You are not logged in.

#1 2009-02-28 23:49:23

ck74

About "The Arch Way" --- freedom?

Hello!

Could someone please clarify "Freedom" part "The Arch Way" mentioned in "http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/The_Arch_Way" address?

Actually, what confused me is that Wiki mentions about flexibility to ie; licenses... And i would like to know whether "Arch Core" contains ONLY open-source-software --- which means comes with full of source code - including drivers.

Though i'm a newbie to Arch (just started to download), i know the difference between "Free Software" as "Free Software Foundation" describes and "Open Source Software" as "Open Source Initiative" describes.

PS: I use *BSD and checking Linux alternatives.

Thank you in advance.

#2 2009-03-01 00:13:00

Alxe

Re: About "The Arch Way" --- freedom?

I think it means that you can do whatever you want with your Arch, meaning that you can customize it in everyway, giving it different applications, different DEs/WMs, tweaking configuration files, etc.
Also if you come from BSD, you should know that the init-scripts are in a BSD way, or that's what I heard, too smile I'm a newbie, as well big_smile

Arch64

#3 2009-03-01 00:26:20

ck74

>Also if you come from BSD, you should know that the init-scripts are in a BSD way, or that's what I heard, too smile I'm a newbie, as well big_smile

Well, this is one of the reasom im interested in Arch... just wanted to know whether its core is pure OSS.

#4 2009-03-01 00:38:06

Mr.Elendig
#archlinux@freenode channel op

ck74 wrote:

Hello!

Could someone please clarify "Freedom" part "The Arch Way" mentioned in "http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/The_Arch_Way" address?

Actually, what confused me is that Wiki mentions about flexibility to ie; licenses... And i would like to know whether "Arch Core" contains ONLY open-source-software --- which means comes with full of source code - including drivers.