You are not logged in.

#1 2004-08-08 13:01:58

punkrockguy318
Member
From: New Jersey
Registered: 2004-02-15
Posts: 707
Website

Windows and Linux on GRUB

When I try to boot into Winblows on grub, I get an error that says "invaild executable".  I can boot fine in LILO, but not on grub.  Windows is on /dev/hda and linux is on /dev/hdb.  Here's my menu.lst

# Config file for GRUB - The GNU GRand Unified Bootloader
# /boot/grub/menu.lst

# DEVICE NAME CONVERSIONS 
#
#  Old /dev    DevFS                    Grub
# -----------------------------------------------
#  /dev/fd0    /dev/floppy/0            (fd0)
#  /dev/hda    /dev/discs/disc0/disc    (hd0)
#  /dev/hdb2   /dev/discs/disc1/part2   (hd1,1)
#  /dev/hda3   /dev/discs/disc0/part3   (hd0,2)
#

#  FRAMEBUFFER RESOLUTION SETTINGS
#     +----------------------------------------+
#          | 640x480 800x600 1024x768 1280x1024
#      ----+-----------------------------------
#      256 |   0x301   0x303    0x305     0x307
#      32K |   0x310   0x313    0x316     0x319
#      64K |   0x311   0x314    0x317     0x31A
#      16M |   0x312   0x315    0x318     0x31B
#     +----------------------------------------+

# general configuration:
timeout  20 
default   0
color light-blue/black light-cyan/blue

# boot sections follow
# each is implicitly numbered from 0 in the order of appearance below
#-*

# (0) Arch Linux
title=Arch Linux
root   (hd1,0)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz26 root=/dev/discs/disc1/part1 ro vga=791 hdd=ide-scsi devfs=nomount

title=Windows XP
rootnoverify(hd0,0)
makeactive
chainloader +1

Here is my WORKING lilo.conf

#
# /etc/lilo.conf
#

boot=/dev/hda
# This line often fixes L40 errors on bootup
# disk=/dev/discs/disc0/disc bios=0x80

default=ArchLinux
timeout=200
lba32
prompt
bitmap=/boot/somethingblue.bmp
bmp-colors=1,0,8,3,8,1
bmp-table=250p,150p,1,18
image=/boot/vmlinuz26
        label=ArchLinux
        root=/dev/discs/disc1/part1
        vga=791
        read-only
    append="hdd=ide-scsi devfs=nomount"
other=/dev/discs/disc1/part1
        label=WindowsXP

# End of file

How can my GRUB boot windows?

ps:  I can't believe I'm asking this question, it's very noobish... I've just always used LILO.


If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but have not love, I am nothing.   1 Corinthians 13:2

Offline

#2 2004-08-08 13:26:05

scottro
Member
From: NYC
Registered: 2002-10-11
Posts: 454
Website

Re: Windows and Linux on GRUB

Hrm, it looks right--the only things different from my (working) menu.lst
are the makeactive line (which I've never used--I think when I started using grub it wasn't necessary) and (for all I know this next one might be important) it seems you have rootnoverify(hd0,0) with no space between the y and the first parenthesis.  I have a space, ie

rootnoverify (hd0,0)

The other stupid question--when you put in grub you did install it, correct?
(with something like setup (hd0)

Offline

#3 2004-08-08 13:35:25

punkrockguy318
Member
From: New Jersey
Registered: 2004-02-15
Posts: 707
Website

Re: Windows and Linux on GRUB

scottro wrote:

Hrm, it looks right--the only things different from my (working) menu.lst
are the makeactive line (which I've never used--I think when I started using grub it wasn't necessary) and (for all I know this next one might be important) it seems you have rootnoverify(hd0,0) with no space between the y and the first parenthesis.  I have a space, ie

rootnoverify (hd0,0)

The other stupid question--when you put in grub you did install it, correct?
(with something like setup (hd0)

Hmm, I'll try it without the space

I used # grub-install /dev/hda
to install grub.


If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but have not love, I am nothing.   1 Corinthians 13:2

Offline

#4 2004-08-08 13:39:29

punkrockguy318
Member
From: New Jersey
Registered: 2004-02-15
Posts: 707
Website

Re: Windows and Linux on GRUB

I took out the space and it worked.. stupid me!  Thanks!


If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but have not love, I am nothing.   1 Corinthians 13:2

Offline

#5 2004-08-08 17:45:55

scottro
Member
From: NYC
Registered: 2002-10-11
Posts: 454
Website

Re: Windows and Linux on GRUB

You mean put in the space right?  smile

(between rootnoverify and the (hd0,0).

Typos can cause the most aggravating problems, especially when you're looking at something 100 times and keep missing it.  One of my best was at work where I added an alias for a user--we truncate at 8 characters so it was something like 123456789:  12345678

I had reversed the order, putting the truncated name first, and looked at it several times--finally, asked my boss to look, figuring that I was missing something obvious, and of course, he saw it immediately.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB