You are not logged in.

#1 2009-01-08 10:25:07

chsims1
Member
From: Holderness, UK
Registered: 2008-11-25
Posts: 77

[SOLVED]Autotools installed, but autoreconf not found?

Hi, I'm trying to build a package (upslug2), which is in the AUR.  On attempting to build via ABS, this fails with the errors:

==> Starting make...
PKGBUILD: line 32: autoreconf: command not found
PKGBUILD: line 33: ./configure: No such file or directory
make: *** No targets specified and no makefile found.  Stop.
==> ERROR: Build Failed.

I get similar problems if I try to do a manual build from source ie. 'autoreconf' is not found. 

I definitely have 'autotools' installed, which I believe should include 'autoreconf.' Any ideas where I'm going wrong please?

Last edited by chsims1 (2009-01-08 11:01:32)

Offline

#2 2009-01-08 10:34:03

Allan
Developer
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 10,409
Website

Re: [SOLVED]Autotools installed, but autoreconf not found?

> pacman -Qo /usr/bin/autoreconf
/usr/bin/autoreconf is owned by autoconf 2.63-1

Offline

#3 2009-01-08 10:45:43

chsims1
Member
From: Holderness, UK
Registered: 2008-11-25
Posts: 77

Re: [SOLVED]Autotools installed, but autoreconf not found?

pacman -Qo /usr/bin/autoreconf
error: failed to read file '/usr/bin/autoreconf': No such file or directory

I have removed and reinstalled autotools (xorg-util-macros) and I still get the above error.  I can't see why it doesn't apparently install mad

Offline

#4 2009-01-08 10:48:14

Allan
Developer
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 10,409
Website

Re: [SOLVED]Autotools installed, but autoreconf not found?

Read what I posted again and think about what package you need to install...

Offline

#5 2009-01-08 11:00:53

chsims1
Member
From: Holderness, UK
Registered: 2008-11-25
Posts: 77

Re: [SOLVED]Autotools installed, but autoreconf not found?

OK, sorry for not reading more carefully, so the problem was the duff information about which package 'autoreconf' could be found in.  Thanks for your help

Offline

#6 2009-01-08 16:21:16

skottish
Forum Fellow
From: Here
Registered: 2006-06-16
Posts: 7,931

Re: [SOLVED]Autotools installed, but autoreconf not found?

Hi chsims1,

If you're going to be building software in Arch, which obviously you are, install the whole group base-devel. It has the entire build foundation:

pacman -S base-devel

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB