You are not logged in.

#1 2009-02-14 23:55:52

georgia_tech_swagger
Member
From: Upstate, SC
Registered: 2008-07-02
Posts: 138
Website

Decrapify Miro

Miro has been broken for me since the xine-lib upgrade.   As it turns out, Miro 1.2.x is broken against the latest xine-lib.   However, Miro 2.0.x has just been released, and I am here to save the day!

First, the Miro 2.0.x PKGBUILD:

# Maintainer: Ronald van Haren <ronald.archlinux.org>
# Contributor: Jeremy Sands <cto@jeremysands.com>

pkgname=miro
pkgver=2.0.1
pkgrel=1
pkgdesc="The free and open source internet TV platform"
arch=('i686' 'x86_64')
url="http://www.getmiro.com"
license=('GPL2')
depends=('xine-lib>=1.1.12' 'boost>=1.36.0' 'gnome-python-extras>=2.19.1'
         'dbus-python>=0.82.4' 'pyrex' 'xulrunner>=1.9.0.1' 'gtk2' 'nspr')
makedepends=('pkgconfig' 'qt3')
install=miro.install
conflicts=('democracy')
replaces=('democracy')
provides=('democracy')

source=(http://ftp.osuosl.org/pub/pculture.org/miro/src/Miro-${pkgver}.tar.gz)

md5sums=('9f180474f97f179e78d919e92b66e3e4')

build() {
  cd ${srcdir}/Miro-${pkgver}
  cd platform/gtk-x11
  python setup.py install --root=${pkgdir} || return 1
}

Next, the miro.install:

cat miro.install
post_install() {
  update-desktop-database -q
}

post_upgrade() {
  post_install $1
}

post_remove() {
  update-desktop-database -q
}

op=$1
shift

$op $*

All the extra patches previously needed to build miro are no longer necessary.    Use the above to files to make the PKGBUILD and install it.

Playback in xine is still broken, in that Miro will crash after playback.   However, gstreamer playback is NO LONGER broken.   So ... open up Miro, go to preferences, and change the Playback to "gstreamer" instead of "xine".

Exit Miro.

Do the following:

pacman -S gstreamer0.10-python gstreamer0.10-ugly-plugins gstreamer0.10-ugly gstreamer0.10-good-plugins gstreamer0.10-good gstreamer0.10-base-plugins gstreamer0.10-bad-plugins gstreamer0.10-bad gstreamer0.10-ffmpeg

Now open up Miro again and enjoy the first fully working Miro you've had in Arch in some time.

Last edited by georgia_tech_swagger (2009-02-14 23:58:51)


Res Publica Non Dominetur

Laptop:  Arch x86 | Thinkpad X220 | Core i5 2410-M | 8 GB DDR3 | Sandy Bridge
Desktop:  Arch x86_64 | Custom | Core i7 920 | 6 GB DDR3 | GeForce 260 GTX

Offline

#2 2009-02-15 00:09:20

Allan
Pacman
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 11,400
Website

Re: Decrapify Miro

I wound be good to ping the maintainer with your PKGBUILD so they don't have to repeat your work.

Offline

#3 2009-02-15 22:54:32

mrbug
Member
Registered: 2007-07-17
Posts: 221

Re: Decrapify Miro

I keep getting this:

Package config error:
pkg-config --list-all outputted the following error:
Package qt-mt was not found in the pkg-config search path.
Perhaps you should add the directory containing `qt-mt.pc'
to the PKG_CONFIG_PATH environment variable
Package 'qt-mt', required by 'avahi-qt3', not found

Any ideas?


dvdtube - download all uploads from a YouTube user and then optionally create a DVD.
(Regular version AUR link / SVN version AUR link)

Offline

#4 2009-02-15 23:22:52

pressh
Developer/TU
From: Netherlands
Registered: 2005-08-14
Posts: 1,719

Re: Decrapify Miro

georgia_tech_swagger wrote:

Playback in xine is still broken, in that Miro will crash after playback.   However, gstreamer playback is NO LONGER broken.   So ... open up Miro, go to preferences, and change the Playback to "gstreamer" instead of "xine".

gstreamer playback was never broken, it requires gstreamer0.10-python to work

Allan wrote:

I wound be good to ping the maintainer with your PKGBUILD so they don't have to repeat your work.

nah, I have followed the release candidates locally and also have the final PKGBUILD ready for some time. But well, it is still equally broken with the preferred xine backend...

Last edited by pressh (2009-02-15 23:29:47)

Offline

#5 2009-02-17 17:21:45

spotdart
Member
Registered: 2009-02-05
Posts: 10

Re: Decrapify Miro

mrbug wrote:

I keep getting this:

Package config error:
pkg-config --list-all outputted the following error:
Package qt-mt was not found in the pkg-config search path.
Perhaps you should add the directory containing `qt-mt.pc'
to the PKG_CONFIG_PATH environment variable
Package 'qt-mt', required by 'avahi-qt3', not found

Any ideas?

I'm having this same problem. Has any solution been found on this?

Offline

#6 2009-02-17 19:31:34

pressh
Developer/TU
From: Netherlands
Registered: 2005-08-14
Posts: 1,719

Re: Decrapify Miro

spotdart wrote:
mrbug wrote:

I keep getting this:

Package config error:
pkg-config --list-all outputted the following error:
Package qt-mt was not found in the pkg-config search path.
Perhaps you should add the directory containing `qt-mt.pc'
to the PKG_CONFIG_PATH environment variable
Package 'qt-mt', required by 'avahi-qt3', not found

Any ideas?

I'm having this same problem. Has any solution been found on this?

do you have your PKG_CONFIG_PATH and PATH variables set correctly ?

 echo $PKG_CONFIG_PATH && echo $PATH

Offline

#7 2009-02-18 06:30:55

spotdart
Member
Registered: 2009-02-05
Posts: 10

Re: Decrapify Miro

 echo $PKG_CONFIG_PATH && echo $PATH

returns:

:/opt/qt/lib/pkgconfig
/bin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/usr/sbin:/opt/kde/bin:/usr/bin/perlbin/site:/usr/bin/perlbin/vendor:/usr/bin/perlbin/core:/opt/qt/bin

Offline

#8 2009-02-18 07:40:32

pressh
Developer/TU
From: Netherlands
Registered: 2005-08-14
Posts: 1,719

Re: Decrapify Miro

spotdart wrote:
 echo $PKG_CONFIG_PATH && echo $PATH

returns:

:/opt/qt/lib/pkgconfig

I assume you made here a pasting error and /usr/lib/pkgconfig is in your $PKG_CONFIG_PATH ? (though that is not the problem here).

Do these two commands have the following results for you

ls /opt/qt/lib/pkgconfig

qt-mt.pc

pkg-config --list-all | grep qt

qt-mt                         Qt - Libqt-mt.so.3.3.8 Library
avahi-qt3                     avahi-qt3 - Avahi Multicast DNS Responder (QT3 Support)

Offline

#9 2009-02-18 15:19:26

spotdart
Member
Registered: 2009-02-05
Posts: 10

Re: Decrapify Miro

I'm pretty confident that I posted the command output accurately. anyway, those commands' output were exactly as you said.

Last edited by spotdart (2009-02-19 03:46:36)

Offline

#10 2009-02-18 15:40:31

georgia_tech_swagger
Member
From: Upstate, SC
Registered: 2008-07-02
Posts: 138
Website

Re: Decrapify Miro

pressh wrote:
georgia_tech_swagger wrote:

Playback in xine is still broken, in that Miro will crash after playback.   However, gstreamer playback is NO LONGER broken.   So ... open up Miro, go to preferences, and change the Playback to "gstreamer" instead of "xine".

gstreamer playback was never broken, it requires gstreamer0.10-python to work

Allan wrote:

I wound be good to ping the maintainer with your PKGBUILD so they don't have to repeat your work.

nah, I have followed the release candidates locally and also have the final PKGBUILD ready for some time. But well, it is still equally broken with the preferred xine backend...

1.2.8 was indeed broken with gstreamer.   Simply attempting playback caused, oddly, a xine based segfault.   There's a rather long bug report in Fedora's bug tracker about this matter.

Last edited by georgia_tech_swagger (2009-02-18 15:40:43)


Res Publica Non Dominetur

Laptop:  Arch x86 | Thinkpad X220 | Core i5 2410-M | 8 GB DDR3 | Sandy Bridge
Desktop:  Arch x86_64 | Custom | Core i7 920 | 6 GB DDR3 | GeForce 260 GTX

Offline

#11 2009-02-19 09:23:14

pressh
Developer/TU
From: Netherlands
Registered: 2005-08-14
Posts: 1,719

Re: Decrapify Miro

spotdart wrote:

I'm pretty confident that I posted the command output accurately. anyway, those commands' output were exactly as you said.

In that case you may want to add /usr/lib/pkgconfig to your PKG_CONFIG_PATH. It is defined in /etc/profile

Offline

#12 2009-02-19 09:24:24

pressh
Developer/TU
From: Netherlands
Registered: 2005-08-14
Posts: 1,719

Re: Decrapify Miro

georgia_tech_swagger wrote:

1.2.8 was indeed broken with gstreamer.   Simply attempting playback caused, oddly, a xine based segfault.   There's a rather long bug report in Fedora's bug tracker about this matter.

Do you have a link?

I can't replicate it on 3 machines. You did restart miro before playing when you changed the engine?

Offline

#13 2009-02-19 21:42:56

spotdart
Member
Registered: 2009-02-05
Posts: 10

Re: Decrapify Miro

pressh wrote:

In that case you may want to add /usr/lib/pkgconfig to your PKG_CONFIG_PATH. It is defined in /etc/profile

it looks like it's already included in the file, here's the relvant section:

# Export default pkg-config path
PKG_CONFIG_PATH="/usr/lib/pkgconfig:/opt/qt/lib/pkgconfig"
export PKG_CONFIG_PATH

Offline

#14 2009-02-20 06:06:53

georgia_tech_swagger
Member
From: Upstate, SC
Registered: 2008-07-02
Posts: 138
Website

Re: Decrapify Miro

https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=480527

I'll Google around when I have some more time ... I think the one I dug up in question is now closed, and the above is the closest I could find.

In any event ... the gstreamer audio sounds like somebody talking through a snorkel underwater ... so I explored ways to fix xine .... this works for me with no segfault fail:

$ miro --set xine-driver=opengl


Res Publica Non Dominetur

Laptop:  Arch x86 | Thinkpad X220 | Core i5 2410-M | 8 GB DDR3 | Sandy Bridge
Desktop:  Arch x86_64 | Custom | Core i7 920 | 6 GB DDR3 | GeForce 260 GTX

Offline

#15 2009-02-22 20:53:12

pressh
Developer/TU
From: Netherlands
Registered: 2005-08-14
Posts: 1,719

Re: Decrapify Miro

georgia_tech_swagger wrote:

$ miro --set xine-driver=opengl

yes, I just found that out myself smile

I'll upload miro 2.0.1 now, patching the executable to use opengl if the xine-driver is used.
Thanks.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB