You are not logged in.

#1 2009-03-16 18:44:51

graysky
Wiki Maintainer
From: :wq
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 10,600
Website

my own package of the same name as one in the repo...

In a nutshell, how does pacman handle a user-created package of the same name as one in the repo?  I ask because I'd like to customize the build options on a package that's in the official repo.  Is it best to simply change the name of my package or is pacman smart enough to know that package xyz installed locally is not to be upgraded to package xyz from the repo?


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#2 2009-03-16 18:55:26

skottish
Forum Fellow
From: Here
Registered: 2006-06-16
Posts: 7,942

Re: my own package of the same name as one in the repo...

Change the name, and add conflicts and provides lines. For instance I have a package called evince-gtk that provides evince. So:

pkgname=evince-gtk
provides=('evince')
conflicts=('evince')

If the package is version sensitive, you can change the provides line to something like:

provides=("evince=2.26.0")

Offline

#3 2009-03-16 19:04:38

thayer
Fellow
From: Vancouver, BC
Registered: 2007-05-20
Posts: 1,560
Website

Re: my own package of the same name as one in the repo...

What I typically do is bump the release number to 99, such as foopackage-1.0-99.  By doing it this way pacman won't upgrade the package unless a new upstream release is made, such as 1.1 in the previous example.


thayer williams ~ cinderwick.ca

Offline

#4 2009-03-16 19:41:43

ataraxia
Member
From: Pittsburgh
Registered: 2007-05-06
Posts: 1,553

Re: my own package of the same name as one in the repo...

thayer wrote:

What I typically do is bump the release number to 99, such as foopackage-1.0-99.  By doing it this way pacman won't upgrade the package unless a new upstream release is made, such as 1.1 in the previous example.

Similarly, if you build a package locally to fix some packaging bug, and you expect that you'll be interested in any updates at all, I bump the release number by 0.1 so it's bigger than the version I'm fixing but smaller than whatever the Arch maintainer will supply next.

Offline

#5 2009-03-17 00:27:57

Daenyth
Forum Fellow
From: Boston, MA
Registered: 2008-02-24
Posts: 1,244

Re: my own package of the same name as one in the repo...

All that needs to be changed is pkgver or pkgrel. Pacman will only try to install from the repos if the version in repo is higher than local.

Offline

#6 2009-03-17 23:27:32

graysky
Wiki Maintainer
From: :wq
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 10,600
Website

Re: my own package of the same name as one in the repo...

Thanks guys... I just appended an 0.1 to the version number.


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#7 2009-03-17 23:53:26

Allan
Pacman
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 11,400
Website

Re: my own package of the same name as one in the repo...

I'll add that if there is something you want changed about the package (packaging bug, feature addition) it is probably worth requesting it on the bug tracker.

Offline

#8 2009-03-18 20:22:40

graysky
Wiki Maintainer
From: :wq
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 10,600
Website

Re: my own package of the same name as one in the repo...

@Allan - it's more of a personal customization with pretty limited appeal I think.


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#9 2009-03-18 21:18:03

ataraxia
Member
From: Pittsburgh
Registered: 2007-05-06
Posts: 1,553

Re: my own package of the same name as one in the repo...

Mine did look a bit more generally useful, so I had bug-reported them a couple of weeks ago. (And now, I've provided fixes, and nominated them for bug day as being trivial fixes...)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB