You are not logged in.

#1 2004-09-10 21:05:59

ame
Member
Registered: 2004-09-10
Posts: 22

unable to mount /dev/hdc burner

hi folks,

well everything s fine here but 2 weeks ago i tried the udev update. well after lots of work it runs nearly perfect but i cannot acces my ide-burner anymore. i have no problems with my scsi devices but the burner hdc does not like me anymore. try to mount it and the system says: no medium found.

worked around the fstab, udev rules an permissions, hotplug, ide-scsi emulation - damn!

any ideas?

cheers,
ame

Offline

#2 2004-09-10 22:10:24

HaloGray
Member
Registered: 2004-09-01
Posts: 24

Re: unable to mount /dev/hdc burner

Is there an audio cd currently in the drive?


Help.

Offline

#3 2004-09-10 22:40:43

ame
Member
Registered: 2004-09-10
Posts: 22

Re: unable to mount /dev/hdc burner

no there is not an audio cd in the drive.

i tried several discs. audio, data.

btw while running dmesg the system says: cdrom: open failed.

i have no idea. i guess it s this udev thing. but all other devices work pretty good.

argh!

Offline

#4 2004-09-11 07:47:22

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: unable to mount /dev/hdc burner

how about mount /mnt/<drivename>.


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#5 2004-09-11 13:29:09

ame
Member
Registered: 2004-09-10
Posts: 22

Re: unable to mount /dev/hdc burner

no chance!

i nerarly tried everything that s why i post here!

Offline

#6 2004-09-11 18:34:58

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,771

Re: unable to mount /dev/hdc burner

please post fstab ... check your udev permissions ... & check your mount points ?

have tried mounting cd-rom as root.....


Mr Green

Offline

#7 2004-09-11 20:06:27

ame
Member
Registered: 2004-09-10
Posts: 22

Re: unable to mount /dev/hdc burner

well alright, thought i had to do it.
this is my fstab where 'brenner' is 'recorder' or 'burner' my /dev/hdc:

# <file system>        <dir>         <type>    <options>          <dump> <pass>
none                   /proc         proc      defaults            0      0
none                   /dev/pts      devpts    defaults            0      0
none                   /dev/shm      tmpfs     defaults            0      0
tmpfs                  /tmp          tmpfs     defaults            0      0
#sysfs                  /sys          sysfs     defaults            0      0
usbfs                  /proc/bus/usb usbdevfs  defaults            0      0

/dev/sr0               /mnt/cd   iso9660   ro,user,noauto,unhide   0      0
/dev/sr1               /mnt/dvd  udf       ro,user,noauto,unhide   0      0
/dev/hdc               /mnt/brenner iso9660 rw,user,noauto,unhide   0      0   <<== this one!
/dev/floppy/0          /mnt/floppy   vfat      user,noauto,unhide      0      0

/dev/discs/disc0/part4 swap swap defaults 0 0
/dev/discs/disc0/part1 / reiserfs defaults 0 0
/dev/discs/disc0/part2 /mnt/pool reiserfs defaults 0 0
/dev/discs/disc0/part3 /mnt/rip reiserfs defaults 0 0

and for udev permissions my rules:

snd/*:root:users:0660
beep:root:users:0660
admm*:root:users:0660
adsp*:root:users:0660
aload*:root:users:0660
amidi*:root:users:0660
dmfm*:root:users:0660
dmmidi*:root:users:0660
sndstat:root:users:0660

# disk devices for having access to audioripping and burning
hdc:root:users:660

# floppy devices
fd[01]*:root:users:0660

# joystick devices
js[0-9]*:root:users:0644
djs[0-9]*:root:users:0644

# scsi devices
sg*:root:users:0660
pg*:root:users:0660

and finally the udev rules:

# cdrom/cdrw links
KERNEL="hdc", SYMLINK="cdrecorder cdrom"

all rules stored as extrafiles like i was told in the wiki.

and well on the hardware side everything seems to be okay. the kernel sees the cdrom and tells me it s a recorder. all scsi or usb devices work. only this tiny little recorder will not. ah yea and the floppy works very good, too!

bye,
ame

Offline

#8 2004-09-11 20:10:24

ame
Member
Registered: 2004-09-10
Posts: 22

Re: unable to mount /dev/hdc burner

perhaps you d like to see dmesg output:

<snip>
SIS5513: SiS 962/963 MuTIOL IDE UDMA133 controller
    ide0: BM-DMA at 0xff00-0xff07, BIOS settings: hda:DMA, hdb:DMA
    ide1: BM-DMA at 0xff08-0xff0f, BIOS settings: hdc:DMA, hdd:DMA
hda: ST3120026A, ATA DISK drive
ide0 at 0x1f0-0x1f7,0x3f6 on irq 14
hdc: CD-RW 40X12, ATAPI CD/DVD-ROM drive
ide1 at 0x170-0x177,0x376 on irq 15
hda: max request size: 1024KiB
hda: 234441648 sectors (120034 MB) w/8192KiB Cache, CHS=16383/255/63, UDMA(100)
/dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0: p1 p2 p3 p4
hdc: ATAPI 48X CD-ROM CD-R/RW drive, 2048kB Cache, UDMA(33)
Uniform CD-ROM driver Revision: 3.20
<snip>
8139cp: 10/100 PCI Ethernet driver v1.2 (Mar 22, 2004)
mtrr: 0xc0000000,0x8000000 overlaps existing 0xc0000000,0x100000
eth0: no IPv6 routers present
cdrom: open failed.

and that s i do not understand!
btw doing everything as root gives me the same fault!

ame

Offline

#9 2004-09-12 08:39:36

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,771

Re: unable to mount /dev/hdc burner

is mount point brenner set up in /mnt ?

mount -t iso9660 /dev/hdc /mnt/brenner

you may need to be root to do this

(do not try to mount audio disc as it will not work)

your fstab shows burner as rw mine is set to ro (maybe mine is wrong)


Mr Green

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB