You are not logged in.

#1 2009-02-20 02:49:12

flammenwurfer

Wireless speed is slower in Arch than Xubuntu!

Hi.  I'm new to Arch, but not to linux.  I LOVE Arch, however I have one showstopper of a problem that I can't figure out.  The speed of my wireless network connection is significantly slower in Arch than when I'm running Xubuntu. 

If I stream a video to my PS3 in Xubuntu it plays fine.  No skipping, stuttering, just smooth playpack.  Transfer rate is around 2.5-3.1 Mb/s.

If I stream the same video to my PS3 in Arch it stutters and skips and won't play smoothly.  Transfer rate is around 1.2-2.3 Mb/s and sometimes even lower.

I have a PCI wireless card with an Atheros chipset.  I've installed the newer SVN madwifi drivers from AUR and that didn't help.  I really don't know where to go from here.  What could possibly be causing this?  It really is critical for me because I don't have cable tv so streaming videos to my ps3 in the other room is probably the main thing I use this computer for.  Thanks.

#2 2009-02-20 06:57:01

.:B:.
Forum Fellow
Website

Re: Wireless speed is slower in Arch than Xubuntu!

There's tons of things that could interfere, main culprits being the kernel and your driver. Try dumping your Ubuntu kernel on Arch (yes, that's possible) and see if running the Ubuntu kernel in Arch fixes it. If so, keep it.

If this is really crucial... Then keep Xubuntu.

Got Leenucks? :: Arch: Power in simplicity :: Get Counted! Registered Linux User #392717 :: Blog thingy

#3 2009-02-20 11:13:48

quarkup
Website

flammenwurfer wrote:

Hi.  I'm new to Arch, but not to linux.  I LOVE Arch, however I have one showstopper of a problem that I can't figure out.  The speed of my wireless network connection is significantly slower in Arch than when I'm running Xubuntu. 

If I stream a video to my PS3 in Xubuntu it plays fine.  No skipping, stuttering, just smooth playpack.  Transfer rate is around 2.5-3.1 Mb/s.