You are not logged in.

#1 2009-01-25 16:48:00

Redrazor39
Member
Registered: 2008-12-23
Posts: 108

Xmonad.hs file: I need a template, but the official one gives errors

I just installed Xmonad and I am LOVING it, but I need some help setting up an xmonad.hs file. I created one in ~/.xmonad/xmonad.hs and looked for a well-commented template since I don't know any Haskell (or any programming language, for that matter). This is the one I copied to the file:

http://www.haskell.org/haskellwiki/Xmon … _xmonad.hs

Which gives:

--
-- xmonad example config file.
--
-- A template showing all available configuration hooks,
-- and how to override the defaults in your own xmonad.hs conf file.
--
-- Normally, you'd only override those defaults you care about.
--
 
import XMonad
import System.Exit
 
import qualified XMonad.StackSet as W
import qualified Data.Map        as M
 
-- The preferred terminal program, which is used in a binding below and by
-- certain contrib modules.
--
myTerminal      = "xterm"
 
-- Width of the window border in pixels.
--
myBorderWidth   = 1
 
-- modMask lets you specify which modkey you want to use. The default
-- is mod1Mask ("left alt").  You may also consider using mod3Mask
-- ("right alt"), which does not conflict with emacs keybindings. The
-- "windows key" is usually mod4Mask.
--
myModMask       = mod1Mask
 
-- The mask for the numlock key. Numlock status is "masked" from the
-- current modifier status, so the keybindings will work with numlock on or
-- off. You may need to change this on some systems.
--
-- You can find the numlock modifier by running "xmodmap" and looking for a
-- modifier with Num_Lock bound to it:
--
-- > $ xmodmap | grep Num
-- > mod2        Num_Lock (0x4d)
--
-- Set numlockMask = 0 if you don't have a numlock key, or want to treat
-- numlock status separately.
--
myNumlockMask   = mod2Mask
 
-- The default number of workspaces (virtual screens) and their names.
-- By default we use numeric strings, but any string may be used as a
-- workspace name. The number of workspaces is determined by the length
-- of this list.
--
-- A tagging example:
--
-- > workspaces = ["web", "irc", "code" ] ++ map show [4..9]
--
myWorkspaces    = ["1","2","3","4","5","6","7","8","9"]
 
-- Border colors for unfocused and focused windows, respectively.
--
myNormalBorderColor  = "#dddddd"
myFocusedBorderColor = "#ff0000"
 
-- Default offset of drawable screen boundaries from each physical
-- screen. Anything non-zero here will leave a gap of that many pixels
-- on the given edge, on the that screen. A useful gap at top of screen
-- for a menu bar (e.g. 15)
--
-- An example, to set a top gap on monitor 1, and a gap on the bottom of
-- monitor 2, you'd use a list of geometries like so:
--
-- > defaultGaps = [(18,0,0,0),(0,18,0,0)] -- 2 gaps on 2 monitors
--
-- Fields are: top, bottom, left, right.
--
myDefaultGaps   = [(0,0,0,0)]
 
------------------------------------------------------------------------
-- Key bindings. Add, modify or remove key bindings here.
--
myKeys conf@(XConfig {XMonad.modMask = modMask}) = M.fromList $
 
    -- launch a terminal
    [ ((modMask .|. shiftMask, xK_Return), spawn $ XMonad.terminal conf)
 
    -- launch dmenu
    , ((modMask,               xK_p     ), spawn "exe=`dmenu_path | dmenu` && eval \"exec $exe\"")
 
    -- launch gmrun
    , ((modMask .|. shiftMask, xK_p     ), spawn "gmrun")
 
    -- close focused window 
    , ((modMask .|. shiftMask, xK_c     ), kill)
 
     -- Rotate through the available layout algorithms
    , ((modMask,               xK_space ), sendMessage NextLayout)
 
    --  Reset the layouts on the current workspace to default
    , ((modMask .|. shiftMask, xK_space ), setLayout $ XMonad.layoutHook conf)
 
    -- Resize viewed windows to the correct size
    , ((modMask,               xK_n     ), refresh)
 
    -- Move focus to the next window
    , ((modMask,               xK_Tab   ), windows W.focusDown)
 
    -- Move focus to the next window
    , ((modMask,               xK_j     ), windows W.focusDown)
 
    -- Move focus to the previous window
    , ((modMask,               xK_k     ), windows W.focusUp  )
 
    -- Move focus to the master window
    , ((modMask,               xK_m     ), windows W.focusMaster  )
 
    -- Swap the focused window and the master window
    , ((modMask,               xK_Return), windows W.swapMaster)
 
    -- Swap the focused window with the next window
    , ((modMask .|. shiftMask, xK_j     ), windows W.swapDown  )
 
    -- Swap the focused window with the previous window
    , ((modMask .|. shiftMask, xK_k     ), windows W.swapUp    )
 
    -- Shrink the master area
    , ((modMask,               xK_h     ), sendMessage Shrink)
 
    -- Expand the master area
    , ((modMask,               xK_l     ), sendMessage Expand)
 
    -- Push window back into tiling
    , ((modMask,               xK_t     ), withFocused $ windows . W.sink)
 
    -- Increment the number of windows in the master area
    , ((modMask              , xK_comma ), sendMessage (IncMasterN 1))
 
    -- Deincrement the number of windows in the master area
    , ((modMask              , xK_period), sendMessage (IncMasterN (-1)))
 
    -- toggle the status bar gap
    , ((modMask              , xK_b     ),
          modifyGap (\i n -> let x = (XMonad.defaultGaps conf ++ repeat (0,0,0,0)) !! i
                             in if n == x then (0,0,0,0) else x))
 
    -- Quit xmonad
    , ((modMask .|. shiftMask, xK_q     ), io (exitWith ExitSuccess))
 
    -- Restart xmonad
    , ((modMask              , xK_q     ),
          broadcastMessage ReleaseResources >> restart "xmonad" True)
    ]
    ++
 
    --
    -- mod-[1..9], Switch to workspace N
    -- mod-shift-[1..9], Move client to workspace N
    --
    [((m .|. modMask, k), windows $ f i)
        | (i, k) <- zip (XMonad.workspaces conf) [xK_1 .. xK_9]
        , (f, m) <- [(W.greedyView, 0), (W.shift, shiftMask)]]
    ++
 
    --
    -- mod-{w,e,r}, Switch to physical/Xinerama screens 1, 2, or 3
    -- mod-shift-{w,e,r}, Move client to screen 1, 2, or 3
    --
    [((m .|. modMask, key), screenWorkspace sc >>= flip whenJust (windows . f))
        | (key, sc) <- zip [xK_w, xK_e, xK_r] [0..]
        , (f, m) <- [(W.view, 0), (W.shift, shiftMask)]]
 
 
------------------------------------------------------------------------
-- Mouse bindings: default actions bound to mouse events
--
myMouseBindings (XConfig {XMonad.modMask = modMask}) = M.fromList $
 
    -- mod-button1, Set the window to floating mode and move by dragging
    [ ((modMask, button1), (\w -> focus w >> mouseMoveWindow w))
 
    -- mod-button2, Raise the window to the top of the stack
    , ((modMask, button2), (\w -> focus w >> windows W.swapMaster))
 
    -- mod-button3, Set the window to floating mode and resize by dragging
    , ((modMask, button3), (\w -> focus w >> mouseResizeWindow w))
 
    -- you may also bind events to the mouse scroll wheel (button4 and button5)
    ]
 
------------------------------------------------------------------------
-- Layouts:
 
-- You can specify and transform your layouts by modifying these values.
-- If you change layout bindings be sure to use 'mod-shift-space' after
-- restarting (with 'mod-q') to reset your layout state to the new
-- defaults, as xmonad preserves your old layout settings by default.
--
-- The available layouts.  Note that each layout is separated by |||,
-- which denotes layout choice.
--
myLayout = tiled ||| Mirror tiled ||| Full
  where
     -- default tiling algorithm partitions the screen into two panes
     tiled   = Tall nmaster delta ratio
 
     -- The default number of windows in the master pane
     nmaster = 1
 
     -- Default proportion of screen occupied by master pane
     ratio   = 1/2
 
     -- Percent of screen to increment by when resizing panes
     delta   = 3/100
 
------------------------------------------------------------------------
-- Window rules:
 
-- Execute arbitrary actions and WindowSet manipulations when managing
-- a new window. You can use this to, for example, always float a
-- particular program, or have a client always appear on a particular
-- workspace.
--
-- To find the property name associated with a program, use
-- > xprop | grep WM_CLASS
-- and click on the client you're interested in.
--
-- To match on the WM_NAME, you can use 'title' in the same way that
-- 'className' and 'resource' are used below.
--
myManageHook = composeAll
    [ className =? "MPlayer"        --> doFloat
    , className =? "Gimp"           --> doFloat
    , resource  =? "desktop_window" --> doIgnore
    , resource  =? "kdesktop"       --> doIgnore ]
 
-- Whether focus follows the mouse pointer.
myFocusFollowsMouse :: Bool
myFocusFollowsMouse = True
 
------------------------------------------------------------------------
-- Status bars and logging
 
-- Perform an arbitrary action on each internal state change or X event.
-- See the 'DynamicLog' extension for examples.
--
-- To emulate dwm's status bar
--
-- > logHook = dynamicLogDzen
--
myLogHook = return ()
 
------------------------------------------------------------------------
-- Now run xmonad with all the defaults we set up.
 
-- Run xmonad with the settings you specify. No need to modify this.
--
main = xmonad defaults
 
-- A structure containing your configuration settings, overriding
-- fields in the default config. Any you don't override, will 
-- use the defaults defined in xmonad/XMonad/Config.hs
-- 
-- No need to modify this.
--
defaults = defaultConfig {
      -- simple stuff
        terminal           = myTerminal,
        focusFollowsMouse  = myFocusFollowsMouse,
        borderWidth        = myBorderWidth,
        modMask            = myModMask,
        numlockMask        = myNumlockMask,
        workspaces         = myWorkspaces,
        normalBorderColor  = myNormalBorderColor,
        focusedBorderColor = myFocusedBorderColor,
        defaultGaps        = myDefaultGaps,
 
      -- key bindings
        keys               = myKeys,
        mouseBindings      = myMouseBindings,
 
      -- hooks, layouts
        layoutHook         = myLayout,
        manageHook         = myManageHook,
        logHook            = myLogHook
    }

So I copied all this into my new xmonad.hs file and then restarted xmonad with mod+q, but a window popped up giving me this error:

Error detected while loading xmonad configuration file: /home/agi/.xmonad/xmonad.hs

on the commandline:
    Warning: -no-recomp is deprecated: Use -fforce-recomp instead

xmonad.hs:141:10: Not in scope: `modifyGap'

xmonad.hs:141:38: Not in scope: `XMonad.defaultGaps'

xmonad.hs:273:8: Not in scope: `defaultGaps'

Please check the file for errors.

I'm not exactly sure what any of this means. If someone could help me decipher this or, better yet, post a better (well-commented so I can understand it) default xmonad.hs file that I can use, that would be great.

Offline

#2 2009-01-25 16:54:15

ST.x
Member
From: Sydney, Australia
Registered: 2008-01-25
Posts: 363
Website

Re: Xmonad.hs file: I need a template, but the official one gives errors

Follow this guide to get a basic config set up.

Offline

#3 2009-01-25 16:56:35

Redrazor39
Member
Registered: 2008-12-23
Posts: 108

Re: Xmonad.hs file: I need a template, but the official one gives errors

Thanks! I've been googling for hours for a guide, lol

Offline

#4 2009-01-25 18:32:22

Redrazor39
Member
Registered: 2008-12-23
Posts: 108

Re: Xmonad.hs file: I need a template, but the official one gives errors

Alright! I've got xmonad almost set up! One major thing I still want to do is add some sort of pager-like display in the top left of xmobar. Just to show workspaces 1-9 and highlight the one I'm in (giving a preview of my windows or telling me which ones I have windows in would be great, but not absolutely necessary).

I can't find anything (that I understand) online. Help?

Here's my xmonad.hs:

import XMonad
import XMonad.Hooks.DynamicLog
import XMonad.Hooks.ManageDocks
import XMonad.Util.Run(spawnPipe)
import XMonad.Util.EZConfig(additionalKeys)
import System.IO

myManageHook = composeAll
    [ className =? "Gimp"      --> doFloat
    ]

main = do
    xmproc <- spawnPipe "/path/to/xmobarbinary /home/jgoerzen/.xmobarrc"
    -- make sure to edit paths to xmobar and .xmobarrc to match your system.
    -- If xmobar is in your $PATH, with config ~/.xmobarrc you don't need the
    -- xmobar path or config file, use: xmproc <- spawnPipe "xmobar"  
    xmonad $ defaultConfig
        { manageHook = manageDocks <+> manageHook defaultConfig
        , layoutHook = avoidStruts  $  layoutHook defaultConfig
        , logHook = dynamicLogWithPP $ xmobarPP
                        { ppOutput = hPutStrLn xmproc
                        , ppTitle = xmobarColor "green" "" . shorten 50
                        }
        , modMask = mod1Mask     
        } `additionalKeys`
        [ ((mod1Mask .|. shiftMask, xK_z), spawn "xscreensaver-command -lock")
        , ((controlMask, xK_Print), spawn "scrot -s")
        , ((0, xK_Print), spawn "scrot")
        ]

and here's my xmobarrc:

 Config { font = "-Misc-Fixed-Bold-R-Normal--13-120-75-75-C-70-ISO8859-1"
       , bgColor = "black"
       , fgColor = "grey"
       , position = TopW L 90
       , commands = [ Run Cpu ["-L","3","-H","50","--normal","green","--high","red"] 10
                    , Run Memory ["-t","Mem: <usedratio>%"] 10
                    , Run Swap [] 10
                    , Run Date "%a %b %_d %l:%M" "date" 10
                    , Run StdinReader
                    ]
       , sepChar = "%"
       , alignSep = "}{"
       , template = "%StdinReader% }{ %cpu% | %memory% * %swap%    <fc=#ee9a00>%date%</fc> |"
       }

Offline

#5 2009-01-25 18:44:41

SamC
Member
From: Calgary
Registered: 2008-05-13
Posts: 611
Website

Re: Xmonad.hs file: I need a template, but the official one gives errors

If you follow the guide, it shows you how you can get that. Also look through the guides to dynamicLog on the contrib documentation pages, as well as through the configuration archive.

Offline

#6 2009-01-25 18:50:27

Redrazor39
Member
Registered: 2008-12-23
Posts: 108

Re: Xmonad.hs file: I need a template, but the official one gives errors

I was following the guide ST.x posted as best as I could, copying and pasting the files, and still I'm not sure what's wrong. I see something at the top left of my xmobar that says "Updating..." and that's it. It never gets beyond that. Is that what I'm looking for and something is wrong?

If this is the website you're talking about:
http://xmonad.org/xmonad-docs/xmonad-co … icLog.html

I don't really understand what exactly to do with that text and where in my xmonad.hs or xmobarrc to put it. Sorry, but I'm really new to this.

Offline

#7 2009-01-25 18:57:39

SamC
Member
From: Calgary
Registered: 2008-05-13
Posts: 611
Website

Re: Xmonad.hs file: I need a template, but the official one gives errors

Redrazor39 wrote:

I was following the guide ST.x posted as best as I could, copying and pasting the files, and still I'm not sure what's wrong. I see something at the top left of my xmobar that says "Updating..." and that's it. It never gets beyond that. Is that what I'm looking for and something is wrong?

If this is the website you're talking about:
http://xmonad.org/xmonad-docs/xmonad-co … icLog.html

I don't really understand what exactly to do with that text and where in my xmonad.hs or xmobarrc to put it. Sorry, but I'm really new to this.

1st. Copying and pasting is not the right way to go about things, you really ought to actually read what you're doing.
2nd. There is a "Usage" section on that page, which tells you exactly where to put it. The "import" lines go at the top of xmonad.hs, and later on in the page, there is a section for "Drop-in Loggers".

Offline

#8 2009-01-25 19:12:11

Redrazor39
Member
Registered: 2008-12-23
Posts: 108

Re: Xmonad.hs file: I need a template, but the official one gives errors

By Copying and Pasting i meant I was trying my best to ensure I didn't mistype any characters or miss some spaces, not that I was just blindly doing so without reading.

Anyway, after looking through that website again, I just want to make sure this would be the right change:

xmonad.hs (change in the line that says logHook):

import XMonad
import XMonad.Hooks.DynamicLog
import XMonad.Hooks.ManageDocks
import XMonad.Util.Run(spawnPipe)
import XMonad.Util.EZConfig(additionalKeys)
import System.IO

myManageHook = composeAll
    [ className =? "Gimp"      --> doFloat
    ]

main = do
    xmproc <- spawnPipe "/path/to/xmobarbinary /home/jgoerzen/.xmobarrc"
    -- make sure to edit paths to xmobar and .xmobarrc to match your system.
    -- If xmobar is in your $PATH, with config ~/.xmobarrc you don't need the
    -- xmobar path or config file, use: xmproc <- spawnPipe "xmobar"  
    xmonad $ defaultConfig
        { manageHook = manageDocks <+> manageHook defaultConfig
        , layoutHook = avoidStruts  $  layoutHook defaultConfig
        , logHook = loghook = dynamicLog :: X ()
                        { ppOutput = hPutStrLn xmproc
                        , ppTitle = xmobarColor "green" "" . shorten 50
                        }
        , modMask = mod1Mask     
        } `additionalKeys`
        [ ((mod1Mask .|. shiftMask, xK_z), spawn "xscreensaver-command -lock")
        , ((controlMask, xK_Print), spawn "scrot -s")
        , ((0, xK_Print), spawn "scrot")
        ]

I changed the logHook = dynamicLogWithPP $ xmobarPP to logHook = dynamicLog :: X ()


But then what about all the stuff in my xmobarrc file? Would anything that is right aligned (CPU and Mem status, time, date, separator, etc.) be changed? Does this only affect the part that is leftmost aligned in my xmobar? I don't have my xmonad system here right now so I can't just test it, which is why I'm asking to make sure this is right.

Last edited by Redrazor39 (2009-01-25 19:14:51)

Offline

#9 2009-01-25 19:31:24

pointone
Wiki Admin
From: Waterloo, ON
Registered: 2008-02-21
Posts: 379

Re: Xmonad.hs file: I need a template, but the official one gives errors

Hint: xmproc <- spawnPipe "/path/to/xmobarbinary /home/jgoerzen/.xmobarrc"

Something in there is probably wrong...


M*cr*s*ft: Who needs quality when you have marketing?

Offline

#10 2009-01-25 19:32:20

SamC
Member
From: Calgary
Registered: 2008-05-13
Posts: 611
Website

Re: Xmonad.hs file: I need a template, but the official one gives errors

As long as you have a StdinReader in .xmobarrc, it should work fine. However, your logHook is messed up. If I were you, I would change it back to

logHook=dynamicLogWithPP $ xmobarPP

, as having

logHook = loghook

is certainly not right. Also, by default, xmobar reads ~/.xmobarrc, so you do not need to append it to the spawnPipe.

Offline

#11 2009-01-25 19:40:44

Redrazor39
Member
Registered: 2008-12-23
Posts: 108

Re: Xmonad.hs file: I need a template, but the official one gives errors

pointone wrote:

Hint: xmproc <- spawnPipe "/path/to/xmobarbinary /home/jgoerzen/.xmobarrc"

Something in there is probably wrong...

Lol thanks. Silly me tongue

SamC wrote:

As long as you have a StdinReader in .xmobarrc, it should work fine. However, your logHook is messed up. If I were you, I would change it back to


logHook=dynamicLogWithPP $ xmobarPP

, as having

logHook = loghook

is certainly not right. Also, by default, xmobar reads ~/.xmobarrc, so you do not need to append it to the spawnPipe.

Alright, I'll just keep the logHook the same.

logHook = loghook isn't in there; I was copying and pasting for this post and messed up.

So then I probably had it right the first time, but the part pointone caught was probably why it's stuck on "Updating...". SamC, are you saying I can just delete the line that says

xmproc <- spawnPipe "/path/to/xmobarbinary /home/jgoerzen/.xmobarrc"

since I put my xmobar config in ~/.xmobarrc? Or should I just fix the username and that should be enough?

Offline

#12 2009-01-25 19:49:14

SamC
Member
From: Calgary
Registered: 2008-05-13
Posts: 611
Website

Re: Xmonad.hs file: I need a template, but the official one gives errors

No, don't delete it, that's what tells XMonad where to pipe the information. However, if xmobar is in you path you should be able to just strip it down to "xmproc <- spawnPipe "xmobar".

Offline

#13 2009-01-26 00:43:39

Redrazor39
Member
Registered: 2008-12-23
Posts: 108

Re: Xmonad.hs file: I need a template, but the official one gives errors

Yes!!! It works!!! Thank you so much!

Alright, now that I've got xmobar set up right, I'm off to trayer, wicd, autostarting apps, gtk theme, and more. Ah, well. It'll all be worth it in the end smile

Offline

#14 2009-01-26 01:58:18

Redrazor39
Member
Registered: 2008-12-23
Posts: 108

Re: Xmonad.hs file: I need a template, but the official one gives errors

Ok, now I want to set the default terminal to Xfce's (I had this installed before) "Terminal". Googling has told me to put this

myTerminal = "Terminal"

in my xmonad.hs file, but I'm not sure exactly where to put it. I put it right above the main = do line (with one line spacing) and nothing happened when I restarted xmonad. If you need my xmonad.hs file here it is:

import XMonad
import XMonad.Hooks.DynamicLog
import XMonad.Hooks.ManageDocks
import XMonad.Util.Run(spawnPipe)
import XMonad.Util.EZConfig(additionalKeys)
import System.IO

myManageHook = composeAll
    [ className =? "Gimp"      --> doFloat
    ]

main = do
    xmproc <- spawnPipe "xmobar"
    -- make sure to edit paths to xmobar and .xmobarrc to match your system.
    -- If xmobar is in your $PATH, with config ~/.xmobarrc you don't need the
    -- xmobar path or config file, use: xmproc <- spawnPipe "xmobar"  
    xmonad $ defaultConfig
        { manageHook = manageDocks <+> manageHook defaultConfig
        , layoutHook = avoidStruts  $  layoutHook defaultConfig
        , logHook = dynamicLogWithPP $ xmobarPP
                        { ppOutput = hPutStrLn xmproc
                        , ppTitle = xmobarColor "green" "" . shorten 50
                        }
        , modMask = mod1Mask     
        } `additionalKeys`
        [ ((mod1Mask .|. shiftMask, xK_z), spawn "xscreensaver-command -lock")
        , ((controlMask, xK_Print), spawn "scrot -s")
        , ((0, xK_Print), spawn "scrot")
        ]

Where do I put this? Xterm is nice, but just...so...ugly!

Btw I know Xfce's terminal is called "Terminal" because that's what it's named when I launch it with dmenu.

Offline

#15 2009-01-26 02:01:20

SamC
Member
From: Calgary
Registered: 2008-05-13
Posts: 611
Website

Re: Xmonad.hs file: I need a template, but the official one gives errors

Put it say below the ",modMask = mod1Mask" line, write something like "terminal = "Terminal"".

Offline

#16 2009-01-26 02:04:15

Redrazor39
Member
Registered: 2008-12-23
Posts: 108

Re: Xmonad.hs file: I need a template, but the official one gives errors

Yay! It works! Thanks

Offline

#17 2009-07-18 16:25:17

nephish99
Member
Registered: 2007-09-01
Posts: 85

Re: Xmonad.hs file: I need a template, but the official one gives errors

Just wanted to pop in here and say thanks for this info / problem solve.
I just got xmonad to do what i want after finding out how here.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB