You are not logged in.

#1 2008-12-15 10:35:03

benji.ijneb

configuring suspend commands with kde

for a long time (ok, 2 days...) i battled against pm utils on my dell latitude c400 - I always got a succesful suspend, but the computer resumed with no display - i could turn it off by entering the right commands...

recently i installed aswsusp from the aur and got s2ram. when i run "s2ram", i get:

/dev/mem: Permission denied
This machine can be identified by:
    sys_vendor   = ""
    sys_product  = ""
    sys_version  = ""
    bios_version = ""

when i run "sudo s2ram", it works perfectly! yay! i get a successful suspend in a few seconds!
my question is, how to i alter the command that hitting suspend on the kde(mod) shutdown dialog runs to make it do s2ram? at the moment, it looks as if it's still running pm-utils...
also, any way of getting powerdevil also to run s2ram instead of pm-utils? (you can see that i'm very new to all this!)

Thanks for all your help!

#2 2008-12-15 10:50:28

patroclo7

Re: configuring suspend commands with kde

I do not know about kde, but, assumed that kde resorts to pm-utils, pm-utils can be configured to use s2ram.
In any file in /etc/pm/config.d (create a file if you haven't any: the name shouldn't matter), put the following:

SLEEP_MODULE="uswsusp"

Last edited by patroclo7 (2008-12-15 10:53:40)

Mortuus in anima, curam gero cutis

#3 2008-12-16 11:56:34

benji.ijneb

patroclo7 wrote:

I do not know about kde, but, assumed that kde resorts to pm-utils, pm-utils can be configured to use s2ram.
In any file in /etc/pm/config.d (create a file if you haven't any: the name shouldn't matter), put the following:

SLEEP_MODULE="uswsusp"

thanks, but that doesn't appear to have done anything...
suspending from the kde shutdown dialog + shutting the laptop lid (which i think powerdevil deals with...) suspends properly, but there's no display on resume (as it does with pm-utils), however running sudo s2ram does the trick nicely...