You are not logged in.

#1 2009-03-15 06:27:00

slackcub

Possible new user looking for more info.

Hello everyone:
    I am a long time Slackware user.  I have been using it exclusively for my desktops/servers for the past 9 years.  My only real big complaint about it is package management and overall support.  A friend of mine recently suggested that I look into ArchLinux as an alternative to Slackware.  I saw in the about area the comparison to Slackware, but I guess it left me still wondering just what the big differences are.  I like the idea of a more centralized packaging system (though linuxpackages.net is definitely great for slack packages).  Can ArchLinux be adapted with sys-V  init scripts? 

I mainly use my system(Alienware Area 51m laptop) for general usage(web surfing, office, etc).  However, I also use if for work for web development (PHP,MYSQL,etc) and will continue to do as such.  Is ArchLinux a good choice for that?  Is this an install that will take a while, because I can't have much downtime in my work to perform the necessary installs.

Thank you for any and all input you can give me.  I greatly appreciate it.

David

Last edited by slackcub (2009-03-15 06:27:17)

#2 2009-03-15 06:54:00

cactus
Taco Eater
Website

Re: Possible new user looking for more info.

slackcub wrote:

Can ArchLinux be adapted with sys-V  init scripts?

You could easily rewrite a sys-v daemon init script to function as an arch style rc.d daemon init.
But there isn't a general 'hang a sys-v init system off arch' methodology that I am aware of (nor would it likely be well accepted as 'idiomatically arch like'. The arch 'bsd like' init system is pretty straightforward.

I mainly use my system(Alienware Area 51m laptop) for general usage(web surfing, office, etc).  However, I also use if for work for web development (PHP,MYSQL,etc) and will continue to do as such.  Is ArchLinux a good choice for that?

As fine a choice as slackware would be, certainly.