You are not logged in.

#1 2009-03-16 10:53:12

vinvin

Power consumption: set devices in sleep mode

Hello,
I'm new in the laptop universe, with an Eee PC 900, and I am concerned about a few questions on power management and device sleep mode.

In the BIOS, I can choose not to use some internal devices, like the sound or ethernet chips. But then, I won't be able to find them or activate them from the OS. If I enable them in the BIOS, they are powered, the kernel finds them, but then, I am not able to power them down when I don't use them (I mean, I don't know how to do it).

I guess that linux is able to handle the fact that people are not always using every device present in their computer, and thus gives a way to power down some devices that the user doesn't need. My list would be: ethernet chip, wlan chip, sound chip, usb hub and all internal usb devices (camera, card reader), ps2 mouse.
There is a specific module for the laptop I'm using, which allows to standby and wake up the camera and the card reader, and there is the special sysfs item, rfkill for controlling the wlan activity. But what about the ethernet, the sound, usb hubs, and the mouse?

Second issue: is there a way to control the threshold of the low batt led indicator?
I can access battery level in /proc/acpi/battery/BAT0/state, and the led starts flashing at 20%. The problem is that 20% of this indicator lasts around 2 hours, while it takes 1 and a half hour to go from 100% to 20%. Is there a problem in the battery driver, or is it a hardware-programmed function? Can it be changed?

Thanks!

#2 2009-03-18 01:06:40

big_gie

Re: Power consumption: set devices in sleep mode

You can disable some hw on the Eee.  For wifi and bluetooth, there is an rfkill switch and a disable switch.  There is also a disable switch for the webcam. As for the ethernet, either the driver has good power management, or you you modprobe -r the driver.

Usb has a power management too, I'm not sure if it is really efficient.