You are not logged in.

#1 2009-02-24 12:25:31

farner

Only one sound at a time work

Hi
Installed arch linux a couple of days ago and got most stuff up and running. Altho one problem I just noticed it that I can only play one sound at a time. For example, if I have music playing from mpd I don't get any sound from youtube or from urban terror only the sound from mpd will be played. I've googled some, but don't really know what to search for smile

If you do have a explanation please keep the reply simple as I am still learning smile
Thanks in advance

Last edited by farner (2009-02-24 12:25:54)

#2 2009-02-24 12:29:36

fwojciec

Re: Only one sound at a time work

With recent versions of alsa dmix should be enabled by default, as long as hardware supports it.  Just make sure that you don't specifically define hardware "device" in the audio_output section of mpd config file.  It should look something like this:

audio_output {
        type                    "alsa"
        name                    "intel"
#        device                  "hw:0,0"     # optional
#        format                  "44100:16:2" # optional
}

The optional things should stay commented out.  Otherwise mpd will monopolize the specified hardware device.

#3 2009-02-24 13:01:42

farner

Tried what you said, but when I do that mpd won't play any sound at all. It starts and everything, but when I click on the files in ex. Sonata, nothing plays up.

Altho I don't think the problem lies within mpd. If I start a youtube clip, and then tries to play something more (or start urban terror) I still only get sound from the first youtube clip.

#4 2009-02-24 15:42:48

test1000