You are not logged in.

#1 2008-12-24 03:17:43

generic_

Should I make a ubuntu 2 arch wiki?

I am a arch noob but im coming around its only ny third day. I came from ubuntu. Arch was mentioned alot on ubuntu for its speed and such. Alot of things i didnt know had to be installed in arch to get it  in a familiar state. I ve done a decent bit so I was thinking why not write a wiki for people like me?

This would all be assuming that they have their internet and gnome installed.

I was thinking It  would be focused on making an arch install layout "feel" like a ubuntu one. Such as have all the familar tools and apps. Meant to give them a comfortable enviorment and such to help them ease in slow. Cause some of the simpilest crap was confising for me! .Mostly because I had just never had to do it.

so should i?

I'm just lost n00b!

#2 2008-12-24 03:21:57

heleos

Re: Should I make a ubuntu 2 arch wiki?

You're welcome to do whatever you want, I don't think you need anyone's blessing to make a wiki. If you think it will help people and you have the time, you should

#3 2008-12-24 03:36:39

Xyne
Administrator/PM
Website

yes

I suggest that you write it in such a way that the reader is made aware of exactly what he's doing and why. It would be misleading if Ubuntu-users were drawn to Arch by a very simple "Ubuntufy Arch" wiki and then slapped in the face later with RTFM and the rest of it. You've obviously managed to get it working and learning to do so is somehow part of the initial Arch experience imo.

My Arch Linux StuffForum EtiquetteCommunity Ethos - Arch is not for everyone

#4 2008-12-24 04:08:44

generic_

Here it is so far. I know it really nooby so far but it just the first 2 steps.
Anything I could have missed at this point.

Welcome to the Ubuntu to Arch guide. The guide assumes 3 things

1.You have an internet conection to the computer which archlinux is installed on.