You are not logged in.

#1 2009-03-02 12:51:32

mamr
Member
Registered: 2008-08-16
Posts: 63

CUPS: Job stopped due to filter errors.

Hi,
I'm trying to print a 5-page document, but everytime I try, the job gets stopped after a few seconds. Don't know why.

I'm using a Brother HL-1430, which should - according to linuxprinting.org - used with the hl1250 driver, which is what I do. Everything else seems to be set up correctly and the printer worked in the past. But at the moment it doesn't print a single page.

This is the output of /var/log/cups/error_log: http://pastebin.com/m9637069

Especially interesting to me seemd this line (but maybe something else is important in the log):
E [02/Mar/2009:13:48:46 +0100] [Job 217] Job stopped due to filter errors.

Can anybody give me a hint what to do?

EDIT: This is logged to the error_log, when I only turn on "info" and not "debug" mode in cupsd.conf:

I [02/Mar/2009:14:24:53 +0100] [Job ???] Request file type is application/postscript.
I [02/Mar/2009:14:24:53 +0100] [Job 220] Adding start banner page "none".
I [02/Mar/2009:14:24:53 +0100] [Job 220] Adding end banner page "none".
I [02/Mar/2009:14:24:53 +0100] [Job 220] File of type application/postscript queued by "matthias".
I [02/Mar/2009:14:24:53 +0100] [Job 220] Queued on "BrotherHL1430" by "matthias".
I [02/Mar/2009:14:24:53 +0100] [Job 220] Started filter /usr/lib/cups/filter/pstops (PID 8321)
I [02/Mar/2009:14:24:53 +0100] [Job 220] Started filter /usr/lib/cups/filter/foomatic-rip (PID 8322)
I [02/Mar/2009:14:24:53 +0100] [Job 220] Started backend /usr/lib/cups/backend/usb (PID 8323)
E [02/Mar/2009:14:24:53 +0100] PID 8322 (/usr/lib/cups/filter/foomatic-rip) stopped with status 3!
I [02/Mar/2009:14:24:53 +0100] Hint: Try setting the LogLevel to "debug" to find out more.
E [02/Mar/2009:14:24:53 +0100] [Job 220] Job stopped due to filter errors.

Last edited by mamr (2009-03-02 13:25:31)

Offline

#2 2009-03-02 14:04:53

ralvez
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2005-12-06
Posts: 1,555
Website

Re: CUPS: Job stopped due to filter errors.

Make sure the permissions for /usr/lib/cups/filter/foomatic-rip are 755
I've only seen  the problem in a new installation when the filers permissions were wrong.

Hope this helps.

R.

Offline

#3 2009-03-03 06:04:41

dw
Member
From: Vienna, Austria
Registered: 2006-11-25
Posts: 157

Re: CUPS: Job stopped due to filter errors.

Hi.

I have exactly the same problem on exactly the same printer (HL-1430) and tried to solve the problem yesterday - with no success.

The problem (at least in my case) seems to be that foomatic-rip segfaults (as I can see in dmesg)

foomatic-rip[5355]: segfault at ffffffff ip 080581aa sp bf8bcac0 error 4 in foomatic-rip[8048000+16000]

I tried reinstalling foomatic-* but that did nothing. I even tried to use gutenprint drivers instead. Using Gutenprint, Cups seems to print fine, however the printer doesn't (physically) output any pages.

Anyone else experiencing this?

Ralvez: could you check if you're getting the foomatic-rip segfaulting as well? If so, we probably should file a bug-report.

Offline

#4 2009-03-03 06:11:08

skottish
Forum Fellow
From: Here
Registered: 2006-06-16
Posts: 7,931

Re: CUPS: Job stopped due to filter errors.

dw, are you running testing? If so, there's a problem between libcups 1.3.9 and coreutils 7.1. You can rebuild libcups against the new coreutils, and some things will print normally and others won't. I found that all things printed out of GTK2 worked, and stuff like vim and enscript didn't. Downgrading coreutils seems to work better than rebuilding libcups. I'm running testing completely on this machine, so I'm dealing with things the best that I can. I already filed a bug report.

Offline

#5 2009-03-03 06:42:15

dw
Member
From: Vienna, Austria
Registered: 2006-11-25
Posts: 157

Re: CUPS: Job stopped due to filter errors.

Hi skottish.

Yes, I am indeed running testing on this machine and will try to downgrade coreutils for the moment.

Btw, do you have a bug-number for the bug you have submitted?

skottish wrote:

dw, are you running testing? If so, there's a problem between libcups 1.3.9 and coreutils 7.1. You can rebuild libcups against the new coreutils, and some things will print normally and others won't. I found that all things printed out of GTK2 worked, and stuff like vim and enscript didn't. Downgrading coreutils seems to work better than rebuilding libcups. I'm running testing completely on this machine, so I'm dealing with things the best that I can. I already filed a bug report.

Offline

#6 2009-03-03 06:45:02

skottish
Forum Fellow
From: Here
Registered: 2006-06-16
Posts: 7,931

Re: CUPS: Job stopped due to filter errors.

Yes, and I would appreciate if you'd post there:

http://bugs.archlinux.org/task/13623

Offline

#7 2009-03-03 12:42:28

ralvez
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2005-12-06
Posts: 1,555
Website

Re: CUPS: Job stopped due to filter errors.

@dw,

I did not have the seg. fault problem. In my case the permissions were wrong and once I (as root) set the correct permissions everything worked.

R.

Offline

#8 2009-03-08 14:39:55

mamr
Member
Registered: 2008-08-16
Posts: 63

Re: CUPS: Job stopped due to filter errors.

I'm not (!) running testing and dmesg tells me exactly the same segfault problem. Changing the permissions didn't help either.

I'm still looking for a solution. Is this a bug, too?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB