.

Here's my wpa_supplicant.conf:

ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=users

network={
    ssid="<myssid>"
    key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
    pairwise=TKIP
    group=TKIP
    proto=WPA
    #psk="verysecretphrase"
    psk=xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
}

And here's (some of) my rc.conf:

INTERFACES=(!eth0 wlan0)
wlan0="dhcp"
interface=(wlan0)
gateway="default gw 192.168.01"
ROUTES=(!gateway)