You are not logged in.

#1 2009-01-03 19:41:43

skottish
Forum Fellow

I need some help configuring Vim [SOLVED, but more]

I'm new to Vim and have been searching for days trying to get the editor set up the way that I want it. I'm tired of searching for information, and I know that a bunch of you can answer this question, so here it is:

In Geany I have auto-complete set up in such a way that when I get to the fourth character of a command, the completion menu pops up. This is particularly useful for LaTeX documents in that it's not intrusive, and it helps me to remember commands (I still type them out to commit to memory). Also, Geany is not trying to auto-complete the content of the document, only commands. This is exactly how I want LaTeX set up in Vim. How is this done?

#2 2009-01-03 19:56:52

fwojciec

Re: I need some help configuring Vim [SOLVED, but more]

Dunno about the specific method of autocompletion you're looking for -- standard autocompletion is done with Ctrl-P/Ctrl-N...

For LaTeX I use latex-suite plugin -- it lets me use abbreviations for commonly used latex commands, like "EQE" gets xpanded to this:

\begin{quote}

\end{quote}<++>

You can enter the value you want and press Ctrl-j to move the cursor to "<++>" marker and remove the marker.  "FEM" is expanded to \emph{}, "SSE" to "\section{}", etc.  I find that easier and more intuitive than using completion for LaTeX commands, but I appreciate that it all depends on what you're used to...

#3 2009-01-03 19:58:41

ArchArael

Maybe this can help you.
http://vim-latex.sourceforge.net/

Usually vim is extended by scripts. You can find a lot of scripts in the official site.
http://www.vim.org/scripts/index.php

Another important resource are vim tips. They can improve a lot your productivity.
http://vim.wikia.com/wiki/Main_Page

smile

Last edited by ArchArael (2009-01-03 20:00:40)

#4 2009-01-03 20:01:38

skottish
Forum Fellow

fwojciec wrote: