You are not logged in.

#1 2009-02-08 19:49:14

robertoprs

[SOLVED] Error mounting a Fat32 partition

Hi, I'm new to this distro, but it looks quite neat. Unfortunately, I have an issue that I haven't been able to solve through the wiki or the man pages.

I have my main hard drive partitioned in three:
- Windows (ntfs)
- Linux (ext3)
- Data (all my files, docs, images...) (fat32)

I have problems mounting the Data partition into Archlinux.

A) Trying manually

First I tried mounting it manually to make sure I had done it right. The command

sudo mount -t vfat /dev/sda5 /media/docs

allowed me to see and read the files and write them. When I switched back to Windows, however, the OS told me there was an error in the Data partition, specifically with all the files I have changed or created using Archlinux. I ran Chkdsk and it fixed the files by deleting changes. Now, whenever I try to mount manually the partition, it mount it as a read-only file system, even when the -w or the -rw option is added.

B) Writting in /etc/fstab

Meanwhile, I tried several options in fstab to see if I could write on the disk. The lines I tried are:

/dev/sda5          /media/docs          vfat          defaults     0      0 

/dev/sda5          /media/docs          vfat          defaults,iocharset=utf8,umask=000     0      0 

/dev/sda5          /media/docs          vfat          defaults,user,dmask=000,fmask=111     0      0 

/dev/sda5          /media/docs          vfat          defaults,user,rw,umask=000,     0      0 

/dev/sda5          /media/docs          vfat          user,rw,umask=000,     0      0

/dev/sda5          /media/docs          vfat          defaults,iocharset=utf8,user,rw,umask=000,     0      0