You are not logged in.

#1 2009-01-10 21:39:00

skinney
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2007-04-07
Posts: 37

Conky won't stay below other windows...

Hellu!

I'm currently using conky with a conkyrc from my Ubuntu laptop which works quite well... Problem is, when Compiz is started, Conky suddently wants to stay on top of all other windows. Restarting conky fixes the problem, but I'd rather not restart conky everytime i login to the system... Anyone know how to fix this?

Also. Is there a way to add conky to compiz' widget-layer and still have it below all other windows? Basically, I want it on the desktop unless i hit a key, which makes it come on top of everything.

Heres my conky configuration:

# Use Xft?
use_xft yes
xftfont DejaVu Sans:size=8
xftalpha 0.8
text_buffer_size 2048

# Update interval in seconds
update_interval 1

# This is the number of times Conky will update before quitting.
# Set to zero to run forever.
total_run_times 0

# Create own window instead of using desktop (required in nautilus)
own_window yes
own_window_transparent yes
own_window_type override
#own_window_hints undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager

# Use double buffering (reduces flicker, may not work for everyone)
double_buffer yes

# Minimum size of text area
minimum_size 240 0
maximum_width 240

# Draw shades?
draw_shades no

# Draw outlines?
draw_outline no

# Draw borders around text
draw_borders no

# Stippled borders?
stippled_borders 0

# border margins
border_margin 5

# border width
border_width 1

# Default colors and also border colors
default_color white
#default_shade_color black
#default_outline_color white
own_window_colour white

# Text alignment, other possible values are commented
#alignment top_left
alignment top_right
#alignment bottom_left
#alignment bottom_right

# Gap between borders of screen and text
# same thing as passing -x at command line
gap_x 5
gap_y 35

# Subtract file system buffers from used memory?
no_buffers yes

# set to yes if you want all text to be in uppercase
uppercase no

# number of cpu samples to average
# set to 1 to disable averaging
cpu_avg_samples 2

# number of net samples to average
# set to 1 to disable averaging
net_avg_samples 2

# Force UTF8? note that UTF8 support required XFT
override_utf8_locale yes

# Add spaces to keep things from moving about?  This only affects certain objects.
use_spacer none

TEXT
${alignc 35}${font Arial Black:size=26}${time %H:%M}${font}
${alignc}${time %A %d %Y}

SYSTEM ${hr 2}
${voffset 3}${font StyleBats:size=16}q${font}${voffset -5}   Uptime: ${alignr}${uptime}
${voffset 3}${font OpenLogos:size=16}B${font}${voffset -5}   Kernel:  ${alignr}${kernel}
${voffset 3}${font StyleBats:size=16}A${font}${voffset -5}   CPU1: ${cpu cpu1}% ${alignr}${cpubar cpu1 8,100}
${voffset 3}${font StyleBats:size=16}A${font}${voffset -5}   CPU2: ${cpu cpu2}% ${alignr}${cpubar cpu2 8,100}
${voffset 3}${font StyleBats:size=16}g${font}${voffset -5}   RAM: $memperc% ${alignr}${membar 8,100}
${voffset 3}${font StyleBats:size=16}j${font}${voffset -5}   SWAP: $swapperc% ${alignr}${swapbar 8,100}

PROCESS ${hr 2}
${font}${top name 1} ${alignr}CPU:${top cpu 1}% MEM:${top mem 1}%
${font}${top name 2} ${alignr}CPU:${top cpu 2}% MEM:${top mem 2}%
${font}${top name 3} ${alignr}CPU:${top cpu 3}% MEM:${top mem 3}%
${font}${top name 4} ${alignr}CPU:${top cpu 4}% MEM:${top mem 4}%

HD ${hr 2}
${voffset 4}${font Pie charts for maps:size=14}7${font}   ${voffset -5}Free space:
${voffset 6}${fs_free /}/${fs_size /} ${alignr}${fs_bar 8,100 /}

NETWORK ${hr 2}
${if_existing /proc/net/route wlan0}
${voffset -6}${font PizzaDude Bullets:size=14}O${font}   Up: ${upspeed wlan0} kb/s ${alignr}${upspeedgraph wlan0 8,100 F57900 FCAF3E}
${voffset 4}${font PizzaDude Bullets:size=14}U${font}   Down: ${downspeed wlan0} kb/s ${alignr}${downspeedgraph wlan0 8,100 F57900 FCAF3E}
${voffset 4}${font PizzaDude Bullets:size=14}N${font}   Upload: ${alignr}${totalup wlan0}
${voffset 4}${font PizzaDude Bullets:size=14}T${font}   Download: ${alignr}${totaldown wlan0}
${voffset 4}${font PizzaDude Bullets:size=14}a${font}   Local Ip: ${alignr}${addr wlan0}
${voffset 4}${font PizzaDude Bullets:size=14}b${font}   Public Ip: ${alignr}${execi 1 ~/.scripts/ip.sh}
${else}${if_existing /proc/net/route eth0}
${voffset -6}${font PizzaDude Bullets:size=14}O${font}   Up: ${upspeed eth0} kb/s ${alignr}${upspeedgraph eth0 8,100 F57900 FCAF3E}
${voffset 4}${font PizzaDude Bullets:size=14}U${font}   Down: ${downspeed eth0} kb/s ${alignr}${downspeedgraph eth0 8,100 F57900 FCAF3E}
${voffset 4}${font PizzaDude Bullets:size=14}N${font}   Upload: ${alignr}${totalup eth0}
${voffset 4}${font PizzaDude Bullets:size=14}T${font}   Download: ${alignr}${totaldown eth0}
${voffset 4}${font PizzaDude Bullets:size=14}a${font}   Local Ip: ${alignr}${addr eth0}
${voffset 4}${font PizzaDude Bullets:size=14}b${font}   Public Ip: ${alignr}${execi 1 ~/.scripts/ip.sh}
${endif}${else}${if_existing /proc/net/route eth1}
${voffset -6}${font PizzaDude Bullets:size=14}O${font}   Up: ${upspeed eth1} kb/s ${alignr}${upspeedgraph eth1 8,100 F57900 FCAF3E}
${voffset 4}${font PizzaDude Bullets:size=14}U${font}   Down: ${downspeed eth1} kb/s ${alignr}${downspeedgraph eth1 8,100 F57900 FCAF3E}
${voffset 4}${font PizzaDude Bullets:size=14}N${font}   Upload: ${alignr}${totalup eth1}
${voffset 4}${font PizzaDude Bullets:size=14}T${font}   Download: ${alignr}${totaldown eth1}
${voffset 4}${font PizzaDude Bullets:size=14}a${font}   Local Ip: ${alignr}${addr eth1}
${voffset 4}${font PizzaDude Bullets:size=14}b${font}   Public Ip: ${alignr}${execi 1 ~/.scripts/ip.sh}
${endif}${else}
${font PizzaDude Bullets:size=14}4${font}   Network Unavailable
${endif}

Offline

#2 2009-01-10 21:46:59

initbox
Member
Registered: 2008-09-27
Posts: 168

Re: Conky won't stay below other windows...

own_window_type override
#own_window_hints undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager

use

own_window_type desktop

and

own_window_hints undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager

Last edited by initbox (2009-01-10 21:52:05)

Offline

#3 2009-01-11 00:15:03

pyther
Member
Registered: 2008-01-21
Posts: 1,395
Website

Re: Conky won't stay below other windows...

Thanks! I was having the same problem so I went to google. And this was like the 4th or 5th result. Then I noticed that you edited the post today! Lol

Anyways this works great for me!


Website - Blog - arch-home
Arch User since March 2005

Offline

#4 2009-01-11 01:16:22

moljac024
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2008-01-29
Posts: 2,676

Re: Conky won't stay below other windows...

Strange, there was quite a few of us who WANTED conky to stay on top but it wouldn't play ball...


The day Microsoft makes a product that doesn't suck, is the day they make a vacuum cleaner.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
But if they tell you that I've lost my mind, maybe it's not gone just a little hard to find...

Offline

#5 2009-01-11 03:06:23

pyther
Member
Registered: 2008-01-21
Posts: 1,395
Website

Re: Conky won't stay below other windows...

^^
Well for me conky would stay on the bottom the first startup, but then any startup after that it would stay on-top of other windows.


Website - Blog - arch-home
Arch User since March 2005

Offline

#6 2009-01-11 19:09:19

skinney
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2007-04-07
Posts: 37

Re: Conky won't stay below other windows...

Using your code initbox seems to work, however, if i click on the desktop (not conky, but someplace else) conky just disapears :S

Offline

#7 2009-01-11 21:12:53

ploub
Member
Registered: 2007-05-16
Posts: 128

Re: Conky won't stay below other windows...

Are you using kde4? I had that problem, the way I got round it was to use feh to set the wall

Offline

#8 2009-01-11 23:01:42

skinney
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2007-04-07
Posts: 37

Re: Conky won't stay below other windows...

Nah, using the latest Gnome :S

Offline

#9 2009-01-12 07:12:07

ploub
Member
Registered: 2007-05-16
Posts: 128

Re: Conky won't stay below other windows...

Try running a script like this at startup:

#!/bin/bash
sleep 30 && conky

Offline

#10 2009-01-12 19:24:38

skinney
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2007-04-07
Posts: 37

Re: Conky won't stay below other windows...

Worked ploub, thanks smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB