You are not logged in.

#1 2009-01-03 03:08:00

webbrewer
Member
From: Eugene, OR USA
Registered: 2007-07-10
Posts: 25

Lenovo Ideapad S10

I thought I may as well start a s10 thread as there seems to be a thread for every other netbook.  I just received mine and I will post anything relevant to the s10 on arch here.  Perhaps others have arch on s10 comments.

Last edited by webbrewer (2009-01-26 05:26:24)

Offline

#2 2009-01-24 21:51:19

thatnewyorker
Member
From: Brooklyn
Registered: 2009-01-24
Posts: 73

Re: Lenovo Ideapad S10

I tried installing Arch on my S10. The only problem I had was setting up the wifi and thats the only reason I'm not using Arch on it right now. sad


Whats happening to me? Why am I turning evil for you?

Offline

#3 2009-01-24 22:56:22

webbrewer
Member
From: Eugene, OR USA
Registered: 2007-07-10
Posts: 25

Re: Lenovo Ideapad S10

thatnewyorker wrote:

I tried installing Arch on my S10. The only problem I had was setting up the wifi and thats the only reason I'm not using Arch on it right now. sad

The S10 uses the Broadcom BCM4312 chip.  There is a driver from Broadcom in AUR called broadcom-wl: http://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=19514
Install this driver and add "wl" to the MODULES=() line in rc.conf.

Offline

#4 2009-01-25 04:12:28

thatnewyorker
Member
From: Brooklyn
Registered: 2009-01-24
Posts: 73

Re: Lenovo Ideapad S10

Thanks for pointing me in the right direction. I finally got it to work! big_smile


Whats happening to me? Why am I turning evil for you?

Offline

#5 2009-01-25 12:53:37

tyr0
Member
Registered: 2007-06-02
Posts: 152

Re: Lenovo Ideapad S10

I want to buy a s10. Maybe you can tell me something about the installation and the hardware. Did you detect some serious problems?

Last edited by tyr0 (2009-01-25 12:53:52)

Offline

#6 2009-01-25 13:47:55

rson451
Member
From: Annapolis, MD USA
Registered: 2007-04-15
Posts: 1,233
Website

Re: Lenovo Ideapad S10

I just bought one of these this weekend.  I'm going to install arch and document my experience in the wiki this week hopefully.


archlinux - please read this and this — twice — then ask questions.
--
http://rsontech.net | http://github.com/rson

Offline

#7 2009-01-25 14:07:29

tyr0
Member
Registered: 2007-06-02
Posts: 152

Re: Lenovo Ideapad S10

Thank you, I'm looking forward to your review.

Offline

#8 2009-01-25 21:22:39

webbrewer
Member
From: Eugene, OR USA
Registered: 2007-07-10
Posts: 25

Re: Lenovo Ideapad S10

Other than the Broadcom driver, most things seem to work out of the box.  I added some configuration to xorg.conf for the trackpad to allow scrolling and tapping:

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier   "Synaptics Touchpad"
   Driver      "synaptics"
   Option      "Protocol" "auto-dev"
   Option      "CorePointer"
   Option      "SHMConfig" "on"
   Option      "VertEdgeScroll" "true"
   Option      "TapButton1" "1"
   Option      "TapButton2" "2"
EndSection

I had trouble finding a the correct vga= parameter to allow framebuffer during boot up.  Apparently it can't be done for 1024x600 resolution.  I followed this guide: http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Gru … ant_to_use and found that 866 was the best option (1024x576).  So I added vga=866 to my grub config.

One thing I haven't gotten to work is the suspend button (Fn-F1).  I have an ACPI event defined, but it doesn't seem to respond (closing the lid suspends.)  Also, the volume buttons (Fn-Left and Fn-Right) need to have keybinding to work.  I have not messed with those yet.

Offline

#9 2009-01-25 21:32:27

konni
Member
From: berlin
Registered: 2008-09-25
Posts: 98

Re: Lenovo Ideapad S10

sadly the broadcom driver locks up the whole system on wpa-enterprise networks.
ndiswrapper works fine there though and maybe some new version of broadcom-wl will fix this.

no other problems wink

Last edited by konni (2009-01-25 21:36:45)

Offline

#10 2009-01-27 13:50:50

rson451
Member
From: Annapolis, MD USA
Registered: 2007-04-15
Posts: 1,233
Website

Re: Lenovo Ideapad S10

webbrewer wrote:

Also, the volume buttons (Fn-Left and Fn-Right) need to have keybinding to work.  I have not messed with those yet.

Put something like

snip

in your ~/.Xmodmap file, then you can map the XF86Audio* keys to the correct functions in your window manager.  This may not be necessary in all window managers but I had to do this before fluxbox would recognize the keypresses.

[b]EDIT:  This seems to only be necessary in flux for whatever reason.  I'm back to my normal dwm and this messed the keybinds up, so I'll remove them from this thread until I do some further experimenting.

I also found that 866 what the best framebuffer resolution the same way you did smile

Instead of configuring in xorg.conf, I used hotplugging and an excerpt from a forum post to get the mousepad working correctly.  I still have no xorg.conf.  I will edit this post with the fdi file I used for the trackpad when I have my s10 with me.

I've tested the webcam, the linux-uvc-svn-all package in the aur works fine for me.  The mic on the other hand looks like it needs a newer version of alsa -- http://www.linlap.com/wiki/lenovo+ideapad+s10 reports that .18a worked in ubuntu and the current package available in arch is .18.  Alsa has release .19 and I quickly rebuilt the package to see if it would fix my problem but I had no luck.  I probably need to rebuild more packages as well.

I have not tested the card reader but I plan on testing that when I get home tonight.

Last edited by rson451 (2009-01-30 00:36:58)


archlinux - please read this and this — twice — then ask questions.
--
http://rsontech.net | http://github.com/rson

Offline

#11 2009-01-27 15:43:16

thatnewyorker
Member
From: Brooklyn
Registered: 2009-01-24
Posts: 73

Re: Lenovo Ideapad S10

Has anyone managed to get the built-in mic working?

Last edited by thatnewyorker (2009-01-29 18:06:27)


Whats happening to me? Why am I turning evil for you?

Offline

#12 2009-01-30 00:39:16

rson451
Member
From: Annapolis, MD USA
Registered: 2007-04-15
Posts: 1,233
Website

Re: Lenovo Ideapad S10

I built alsa-driver from alsa-project.org using the PKGBUILD from alsa-lib in the abs.  The internal mic seems to work now.  After building the package you need to install it with -Uf because the files will conflict with the kernel-headers package.  After insalling be sure to do a depmod -a and unload/reload the module or reboot.  I just held a 30 minute convo on skype and had no issues with audio whatsoever.


archlinux - please read this and this — twice — then ask questions.
--
http://rsontech.net | http://github.com/rson

Offline

#13 2009-02-02 07:02:20

thatnewyorker
Member
From: Brooklyn
Registered: 2009-01-24
Posts: 73

Re: Lenovo Ideapad S10

rson451 wrote:

I built alsa-driver from alsa-project.org using the PKGBUILD from alsa-lib in the abs.  The internal mic seems to work now.  After building the package you need to install it with -Uf because the files will conflict with the kernel-headers package.  After insalling be sure to do a depmod -a and unload/reload the module or reboot.  I just held a 30 minute convo on skype and had no issues with audio whatsoever.

Has anyone else sucessfully done this? I tried it and it didn't exactly work out.


Whats happening to me? Why am I turning evil for you?

Offline

#14 2009-02-21 23:56:50

Vardyr
Member
Registered: 2004-04-21
Posts: 9
Website

Re: Lenovo Ideapad S10

My internal mic is listed as "Internal Mic" rather than "Mic" so Skype doesn't pick it up. I have confirmed that the mic works after I un-mute it and turn up the volume, but I don't recall how to remap it to "Mic" in asound.conf/asound.rc.

The webcam is detected properly but doesn't work.

broadcom-wl driver works with my card, but I can't connect to my (nor my university's) hidden network. The latest patch found at http://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=248450 doesn't make any difference. Strangely, it worked for the first few days after installation.

Last edited by Vardyr (2009-02-21 23:57:31)

Offline

#15 2009-02-22 15:59:09

Jagged Loser
Member
Registered: 2009-02-22
Posts: 10

Re: Lenovo Ideapad S10

I just had to register to thank Webbrewer for starting this topic, as I have just ordered a Lenovo S10 and I hope to install Arch Linux on it. I ordered the 512MB/80GB model and I plan to add a 1GB module to bring it up to 1.5GB of RAM.

OffTopic to Rson451: nice website.

Offline

#16 2009-02-22 20:55:20

rebugger
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2007-10-28
Posts: 229

Re: Lenovo Ideapad S10

I have a s10e and nearly everything works.
bluetooth: ok
wlan: ok, using broadcom-wl - no problems so far
webcam: works - tried it with "cheese"

using gnome and dm-crypt right now.

tried skype, but mic didn't work - have to check again.

Offline

#17 2009-02-28 14:55:55

Jagged Loser
Member
Registered: 2009-02-22
Posts: 10

Re: Lenovo Ideapad S10

Okay, I got Arch x86 installed on my S10 but the trackpad doesn't respond at all. I didn't create a xorg.conf; rather I am allowing the system to autoconfigure like it does on my desktop. Do I need to create a xorg.conf for this to work? I was hoping to avoid that since I am unsure how to configure X for a 1024x600 resolution.

Offline

#18 2009-02-28 20:59:12

webbrewer
Member
From: Eugene, OR USA
Registered: 2007-07-10
Posts: 25

Re: Lenovo Ideapad S10

Jagged Loser wrote:

Okay, I got Arch x86 installed on my S10 but the trackpad doesn't respond at all. I didn't create a xorg.conf; rather I am allowing the system to autoconfigure like it does on my desktop. Do I need to create a xorg.conf for this to work? I was hoping to avoid that since I am unsure how to configure X for a 1024x600 resolution.

Did you install HAL?

Offline

#19 2009-02-28 23:37:52

Jagged Loser
Member
Registered: 2009-02-22
Posts: 10

Re: Lenovo Ideapad S10

Hal is installed and loaded. The keyboard does work, I just can't move the mouse.

Do I need special drivers for the trackpad? I installed OpenBSD as a test and it works fine out of the box, so I don't think it is that.

Offline

#20 2009-03-01 08:41:30

jason_f
Member
Registered: 2006-08-18
Posts: 78

Re: Lenovo Ideapad S10

webbrewer wrote:

I had trouble finding a the correct vga= parameter to allow framebuffer during boot up.  Apparently it can't be done for 1024x600 resolution.  I followed this guide: http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Gru … ant_to_use and found that 866 was the best option (1024x576).  So I added vga=866 to my grub config.

This vga mode doesnt work for me sad
Errors on boot. I ran vbetest and I only see 640x480 and 800x600 modes listed. did you do anything special to get 1024x600 to work?

Offline

#21 2009-03-01 10:29:07

webbrewer
Member
From: Eugene, OR USA
Registered: 2007-07-10
Posts: 25

Re: Lenovo Ideapad S10

jason_f wrote:
webbrewer wrote:

I had trouble finding a the correct vga= parameter to allow framebuffer during boot up.  Apparently it can't be done for 1024x600 resolution.  I followed this guide: http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Gru … ant_to_use and found that 866 was the best option (1024x576).  So I added vga=866 to my grub config.

This vga mode doesnt work for me sad
Errors on boot. I ran vbetest and I only see 640x480 and 800x600 modes listed. did you do anything special to get 1024x600 to work?

I don't recall doing anything special...

BTW: I just install xfce4-power-manager and it does an excellent job of configuring suspend/hibernate events as well as cpu frequency scaling.

Last edited by webbrewer (2009-03-01 10:32:14)

Offline

#22 2009-03-02 20:46:31

jason_f
Member
Registered: 2006-08-18
Posts: 78

Re: Lenovo Ideapad S10

Alright, well, here is a list of issues I've come across so far.

1) current netcfg2 has a bug with the broadcom driver (among a few others) that when taking the interface down, it doesnt complete. As a result the system wont suspend/hibernate. There is an existing bug report open for this and the fix is on the forums.

2)I've also got issues with the touchpad without using an xorg.conf file, and the microphone issue as well documented above. I have not yet found a fix for the mouse, but haven't started looking yet either.

3) the console resolution for me is slightly different. would appreciate feedback on this one, maybe there are differences in the models? I have a black, 1GB RAM, 160GB hdd model, 4231.

lspci:
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GME Express Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME, 943/940GML Express Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
vbetest:
VBE Version 3.0
Intel(r) 82945GM Chipset Family Graphics Chip Accelerated VGA BIOS
[274] 640x480 (8:8:8)
[276] 800x600 (5:6:5)
[277] 800x600 (8:8:8)
[257] 640x480 (256 color palette)
[259] 800x600 (256 color palette)
[273] 640x480 (5:6:5)
Type a mode number, or 'q' to quit -

The best vga= I found that works is 789 sad

Has anyone tried out the 2D/3D tweaks mentioned on the acer aspire one page?

Offline

#23 2009-03-02 21:21:03

rebugger
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2007-10-28
Posts: 229

Re: Lenovo Ideapad S10

vga=866 works with my s10e

Offline

#24 2009-03-02 21:25:11

rebugger
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2007-10-28
Posts: 229

Re: Lenovo Ideapad S10

Maybe anyone wants to start a wikipage for the s10/s10e? I'm just too lazy, but if there isnt an article next week, i will sit down and write one.

Offline

#25 2009-03-23 20:42:17

oniq
Member
From: Connecticut
Registered: 2006-11-22
Posts: 20
Website

Re: Lenovo Ideapad S10

Can anyone post their xorg.conf?  I am using the intel driver, ran Xorg -configure and just used that config.  However, when I get to my X desktop (gnome or openbox), the netbook freezes.  Tried ctrl-alt-backspace and couldn't get out.  Mouse doesn't work either.  I'm hoping I can get Arch on this.


Acer Aspire Revo AR1600 (Archlinux) - Sits next to the gaming box, for chat and browsing while I play games
Macbook Pro (OS X 10.6) - Main "work"station
Dell XPS 410 (Windows XP Media Center/Win 7 Dual boot) - Gaming box
Lenovo S10 (Jolicloud/testing)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB